We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average Euro accomodation!”
Review of Halcyon Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halcyon Palm
Cold slushy dampland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than your average Euro accomodation!”
Reviewed 2 March 2007

The Halcyon is <5 mins walk from the main resort centre of Europa Sunset Crest ~15mins walk from Sandy Lane and Holetown beaches. Supermarket, Chattel village gift shops and other small malls are ~10 mins walk.

If your not part of a package deal then get an airport taxi (~55-60 BDS) from the airport to Europa Sunset Crest. This is where the main reception is for the Sunset Crest resort. Europa have a minibus which will take you and your luggage to the Halcyon. Journey lasts about 30 seconds! The Sunset Crest area looks like it is a mix of rental and residential accomodation.

Upon arrival they show you how everything works including the token operated aircon. If your from Northern Europe I recommend you buy a couple of tokens (~ 3 or 4 BDS each ) when you check in. Each token lasts about 10 hours. The aircon is on an electric meter so you can make one token last several nights if you want.

Other facilities include a typical safe and a telephone - for which calls within Barbados are free of charge. A TV is included but you only get about 3 watchable channels. Mind you if you've come here to watch TV you've kinda missed the point of coming to Barbados.

It is tempting to describe this accomodation as basic but that sells it short. In all honesty it is better than many hotels and SC accomodation I have stayed at in Europe. The apartment we had was on the upper floor. It was well equipped and included washing up liquid, a dish towel and new cleaning sponge upon arrival. The rooms although not mansion like proportions are comfortably spacious for two people. Probably bigger than some new builds back here in the UK!

The balcony area has a plastic table with 2 plastic chairs. Again this area is actually large enough to be pleasantly usable. Great for birdsong at breakfast or an evening beer with the crickets. (I had no idea the crickets could be so noisy - Brilliant! Really gave it an exotic holiday feel).

There was no bathtub (not that I care) but the shower is bigger than my own and actually had a functional shower curtain and basin which would prevent the water from flooding the bathroom and soaking the bathmat. Euro hotels take note!

If you've got a hire car there is free off street parking for a few cars around the back of the apartments. You can even park in front of the apartments if you want.

Overall Halcyon was clean, pleasant and contributed towards an an enjoyable holiday. I would stay here again.

Some other holiday info...

You can get a free shuttle (a.k.a. taxi) into Bridgetown for duty free shopping. Unless I missed something 3 hours is plenty in Bridge town and Chattel village has the same shops and is a much more pleasant shopping experience.

Atlantis Submarines is a pricey but worthwhile outing especially for non-swimmers and poeple who can't hold their breath and dive 130 ft!
For a more interactive experience try the glass bottom boat Shamon Two (~80 BDS or 40 US Dollars) from Folkestone marine reserve. (~30-40mins walk from Halcyon) Disinfected snorkle equipment and lifejackets included in the price. Yes you really do walk down the seafront back towards Holetown for the beach pickup. But you get to snorkle with turtles and fish over a shipwreck - and its well cheaper than some similar trips.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank whyistheskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    43
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
30
56
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

We have just returned from a fabulous two weeks in Barbados, staying at the Halcyon Palm Apartments at sunset crest, St James.
The apartments are excellent, quite basic, but very clean, with daily maid service, and clean linen. 10 min walk from shops.
Since my last visit, there is now a small pool for use of residents, which is small but adequate, and extremely welcoming when the heat gets too much for you!
I would reccommend Cocomos, for a fantastic view of the sunset, while sipping cocktails/rum etc. food is also good.
If hiring a car, go for air con and if poss, jeep, as roads are pretty bad in some areas. The road signs are lacking and would also suggest taking a decent map of island, as we got lost on the small unmarked roads a couple of times.
A must is a visit to Paynes bay, south of Sandy Lane, we usually drove to the access point and parked near the bus stop under trees. This is an excellent spot for swimming with turtles, and snorkelling.
If you want some fun, go to Ragamuffins on Sundays, they have a 'Caberet' (drag) and next door there is usually a Karaoke, with some excellent local singers doing there stuff.
This was my fourth visit, and still love it, some changes noticed, but people friendly as ever. Liz C. Scotland

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Randwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the accommodation. Set around a small pool stands a cluster of 2 storey buildings. We chose an upstairs appartment which was immaculate. It had a good sized sitting room with balcony overlooking the pool. A small galley kitchen well equipped & a rear bedroom with ample cupboard space. The bathroom had the best shower I have ever used- plenty of power.
The room was cleaned every day to perfection. The sheets & towels were changed every other day.
Admittedly we went in May which is off season but we found the place very quiet. I imagine in high season that this would not neccessarily be the case.
Holetown is in easy walking distance as is the beach.The supermarket & other shops are also close by.
A word of warning. Food in Barbados is very expensive as nearly all of it is imported.
This was our 4th visit to Barbados & we love it. It has the lot.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gallimaurfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2004

Stayed at Halcyan Palm sept 19 2004 for 2 weeks.Room is large but air con only in bedroom, kitchen/ dining room extremely hot at all times.Had a flooded bathroom due to an overflowing toilet which was sorted eventually.Poolside restaurant offered good value but had little other than burgers and chips,the bar which is nearby again was well priced but only came to life when Andrew was on duty.
Outside the complex bars and restaurants are nearby in Holetown,buses are available about a 5 minute walk away and are very frequent.
Would reccomend the helicopter tour of the island and the Atlantis submarine trip.
All in all a basic complex with plenty to do away from Sunset crest if you are happy to get buses or taxis.

Helpful?
20 Thank Sainty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2004

My wife and I stayed at halcyon palm in 2002. It is an ideal place to use as a base. The local shops cater for everything and a larger shopping precinct is 10 minutes walk towards holetown.

The use of the Europa swimming pool was nice as was the food served there.

We would recommend the hire of a car or jeep as Barbados is not only about the beaches. Try the animal flower cave and Bathsheba for a totally different perspective on Barbados. No problems were encountered during our stay and the people are all very friendly.

For a very special evening I would recommend a meal or cocktail at Mullins. This is on the west coast a couple of miles north of holetown on the coastal road.

If yo0u like holidays where you are required to get up and discover things for yourself, the I would highly recommend the Halcyon Palm.

Who knows- maybe next year we'll visit again.

Helpful?
52 Thank SunburntBirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.5 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Property: Halcyon Palm
Address: Sunset Crest, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing