We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say livin large.”
Review of Oistins

Oistins
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can you say livin large.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I guess some people do not understand what a fish fry is. Is where lots of people come together, eat fish, drink banks beer, and listen to local music enough said. This place was alot for fun for the family. It was crowded I expected this, it was hot, hell its summer out doors, but the locally caught fish, shrimp, lobster was all worth it. we sat on the left side at the end where it was cooler. do not get caught up stopping at the first of more than 40 food stands. go shopping they all have different meals. prices are close from one place to another. most of the plates where around $30 local dollars. the beer was cold. I would recommend getting there around sunset it got busier as the night went on. there was lot of traffic but i get this at home just suck it up it is only a one lane road. There is a parking lot just across the street behind the KFC very large. Go past the KFC and make a left up the block it goes right into the lot. This is a must for your list of things to do on the island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSunshine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    286
    91
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fish fry”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Took the laocal bus on Friday night for the weekly fish fry. Great food ....lots of people...locals and tourists. Good entertainment !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Didnt even get out the car”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

OMG The Friday night fish-fry was supposed to be the place to be and amazing etc... It took us ages due to the traffic to get in to Oistens and when we were there we drove through it, turned, drove back and left and went to St Lawrence Gap! It was sooooooooo busy and sooooo loud! The heat and the amount of people made it unthinkable for us going into. Great place if you like masses of people, banging loud music, extreme sweaty wet heat and fish! We may have missed something from not stopping but we are totally ok with that! Not the place for us!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bachersons-Seed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my Fave things to do in Barbados!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Absolutely love going to Oistins on a friday night. It can get pretty messy later on but it is great to have some real bajan food and chat with friendly locals.

there is live music and loads of people, and loads of little places to choose from to eat.

an absolute staple experience if you are going to barbados

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CamillaAkehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eaten there at least 20 times. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A huge portion of Sword fish with breadfruit and fries for less than $15US. King mackerel, caribbean lobster tail, whole red snapper - fresh off the boat. Here is the trick: Buy a 375ml of Mount Gay XO for about $9-10usd and a bottle of Barbados made coke for $2-3 and you get 3-4 premium rum and cokes made from 100% barbados island grown sugar and water from the limestone caves 1500 feet inside the island filled with filtered tropic rain water. It's the best of the best. Or order up the banks beers and keep them coming. Entertainment varies - but there is something every night -- and Monday is nearly as fun as Friday. Friday night I think 1/4th of the Island goes there - and it's fun. Vendors on the beach side have cool island trinkets -- have TONY from Trinidad make a pair of custom-made sandals for you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank coldsurfer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oistins also viewed

Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Dover, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Oistins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing