We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best villa on Barbados - our 4th visit!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sunset Crest, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sbl
UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best villa on Barbados - our 4th visit!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Back for our 4th visit to beautiful Grendon House to celebrate a special birthday. Amaria Lorraine and Regina have looked after us wonderfully well - such lovely, professional people with infectious happiness - and nothing is too much trouble! The coconut prawns for lunch under the gazebo by the pool today were truly amazing. It is unusually hot and dry in Barbados this May but the house is cool and breezy and the air conditioning is working a treat - can only assume the previous reviewer has issues unrelated to Grendon House as it is gorgeous, well maintained and run and the staff are really delightful as all previous reviews and the glowing comments in the house guestbook can attest. Can't wait to come back for visit number 5!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Good Afternoon,

Thanks very much for such a kind review of Grendon House, always a pleasure to know we have happy return guests such as yourself. The staff have always been a great compliment to the house, excellent to know they continued that high level of service on this and all your prior stays.

We look forward to having you back for stay number 5!

Best Regards,

Realtors Luxury Villa Rentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swimmerba...
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beware ! Not up to stuff! Try to rip off!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Here for Christmas New Years vacation.

1. Advertised as air conditioned: yet bathrooms are not! Master bathroom was 90 degrees!!! We were responsible to rent as an extra an air conditioner for that bathroom!

2. Told we had to turn off A/C when we left bedroom to save landlord money or be charged more for electric. We left A/C on and refused to pay extra!

3. Staff shows up late everyday making breakfast at 10am. Always lame excuses like it was raining. Hotels don't delay breakfast for rain.

4. Housekeeper and laundress sleep most of day on cot in back area. Annoyed if ask to do something. Chef takes afternoon break 12-2 the fore lunch between 2:30-3pm!! No real supervision of staff If your staff you would fire. Landlord does nothing. Realtor lots of excuses. Suggest you hiring extra staff like a butler unless you feel like doing everything like you are home!

5. They offer to buy groceries before you come. Get lowest quality junk! Example: ask for milk and instead of getting fresh milk they get milk from dry goods shelves. Lowest quality coffee. Yuck. Suggest shopping yourself.

6. Deck and stairs full of mildew. Only cleaned after we complained.

7 Air conditioners in bedrooms only seemed weak. Realtors said checked before we came. Complained and A/C men came. They said filters were sooooo clogged looked like not looked at in years! After filters cleaned worked fine.

In summary: be very specific, do not trust realtors who manage this property. Other properties for same money have better service and you are not lied to!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
We regret that this client was not satisfied with the accommodation at Grendon House although we appreciate and accept that he felt it was necessary to make his position known. This was the client's second stay at this villa, having stayed there in October 2015 as well. The villa is advertised as having a/c in the bedrooms and selective rooms, as the TV and Games rooms are also air-conditioned, not the bathrooms. We have never had a complaint that the bathrooms were too hot but suggested to the client that a portable a/c unit could be rented if he felt it necessary and was arranged at his expense.
All clients are asked to keep doors and windows closed when a/c units are in use and when they are out, that they be turned off. Client was advised that staff could turn units on prior to his return to the villa prior to his retiring for a rest during the day so they would be cool. During his October stay, there was torrential rain on a couple of days which resulted in flash flooding in various locations across the island. It was on one of those days the Chef was late in arriving to the villa. Staff were there at the required times otherwise. The Staff complement at the property receive excellent comments in the Guest Books from clients and we have several repeat clients to the villa, the service provided by the staff a large factor in their choice to return. A Butler is not provided with rentals, but as advertised, one can be arranged at the client's expense if they require that service. This client opted to have a Butler and paid for this. Again during the October visit, client said the a/c unit in master bedroom was not cooling efficiently. Service technicians were called out and problem rectified; it is not an accurate statement that they are not serviced and had not been for years.
The client complained for the heat when here in October and was not keen on the Housekeeper and Laundress. He was offered a full refund of the deposit paid for the December rental, which is against our usual policy, but the decision was taken that if the client was unhappy, we would not keep him bound to the December rental. He refused the offer and said the house was beautiful, the Chef was great and prepared excellent dishes and made the best homemade burgers he'd ever had. He also loved the Butler. He stated the good far outweighed the couple of bad points and he wanted to come back.
The two or so minor maintenance issues referred to in this review occurred in October and were rectified immediately. Maintenance malfunctions happen from time to time in most properties/hotels but were corrected promptly. None of the issues mentioned in this review relate to the December 2015 rental, his comments all relate to the initial stay in October 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sbl
UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Third visit to Grendon house - best villa on Sandy Lane”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is our third visit to beautiful Grendon House. We were here for Christmas and New Year with family and back again with friends for a week in March. We have stayed in many Barabdos villas and this is by far our favourite. The house is absolutely stunning - beautifully decorated and styled with many areas to eat and sit out to enjoy the gorgeous gardens and pool area. The staff are wonderful. Always cheerful and friendly - wonderful meals were served under the gazebo at lunch time and under the stars by the pool at night. Our best memories are of evenings sitting out around the big round table enjoying the cool evening breezes in the palm trees and Johns wonderful cooking. Having the Sandy Lane owners club beach 2 mins away was perfect. We tried other beaches but kept returning to "our own" one. Highly recommend this fabulous villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and gardens
Liked least: Nothing - loved it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

What an amazing vacation my extended family had at Grendon House. There were 9 of us - ages 60+ to 7, and all ages enjoyed the vacation home for a week-long holiday. We couldn't have asked for more. From the ever-attentive house staff (Nancy made us some fantastic traditional Bajan dishes!) to the calm and relaxing pool to the cool and comfortable sitting rooms and bedrooms, we enjoyed it all. The photos do not do the house true justice! If rest and relaxation is what you are after, Grendon House is the place. Some days we barely left the house, but when we did venture out in the rental cars, we found grocery shopping and stores nearby. The house manager helped us with directions to drive into town, and we visited the caves and other local attractions. Overall, it was a great holiday. Staying at Grendon House definitely elevated our expectations for future vacation villas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff. They were amazing, very attentive and helpful throughout the week.
Liked least: One bedroom by the kitchen lacked a little comfort. Definitely should be used for younger adults or youth - not older adults used to better beds.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing