We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect home from home holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halcyon Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halcyon Palm
Dumfries
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Our second visit to the Halcyon Palm, and it did not disappoint. The staff were always cheerful and friendly, the cleaning was spot on. It is a 10 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and beach but we did not find it a problem. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The Chinese restaurant situated in the Golden View Apartment is recommended.
We self catered most of the time, and found the kitchen area o.k for our needs. Great place for a laid back lazy holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    42
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
28
56
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

My girlfriend and I have just returned from 12 days in Holetown, Barbados and we stayed at an apartment within Halcyon Palm (part of Palm's Resort).

We booked it as a package holiday through Virgin Holidays and were very impressed with how we were treated. We were taken to the resort's reception (located at the sister site Traveller's Palm) to check in. Once completed, they drove us the minute's drive to our apartment and had our luggage delivered a few minutes later. We paid to have a safe in our room which we felt was a good idea, but did not pay to have the air conditioning. However, once in the bedroom, we found that we could turn on the A/C anyway and although we did not have access to a remote control to change the temperature, it still cooled the room. We were never charged for this (usually approx £3 per day).

On the first night we wandered down the road towards the main town and found a restaurant called Just Grillin'. There didn't seem to be any order in which you were served and we were told we had to order our meals at the counter and then collected them ourselves when they called our number out. However, on other occasions, we received table service. However, the food was very good and for two hungry travellers it was a welcome relief.

We would spend most of our days down at the local beach which was always quiet. Sometimes we found we were the only people down there, apart from the locals who would attempt to sell us items. This happened on a daily basis and being so regular we actually almost got to know these people. However, a polite no thank you was enough to see them off and most would smile and say "see you tomorrow" before moving on.

In our apartment we had everything that we needed for what we wanted. We were out all day everyday and simply needed it as base which is what Virgin recommended it for. The maids came everyday and made the beds and a couple of times a week they would completely strip the beds and replace the towels. We also learnt (inadvertently) that they would do the washing up left in the sink, but we preferred to do this ourselves as we felt a little lazy otherwise!

There was no bar at our resort (it was located at Traveller's Palm) but we had a fridge and stocked up on essential items. The local beer is called Banks and is very cheap and very tasty. We also got food items for breakfast and lunch because the restaurants are not overly cheap so we only ate out in the evenings. The standard of all the restaurants was fantastic - lots of fish which is caught locally and prepared very nicely.

We had a pool just a few metres from the apartment and found that it was empty most days. We are both in our 20s and we found we were the youngest couple there, hence it was always quiet and peaceful. The town with the shops was a 10/15 minute walk which was sometimes difficult if carrying shopping in the intense heat, but we managed totally fine without a car.

We did a few trips, booked through the Virgin rep (catamaran trip & swimming with turtles and also a Bajan bus tour which took us all over the island) and were treated brilliantly on both. We were always picked up and dropped off and these trips certainly enhanced our visit.

Our visit coincided with the annual Holetown Festival in February and we made good use of the free concerts, music and displays put on for the locals and tourists.

I would definitely recommend the resort and the town. It is not a top star hotel, but a simple apartment that acts perfectly as a base if you are planning on getting out and exploring. It is a 10/15 minute walk into town, but in the evenings it was cool enough to do this and meant that there was never any noise in the evenings.

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday and I would have no hesitation in returning to Holetown and also to these apartments.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Previously stayed at the Travellers Palm twice before and had great experiences. When I booked again in January I was assigned to the sister property of Halcyon Palms. After this experience I will not book with Palms Resort again. I stayed 6 nights with 2 other family members. The lack of detail to cleaning, sweeping, changing out bath towels in our room was pitiful. After four days of noticing this I called front desk to report my concern. The next day the same thing. Called front desk again to complain. These kind of things should be priority but my concerns did not seem to be acknowledged by management or staff. I will not book with them again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunset Crest hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Halcyon Palm and Travellers Palm make up the Palms Resort but are about 5 mins walk apart. We stayed recently at the Halcyon Palm after booking through Virgin and were generally pleased with the accommodation considering the price we paid, approx £24 prpn.
Points to be aware off however are that the room safe is chargeable $2 (USD) per day as is the air conditioning in the bedroom $10 (USD) per day, expensive ! The kitchen area has a ceiling fan (no charge!). The general condition of the apartments is very tired although they are currently carrying out some refurb. but we heard for timeshare ? The town of Holetown, some very nice beaches and a chinese restaurant with a take a way, are a short walk away. If you are on a tight budget you can get very good meals from several 'vans' which park up each day. There was one at the back of the main supermarket car park in holetown which was very good and we paid approx $12 (USD) for 2 meals. The Travellers Palm has a restaurant but it is very limited and we didn't speak to anybody who had used it. Would recommend a car to see the Island but be prepared to get lost ! Any single bus journey was only $1.50 (BBD) and the reggae buses are a must experience.
You can pay almost everywhere with $USD and you will get change in $BBD. We exchanged $USD to $BBD at the Hotel reception where you get a rate of 2 $BBD to the $USD. The WIFI was also chargeable. We paid approx $4 USD for 1 hour.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManxAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

First holiday together without the kids for 20 years! First time to the Caribbean too and what an amazing experience! Not into the all inclusive prisons as we like to be able to explore, meet the locals, taste the local food and live life without a watch for a few weeks. The Halcyon is located perfectly for relaxation yet just 5 mins from the nearest beach and shops on foot and 10 min walk into Holetown (15mins if you're suffering from heat exhaustion!) The local food vans MUST be tried, white vans in the carparks at certain times of the day - we had several Bajun lunches after a hard morning on the beach from these vans and took them back to Halycon to eat before lazing around the pool for the afternoon. Rooms are fully equipped if you want to cook, they even have an ironing board and iron, very clean too and cleaned almost daily. Really can't find anything negative to say at all - perfect! Already checking out the web as we'll be bringing the kids (19, 18 & 16) next year - they'll love the 1st & 2nd street nightlife in Holetown!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gricey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed 5 days at the Halcyon Palm which is the sister site of Travellers' Palm (5 min walk).

Taxi to/from the airport was US$30 + US$5 tip. For taxi fares, theytell you how much it is depending where you're going, so there is no hassle.

You have to check in at the Travellers Palm and they will drive you with your luggage to Halcyon which is 2 blocks away. The apartments are small but spacious enough for us 2. It has a living room with TV (2 channels: Starz and local channel); small kitchen with refrigerator, stove, sink, pans, cuttlery, etc.; the bathroom is ok, and the bedroom is decent size with a radio and good closet space. The two twin beds are put together to look like a king size bed, but that's ok with me.

The A/C was only in the bedroom and I didn't have to pay for it although there was a note on the door that said usage was US$7 per 10hrs and that it operated with the use of tokens. But in our room (#13) that wasn't the case. We used the A/C only at nights when we slept thinking we'd be charged when checking out but they didn't. I don't know if they forgot or they just don't charge for A/C anymore.

We kept the bedroom door closed during the day and it stayed fairly cool; however the rest of the apartment was really hot.

Internet access is US$5 per half-hour or US$7.50 for one hour. I think it's US$10 for 24 hours of access. The timer stops when you log off. So you can make it last longer if all you need is to check email.

The neighborhood is very nice and quiet, I got a very safe feeling and as far as I know, St. James is a good part of Barbados.

The only thing I hated was that at night there are a considerable amount of frogs/toads along the street, especially at night so watch your step!, and you can see the roadkill every day. I have a small phobia of toads, so it might not be a big deal to others.

- Maid service was every 2 or 3 days and it was ok.
- The beach, clinic, bank, and supermarket are only a 10 minute walk away.
- There is a pool at the Halcyon and one at the Travellers. Open 7am - 7pm
- The small "restaurant" is located next to the pool at the Travellers. Service is good, food is ok.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank six25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Why spend thousands when you can spend hundreds?!. What a pleasent suprise we got when arriving at the Halcyon Palms Resort. We have travelled to Barbados several times before and stayed at The Gap, but never again after this perfect experience. The apartments are basic but have everything you need for the time you will spend in them. Cleaned daily by cheerfull and friendly ladies. Reception always helpful and open and really enjoyed weekly cocktail night with free food and drinks. A lovely neighbour hood with friendly residence (if you are lucky they share coconut milk with you as you walk past. All amenities ie restaurants, bars and beaches only 10 min walk. Excellent value for money would recommend to anybody and everybody.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daveandjudy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.5 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Property: Halcyon Palm
Address: Sunset Crest, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing