We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with the best staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 8 nights at the Colony Club. Although not our first visit to Barbados, it was our first time at this hotel. Quite simply, there is nothing that we can find fault with in the hotel.

We chose a luxury poolside room which had just been renovated and it was well worth the extra cost. The walk in shower was so much better than a bath.

We felt that the biggest asset the hotel has is the staff - everyone was so friendly and helpful, definitely service with a smile.

We would recommend happy hour, especially the Bushwacker and BBC cocktails! The chef should be commended for the quality of the food served in the restaurant.

In all, an excellent hotel and one we will certainly be returning to.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keisar0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I spent two wonderful weeks at the Colony Club and have no hesitation in recommending to anyone looking for a top-class holiday. Rooms are big and well appointed, spotlessly clean and our sea view was perfect. The hotel facilities are great and the food is really excellent - don't miss lobster and jazz night. Breakfast on the terrace is memorable and the staff are unfailingly friendly and efficient. Plenty of outings to see the island, and if you stay back and lounge on the beach, you're well looked after. And don't miss cocktail hour - try the BBC which is like a banana daiquiri on steroids - fantastic. All in all, the best beach holiday we've ever had.

Room Tip: Worth considering the sea view upgrade, beautiful to watch the sun go down from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My Wife and I just returned home from the Colony Club yesterday October 15, 2013. The brochure looks exactly like the resort. This place is absolutely gorgeous. The Staff was very friendly and informative. The grounds we well kept, the food was exotic and delicious, the place looks and feel brand new. It was hard leaving there to go on tours.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean view room which was steps from the beach. All rooms have an outstanding view and acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I just returned home from an 8 night stay at the Colony Club on Barbados. We would return in a nano second. The only reason I would not call this place a class act is because it is not an act. Just class. We cannot say enough about the staff. From management to front desk, food and beverage, grounds and pool maintenance, room cleaning and service and gardeners, they are all, without exception, competent, friendly and genuinely concerned for your comfort and determined to make your stay exceptional.

We enjoyed a number of meals at the hotel and each one, including a dinner buffet, casual lunches, and a romantic dinner were exceptional. The daily breakfast buffet each morning was extensive and just plain wonderful.

As It turns out we arrived just as the hotel re-opened after a major and very successful remodel. Some older reviews mention that the place was feeling a bit tired. If it was, it no longer is. The grounds including pool beach and gardens looked great and so did the dining room lobby area. A nice perk is a little library with three computers available to guests. Our room had a lovely balcony with table and chairs, a lounging bed and overlooked the pool bar and had a sea view. Our room was pleasantly appointed, comfortable with both a ceiling fan and air conditioner and even had a four poster bed which was very comfortable. Nightly turn down service was a nice touch.

If you are looking for a party hotel, this is not the place for you. No loud music blaring all day and half the night. Colony Club invites you in and lets you relax. That being said there is a small gym, yoga available, organized walks and lots of water sports available along with many tours if you are so inclined.

If I had to find a fault is would be the beach area. The beaches we saw on the west side of the island all seemed to be a narrow (distance from sand to water) Colony Clubs is no exception and is not all that wide either.

Hole town is an easy walk and offers both high end shopping and restaurants to more affordable options for both. For those who are not interested in walking there are plenty of cabs available as well as the government buses and private buses (be aware that the private ones are generally playing loud music, can be crowded and some drivers are in a great hurry. Something of an experience and not for the faint of heart).

Part of what made our stay at Colony Club and Barbados in general so memorable and enjoyable are the Barbadian people. Truly lovely people with no false pretense about them. If you need anything, just say hello and ask, everyone we met seemed happy to help or give directions or tell us about Barbados and its history.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife stayed here as a last adult holiday before our baby arrived. Was absolutely what we wanted. The staff are great and we had a very relaxing time.
Being able to walk down into the local town in the evening was very enjoyable.
Particularly enjoyed the free fishing trip they put on

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My family and I have now been here four times and absolutely love this hotel. It's location is perfect with lovely views and close to the town and city centre and lovely restaurants in the area. Breakfast is incredible. As is dinner and also happy hour! The cocktails at the swim up bar are lovely. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. Great pool area and beach. Very attractive hotel grounds. Tennis courts and gym are good too. Rooms are spacious. We love this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012
3  Thank RosieMKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie7265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
640 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#1 of 4 in Holetown
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
3.6 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: £231 - £1,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing