We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money apartments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halcyon Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halcyon Palm
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for money apartments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks recently and although we wanted the Travellers Palm we were allocated Halcyon Palm which on reflection was better as the Travellers had a group of teenagers on a sports trip. The apartments are clean, fairly spacious and located in a quiet area of Sunset Crest. The staff were all extremely friendly and professional.
We are a family of 3 including a 14 year old.
We have tried to include information that we would have found helpful before arriving in Barbados :)
Plus points: clean, not expensive, fairly large apartment and within a 10 minute walk of the bars, shops & restaurants. Down sides: the pool area is small, the third bed is a camp bed in the living area which is fine but there are no curtains...just thick nets so at night the room is very light and only basic pots & pans which made self- catering a challenge but not impossible.

We spent a lot of time down at the Beach House pool as you can get a card from the reception at Travellers Palm for $50 (refundable). The pool, bar & restaurant are great down there and it is right on the beach front. The beach at the side is good with easy, sandy access to the sea.
We ate at The Beach House which we recommend (3 x 2 course meals with drinks before and wine was £200) , The Mews - again no hesitation in recommending (£250) and Zacchios - don't bother it was relatively expensive for bland, cold food (£175).
The new Limegrove centre in Holetown has some posh shops and cafes plus it is nice for a walk around.
We had lunch at Flindt in Holetown and the cafe next to Cave Shepherd in Sunset Crest which were both good and cost approx £50 for three burger type meals and soft drinks.
The SuperCentre supermarket is expensive compared to the UK for most things. Cornflakes £10 per box, pasta sauce in a jar £4, mushrooms £3.50 for a small punnet but other items were reasonable. It was obvious which were the imported goods.
If you buy beer in glass bottles or soft drinks in PET bottles you can recycle them in the cabin in the supermarket carpark. The guy gives a receipt and then when you buy more drinks in the supermarket you get money off.
We felt safe all the time in Barbados except for when at the Fish Fry in Oistins. Everyone had raved about how great this is but we found it to be busy, hot and with a threatening undercurrent later on. The food was also expensive with a very basic outdoor meal for 3, served on plastic plates under a gazebo, with 2 beers and a soft drink £50.
We went on the Island Safari and had a great time whilst seeing the North & East of the island which is very pretty and reminded us of Cornwall.
We didn't have any problems with crime but at Halcyon someone left a bag on the balcony and is was gone the next morning and another neighbour had a bag stolen whilst they were lying next to it on the beach.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday but wish we had more money available so we could have eaten out more.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room for added security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelderby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    42
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
55
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Firstly let me say that this was tagged onto a package we had booked with virgin and the total cost of this hotel for us ended up being £20 per night, so please take this into consideration when reading my review. For the price we paid this was a simple yet good apartment. Somebody previously compared it to an apartment typical of Greece. I have to say this apartment was much better than anything I have experienced in Greece. We booked into Travellers palm (its partner down the road) but on arrival realised there was a school party of teenage boys and so asked to move to the quieter Halcyon Palm. The area is quiet and tranquil, the rooms are relatively bright and spacious and have all you need to self cater in Barbados. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the small pool is clean and quiet. Maid service is not every day but when I called to say my bin was full somebody came and changed it (and did the washing up while we were out too!!). The only thing about this apartment is that the drains blocked twice (although somebody instantly fixed this). Sunset Crest is a nice place with everything you need but you may wish to consider having a car. You need to pay extra for AC but if you leave the bedroom door open it chills the whole apartment. Overall if you get a good deal this is a comfortable place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylover82Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed for a week at the Palms Resort, the Halcyon Palm, a short walk round the corner from the other apartments The Travellers Palm, where the bar and reception is situated.

It was a running joke the whole holiday that the hotel bar was never open during the day! The pool at the Halcyon was fine, although no umberellas, so on the days when we lazed by the pool we used the Travellers Palm pool which was great.
The apartments were fine, perfectly clean- in need of a little upgrading but the price we paid we did not grumble about this!

The area itself is very quiet, mostly caters for older and richer people, so my boyfriend and I went on all the trips visiting most other parts of the island. Barbados itself is breathtaking, and if you go i urge you to go and experience the island, its hospitality and all it has to offer.

The holiday really is what you make of it, and it is probably one of the only Carribean islands that you can explore safely by yourself. We did not feel terribly safe walking around at night on our own, but that is where we used our common sense.

All locals are very friendly, helpful and no one passes you by without saying hello. This was very refreshing as we did not know what to expect.

We done this on the cheap, and it turned out was probably the best way to do Barbados, as it forced us outwith the confines of the apartments to see the whole island, including Oistins (Friday night party in the fishing district- A MUST GO!), swimming with turtles in the beautiful clear blue water, eating all the local food from the back of vendor vans (the lamb is TO DIE FOR!) we also went on a jeep safari day all over the island which was great.

We would go back- no question!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caramel1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at the The Palms Resort and was given an apartment at the Halcyon Palms. This is a 2 minute walk from the reception which is located at the Travellers Palm. We didn't see this as much of a problem. We made some brilliant friends who had apartments at the Travellers, and their apartments weren't any better than ours. The Travellers was a much busier area as the bar and main pool were located here, but was very pleasant all the same.
Our apartment was basic, but had everything we needed (except washing up and/or a sponge). We didn't pay for air-conditioning but found the switch for it anyways (different to the apartments at the Travellers, which needed the remote).
The only concern I do have is for the pool at the Halcyon; their were no parasols around it, so nowhere was shaded (this was mentioned several times by guests and by our holiday rep), and my hand was grazed badly on the bottom of the pool by the rough surface - please note that all the tiles were fine and intact, it was simply the rough "non-slip" surface, which was different to the pool at the Travellers.
The area is very safe with a bank, cafe, and a duty-free shop at the end of the road; the beach a further 2 minutes away; and the main shopping area and supermarket about 5 minutes away. Holetown is a very lovely town, with good restaurants, shops, and the new Limegrove centre just opened (posh shops like Gucci and Louis Vuitton ;)).

Room Tip: DON'T be on ground floor - lots of bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Our second visit to the Halcyon Palm, and it did not disappoint. The staff were always cheerful and friendly, the cleaning was spot on. It is a 10 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and beach but we did not find it a problem. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The Chinese restaurant situated in the Golden View Apartment is recommended.
We self catered most of the time, and found the kitchen area o.k for our needs. Great place for a laid back lazy holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

My girlfriend and I have just returned from 12 days in Holetown, Barbados and we stayed at an apartment within Halcyon Palm (part of Palm's Resort).

We booked it as a package holiday through Virgin Holidays and were very impressed with how we were treated. We were taken to the resort's reception (located at the sister site Traveller's Palm) to check in. Once completed, they drove us the minute's drive to our apartment and had our luggage delivered a few minutes later. We paid to have a safe in our room which we felt was a good idea, but did not pay to have the air conditioning. However, once in the bedroom, we found that we could turn on the A/C anyway and although we did not have access to a remote control to change the temperature, it still cooled the room. We were never charged for this (usually approx £3 per day).

On the first night we wandered down the road towards the main town and found a restaurant called Just Grillin'. There didn't seem to be any order in which you were served and we were told we had to order our meals at the counter and then collected them ourselves when they called our number out. However, on other occasions, we received table service. However, the food was very good and for two hungry travellers it was a welcome relief.

We would spend most of our days down at the local beach which was always quiet. Sometimes we found we were the only people down there, apart from the locals who would attempt to sell us items. This happened on a daily basis and being so regular we actually almost got to know these people. However, a polite no thank you was enough to see them off and most would smile and say "see you tomorrow" before moving on.

In our apartment we had everything that we needed for what we wanted. We were out all day everyday and simply needed it as base which is what Virgin recommended it for. The maids came everyday and made the beds and a couple of times a week they would completely strip the beds and replace the towels. We also learnt (inadvertently) that they would do the washing up left in the sink, but we preferred to do this ourselves as we felt a little lazy otherwise!

There was no bar at our resort (it was located at Traveller's Palm) but we had a fridge and stocked up on essential items. The local beer is called Banks and is very cheap and very tasty. We also got food items for breakfast and lunch because the restaurants are not overly cheap so we only ate out in the evenings. The standard of all the restaurants was fantastic - lots of fish which is caught locally and prepared very nicely.

We had a pool just a few metres from the apartment and found that it was empty most days. We are both in our 20s and we found we were the youngest couple there, hence it was always quiet and peaceful. The town with the shops was a 10/15 minute walk which was sometimes difficult if carrying shopping in the intense heat, but we managed totally fine without a car.

We did a few trips, booked through the Virgin rep (catamaran trip & swimming with turtles and also a Bajan bus tour which took us all over the island) and were treated brilliantly on both. We were always picked up and dropped off and these trips certainly enhanced our visit.

Our visit coincided with the annual Holetown Festival in February and we made good use of the free concerts, music and displays put on for the locals and tourists.

I would definitely recommend the resort and the town. It is not a top star hotel, but a simple apartment that acts perfectly as a base if you are planning on getting out and exploring. It is a 10/15 minute walk into town, but in the evenings it was cool enough to do this and meant that there was never any noise in the evenings.

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday and I would have no hesitation in returning to Holetown and also to these apartments.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Previously stayed at the Travellers Palm twice before and had great experiences. When I booked again in January I was assigned to the sister property of Halcyon Palms. After this experience I will not book with Palms Resort again. I stayed 6 nights with 2 other family members. The lack of detail to cleaning, sweeping, changing out bath towels in our room was pitiful. After four days of noticing this I called front desk to report my concern. The next day the same thing. Called front desk again to complain. These kind of things should be priority but my concerns did not seem to be acknowledged by management or staff. I will not book with them again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunset Crest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.5 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Property: Halcyon Palm
Address: Sunset Crest, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing