We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, home from home, great location, amazing value for money!”
Review of Halcyon Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halcyon Palm
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing, home from home, great location, amazing value for money!”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

First holiday together without the kids for 20 years! First time to the Caribbean too and what an amazing experience! Not into the all inclusive prisons as we like to be able to explore, meet the locals, taste the local food and live life without a watch for a few weeks. The Halcyon is located perfectly for relaxation yet just 5 mins from the nearest beach and shops on foot and 10 min walk into Holetown (15mins if you're suffering from heat exhaustion!) The local food vans MUST be tried, white vans in the carparks at certain times of the day - we had several Bajun lunches after a hard morning on the beach from these vans and took them back to Halycon to eat before lazing around the pool for the afternoon. Rooms are fully equipped if you want to cook, they even have an ironing board and iron, very clean too and cleaned almost daily. Really can't find anything negative to say at all - perfect! Already checking out the web as we'll be bringing the kids (19, 18 & 16) next year - they'll love the 1st & 2nd street nightlife in Holetown!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gricey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
31
57
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed 5 days at the Halcyon Palm which is the sister site of Travellers' Palm (5 min walk).

Taxi to/from the airport was US$30 + US$5 tip. For taxi fares, theytell you how much it is depending where you're going, so there is no hassle.

You have to check in at the Travellers Palm and they will drive you with your luggage to Halcyon which is 2 blocks away. The apartments are small but spacious enough for us 2. It has a living room with TV (2 channels: Starz and local channel); small kitchen with refrigerator, stove, sink, pans, cuttlery, etc.; the bathroom is ok, and the bedroom is decent size with a radio and good closet space. The two twin beds are put together to look like a king size bed, but that's ok with me.

The A/C was only in the bedroom and I didn't have to pay for it although there was a note on the door that said usage was US$7 per 10hrs and that it operated with the use of tokens. But in our room (#13) that wasn't the case. We used the A/C only at nights when we slept thinking we'd be charged when checking out but they didn't. I don't know if they forgot or they just don't charge for A/C anymore.

We kept the bedroom door closed during the day and it stayed fairly cool; however the rest of the apartment was really hot.

Internet access is US$5 per half-hour or US$7.50 for one hour. I think it's US$10 for 24 hours of access. The timer stops when you log off. So you can make it last longer if all you need is to check email.

The neighborhood is very nice and quiet, I got a very safe feeling and as far as I know, St. James is a good part of Barbados.

The only thing I hated was that at night there are a considerable amount of frogs/toads along the street, especially at night so watch your step!, and you can see the roadkill every day. I have a small phobia of toads, so it might not be a big deal to others.

- Maid service was every 2 or 3 days and it was ok.
- The beach, clinic, bank, and supermarket are only a 10 minute walk away.
- There is a pool at the Halcyon and one at the Travellers. Open 7am - 7pm
- The small "restaurant" is located next to the pool at the Travellers. Service is good, food is ok.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank six25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Why spend thousands when you can spend hundreds?!. What a pleasent suprise we got when arriving at the Halcyon Palms Resort. We have travelled to Barbados several times before and stayed at The Gap, but never again after this perfect experience. The apartments are basic but have everything you need for the time you will spend in them. Cleaned daily by cheerfull and friendly ladies. Reception always helpful and open and really enjoyed weekly cocktail night with free food and drinks. A lovely neighbour hood with friendly residence (if you are lucky they share coconut milk with you as you walk past. All amenities ie restaurants, bars and beaches only 10 min walk. Excellent value for money would recommend to anybody and everybody.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daveandjudy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Halcyon Palm is located in the heart of st James. There is no main reception. You have to walk around to the main hotel, which is 5 minutes down the road. The apartment were very spacious, but i didnt like the fact that you had to pay for AC especially with the weather being so hot. The pool was located right in the centre. There were a large group of netball players staying there, so they were constantly in the pool, it was better when they left. There are a few restaurant located near by, but wasnt a fan of the fish and chips and that was all they served. The beach is near by, but will need to get on the bus, although you can walk it. Locals are very friendly especially the men (went with a group of females). There is a local bank which is 5 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We have just returned from staying at the Halcyon Palm apartments in Holetown.
Before we left we read all the reviews and agree with most of the comments. They are clean well equipped self catering apartments ideal for 2 people. The staff and people in Holetown are very friendly. You can eat in or out to suit your budget.
In the apartment you need the air con which only keeps the bedroom cool, tokens are 12 bajan dollars each and last 10 hours, we used 8 for 14 nights.

The point anyone or tour operators fails to mention is that the apartments are still used by UK schools on sports tours. After 3 very peacefull days, a UK, girls boarding school, hockey team arrived which ended any chance of quiet evenings having a beer outside the apartment. On the last evening a UK boys cricket team arrived, resulting in 20 of the 24 apartments being filled with approx 40+ noisy 15 - 18 year old teenagers.

We were glad we were leaving the next day otherwise we would have insisted on being moved.

Not the quiet peacefull apartments that Virgin Holidays advertised to us.

But we still love the Island and will be returning but not to Halcyon Palms unless they stop taking school tours.

The schools have been using these apartments for years so Companies should be warning people.

  • Liked — Fiar value
  • Disliked — Used by school tours
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickWinchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The Halcyon Palm is located 5 - 10 mins from everywhere. It's 5 mins to the shop, 5 mins to the beach, 5 mins to the bus stop etc. The beach near the halcyon is excellent and the resort of Holetown, whilst very small, is charming.

We took a bus ($1.50 each no matter how far you go) to Ostins, St Lawrence Gap and Bridgetown - all worthy of a visit.

The accomdation itself was quite basic but had everything you need - and let's be honest, you're in Barbados - why on earth would you want to be in your room!!! The maids were lovely and the cleanliness was excellent. The only down sides to staying here (and there aren't many) are: Air Con only in bedroom so living area can get a little warm, Swimming Pool at the Halycon (there are 2 others available on site) could do with a clean and the only other down side is that Holetown is a small resort and not very busy - for the lively bars head into St lawrence Gap.

  • Liked — Quiet Location
  • Disliked — Air con only in bedroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold slushy dampland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2007

The Halcyon is <5 mins walk from the main resort centre of Europa Sunset Crest ~15mins walk from Sandy Lane and Holetown beaches. Supermarket, Chattel village gift shops and other small malls are ~10 mins walk.

If your not part of a package deal then get an airport taxi (~55-60 BDS) from the airport to Europa Sunset Crest. This is where the main reception is for the Sunset Crest resort. Europa have a minibus which will take you and your luggage to the Halcyon. Journey lasts about 30 seconds! The Sunset Crest area looks like it is a mix of rental and residential accomodation.

Upon arrival they show you how everything works including the token operated aircon. If your from Northern Europe I recommend you buy a couple of tokens (~ 3 or 4 BDS each ) when you check in. Each token lasts about 10 hours. The aircon is on an electric meter so you can make one token last several nights if you want.

Other facilities include a typical safe and a telephone - for which calls within Barbados are free of charge. A TV is included but you only get about 3 watchable channels. Mind you if you've come here to watch TV you've kinda missed the point of coming to Barbados.

It is tempting to describe this accomodation as basic but that sells it short. In all honesty it is better than many hotels and SC accomodation I have stayed at in Europe. The apartment we had was on the upper floor. It was well equipped and included washing up liquid, a dish towel and new cleaning sponge upon arrival. The rooms although not mansion like proportions are comfortably spacious for two people. Probably bigger than some new builds back here in the UK!

The balcony area has a plastic table with 2 plastic chairs. Again this area is actually large enough to be pleasantly usable. Great for birdsong at breakfast or an evening beer with the crickets. (I had no idea the crickets could be so noisy - Brilliant! Really gave it an exotic holiday feel).

There was no bathtub (not that I care) but the shower is bigger than my own and actually had a functional shower curtain and basin which would prevent the water from flooding the bathroom and soaking the bathmat. Euro hotels take note!

If you've got a hire car there is free off street parking for a few cars around the back of the apartments. You can even park in front of the apartments if you want.

Overall Halcyon was clean, pleasant and contributed towards an an enjoyable holiday. I would stay here again.

Some other holiday info...

You can get a free shuttle (a.k.a. taxi) into Bridgetown for duty free shopping. Unless I missed something 3 hours is plenty in Bridge town and Chattel village has the same shops and is a much more pleasant shopping experience.

Atlantis Submarines is a pricey but worthwhile outing especially for non-swimmers and poeple who can't hold their breath and dive 130 ft!
For a more interactive experience try the glass bottom boat Shamon Two (~80 BDS or 40 US Dollars) from Folkestone marine reserve. (~30-40mins walk from Halcyon) Disinfected snorkle equipment and lifejackets included in the price. Yes you really do walk down the seafront back towards Holetown for the beach pickup. But you get to snorkle with turtles and fish over a shipwreck - and its well cheaper than some similar trips.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank whyistheskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
9.6 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
7.5 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Property: Halcyon Palm
Address: Sunset Crest, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing