We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too easy to burgle Featherbed Lane”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maresol Beach Apartments
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have been to Barbados 30+ times. 2nd time to stay at Maresol but this was a different apartment. We stayed in Featherbed Lane this time which is the upper floor. We felt very safe in the apartment, but we felt there was a privacy issue with the back door. There was no curtain and anyone could look in if they came up the back stairs. The safe was locked open so completely useless. Only other safe was at the office which is a little hut just off the road. This is only open between approx 8.30 - 4.30 is not an option.
We were burgled on our 3rd night there. All my electrical items were taken, my sister and her grandchildren also had items stolen. We couldn't figure out how anyone could break in until we were shown - easy if you stood on the handrail leading to the apartment and leaned over to the window. Police were called that night.
Next morning we spoke to management about the burglary. Can you imagine our shock when we discovered that the "Warning security cameras in operation" all over the property were only for show? Obviously the burglars knew that the cameras didn't exist but nobody in management thought to tell us.
We felt duped, lied to and hung out to dry. We left the apartment when another policeman visited us and advised us that the property was dangerous and we were not safe.
We got absolutely no redress from the owner who skimped on the security. I wrote to him twice and he ignored me both times. Hindsight is a great thing so I suggest that nobody stays in this apartment if you want to be safe.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank SkinnyMalinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

I've been visiting the Maresol almost every year since 2004 and have never been disappointed. If you are looking for upscale, modern five star accommodation, go somewhere else, but if you want rustic, relaxing place where you can cook your own meals, relax on your own patio or balcony, and walk about 50 feet to the public beach, then look no further. It is like going to your own cottage in Muskoka, but without having to chainsaw through the ice in January for a swim.

It is very popular, and most people are regulars, so beware that you may have to work around available units.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrGonzoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I arranged for a beach house before I arrived in Barbados and was appalled by the conditions. I went searching and ran across Maresol Beach Apartments. Gail the manager was wonderful and caring. It was late in the evening and the office was closed, yet with one telephone call she came out and got us just the right apartment. The location was great just walking distance from restaurants and night life. We stayed in apartment F and it was just perfect. The sunset was visible from our terrace and just beautiful. The stove was an added bonus and we cooked local dishes!!! My family and I am planning a return trip in July and Maresol will be our home for the 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BajaninCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Recently returned from an excellent stay at the Maresol Beach Apartments over 2 weeks leading up to Easter and can wholeheartedly recommend.

We stayed in apartments A (Pensioners) and G (Family of 2 adults and a 4 year old child). G being single storey and situated against the beach wall looking out to Dover Beach and A towards the St Lawrence Gap side of the property.

Both apartments were clean and tidy, quite basic but none the less perfectly adequate. Each had all the utensils, cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, blenders etc one could need for a self catering stay. WiFi was available throughout although was very highly priced and could have easily been included in the room rate particularly in light of its reliability.

Situated conveniently at the quieter end of St Lawrence Gap but still within walking distance (5-10 mins) of the majority of the restaurants a mini market is located across the road with a couple of smaller bars around the corner. Minimal noise was heard at night from apartment A and at G all that could be heard was the therapeutic waves and the odd parrot frequenting the garden.

Security were on duty 24/7 which is probably necessary due to the open location however we at no time felt unsafe although another guest staying at the time had their wallet stolen which appeared quite opportunistic rather than specifically malicious.

All in all an excellent stay and would visit again,

Room Tip: G (Dover) is right against the beach wall and has a superb verandah to enjoy an evening drink lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy-Dunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was my second trip to Maresol Beach Apartments. The first was in Apt A which was lovely so I wanted to return to Maresol, but Apt B was very shabby, not well maintained, and run down. The master bedroom/en suite was nice but the second bedroom and bathroom were awful. Shower just dribbled and shampoo was difficult to rinse off as shower head so corroded. Bedroom was musty and smelly. Deck was old and not well maintained with battered smelly cushions and paint worn off on the wall. Living room just OK, as was kitchen which had a rusty washing machine. Outside stairs, 19 of them, were very slippery and dangerous when wet with no safety treads. Staff were pleasant and helpful but I would not recommend Apt B.

Room Tip: Make sure the apartment you are renting has been upgraded. I think by the looks of it, Apt B was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loveBGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

On out 8th (perhaps 9th) trip to Barbados in September 2011, we chose a small apartment hotel on the east end of Dover Beach. With only two of us, we wanted to keep the cost to about $50 US per person per night. Maresol Beach Apartments fit that definition. Not fancy, not full of energy, but quiet, peaceful and relaxing---just what we wanted!! Maresol is not your modern condo, but a Barbados apartment like we stayed in the mid-1980's. We stayed in the "Silver Sands" unit.....the one bedroom was very spacious (and was air-conditioned), bath was fine, kitchen was updated with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances!! The living area was spacious and open, with the balcony right "on top" of the sea. The gounds of this complex are very well kept. We loved the grassy area looking west to Dover Beach (again, "on top" of it, really)...great for getting sun and reading a book on a grassy area close to the apartment The staff was very friendly and efficient. Yet there are a few amenities missing at Maresol: 1) they have a community washer but not a dryer; 2) there is no swimming pool, but frankly we did not miss this much; 3) only the bedroom had A/C making a humid evening in the living or balcony area a bit sticky; and 4) television is at the option of the apartment owner --- check to see that you have TV (ours did, but this was a 17 inch relic of the early 90's). Yet it is the same beach, same ocean, same wind, same sun, same St. Lawrence area as the "high priced" neighoring hotels. We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Several of the apartments are not "on the water". Try unit S (silver sands), G (dover), F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NormanDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our family of 4 (including 2 teenagers) had a great one-week vacation at Maresol this July. The service from Gail, the manager and the great guys and gals who maintain the grounds and provide housekeeping services are absolutely tops.

We stayed on the 2nd floor (unit b - bowling alley) and from the balcony we had a great view of the ocean. We feel asleep to the sound of waves and awoke to the apartment filled with the scents of the many flowers growing on the grounds.

The location is fabulous - at the far end of Dover Beach and we enjoyed the shade provided by the palm and almond trees. The guys would help us bring down lounge chairs to the beach and after a couple of days the chairs were waiting for our arrival in the morning.

The accommodation had the feel of a well lived in beach house - not fancy, more shabby chic and it was so much better (and economical) than staying in a hotel.

Both a RBC bank and the Dover Market are just steps away and restaurants are just a short walk away (although there isn't a shortage of taxis if you prefer).

We had a small problem with the stove (which turned out to be brand new) and Gail arranged for a technican to come the same day and he was able to fix it on the spot (I'd be surprised if we could get that kind of service back home!).

The only negative I can think is that their website could use a little work (you can't figure out which apartment is which from the charts listed on the site).

We'd highly recommend the Maresol.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mapleleafOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
4.0 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
4.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maresol Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maresol Beach Apartments

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Dover, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £51 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious well-equipped apartments directly on Dover Beach. Set in a garden environment, we offer self-contained units that are close to all amenities and are situated directly on a 1500 foot white sand beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maresol Beach Apartments Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing