We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Colony Club over Christmas and it is beautifully located right on the beach in a very pleasant bay. The ground floor ocean view rooms were literally a few paces from the sand! The people who worked there are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble and they are so friendly - they really do make you feel welcome. I've read other comments about the refurb - maybe our room (a Garden suite on the second floor) hadn't been done yet. It was clean but the air con wasn't working properly - very promptly resolved though when I called about it. The shower/bath was difficult to get in and out of as the shower door stuck and there was the odd mark on the wooden furniture. The hair dryer was a bit 'rusty.' The room lights seemed to have a mind of their own and flickered a lot although when we mentioned this the hotel staff were very prompt in attending to it. Our balcony was lovely over looking one of the many pools the hotel has. The food in the restaurant was fresh with a good selection at breakfast. Lunch on the sunset deck was very nice although we found dinner not as good but then we only eat there once.
We found one annoying thing though and this is not the Hotel's fault. The sun beds on the beach would all be 'taken' by the time we went to breakfast (about 8.30!) I spoke to one of the staff about this who said that he put out the beds every day starting at 6AM and as he put them out people would put their books, sandals etc., on them at that time to secure them!! A few days later I went down to the beach just before 7AM to find the first two rows of sun beds so called 'reserved' by people placing their books etc., on them. Then they would stay empty for many hours which seems unfair. The only way we found to get a sunbed was to get up at 6 AM and do the same as everyone else which doesn't seem right. I would advocate that if a sunbed isn't occupied within two hours of if being 'reserved' then people should be allowed to make use if it. Apart from that a lovely hotel with great staff. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Harvey20-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    152
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
159
371
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived early evening Barbados time and were greeted by very friendly receptionist and offered cool drinks which were very welcome. The Bellman soon arrived to take us to our room which was a luxury poolside and turned out to be a good choice in terms of location. The room was quite big with a nice terrace which had steps down to the meandering pool. fittings in the room were very good and overall it was comfortable. There was no noise from any neighbours which was great and the overall ambience of the hotel was of quiet relaxation.

A few previous reviewers have remarked on the beach and space around loungers. We were here first week of Dec 2013 and did find it a bit cramped but you could usually find space together for two. Fellow guests were friendly but did not intrude on your privacy. It was great to have little snacks and ice cream brought to your lounger a couple of times a day. Drinks were also brought to you by the beach ambassadors who were great.

Around the pool areas competition for loungers was more fierce and some guests did disappear for long periods. Some loungers did not have umbrellas and were the only ones left later in the morning which is a big problem if you are fair skinned making them a non option. The pool areas as was the beach are kept immaculately and again there is a drinks service, even lunch if you don't want to move far. Beach vendors selling not so much of a problem but those selling boat trips
A bit heavy at times.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner all superb, would particularly recommend Tuesday night buffet which was splendid. Beef tenderloin on the a la carte menu was excellent. The only gripe if this could be one is that portions were quite large, we even heard men complaining there was too much and if you asked for a smaller portion you were either met with a blank stare or rebuff which was odd.
I would recommend paying for half board if you don't want to go far in the evening as there is plenty of variety and if booking from the UK this option is cheaper as part of your package than paying when there. I can't fault the waiting staff or chef as service was fine and everything cooked very well.

As a disabled traveller the staff were helpful and obliging and I found the resort easy to get around with everything being in easy walking distance from the room. Getting to Holetown was anther matter as you need to be fit and agile to cope with service buses. Large step onto bus, mad drivers and no seats! Not at all accessible for disabled. We had to use taxis which were fine but cost five times as much.

I would definitely recommend Colony Club for a quiet relaxing break and would return but be cautious of high season because I think capacity around the pool and beach would be compromised. It was getting busy on last few days and one large noisy family arrived and took over one pool area completely. They were very noisy all afternoon and most people who were sitting quietly reading had to move. Otherwise the resort did have an air of calm which was great.

Room Tip: Pay for the best you can as garden rooms are more basic and further from sea but still ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helfulhether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Firstly I should say that this is my second stay at The Colony Club having previously visited November '05, so obviously I am happy with this hotel and fully intend to come back again soon, probably December next year as it does give you everything you need for a solid beach holiday without costing the earth (not as beautiful as Mauritius for example but certainly cheaper) and only an 8 hour flight from the UK.

The hotel had been updated for the better and we were welcomed in the usual friendly Bajan style, including a bottle of Champagne in our room, not sure whether that was due to me being a returning guest or because we had upgraded to an Ocean View Room, either way nice touch. We stayed in room 306 and my only criticism is that behind us was the roof of the kitchen so there was the constant sound of extractor fans which came on at c.5:45 each morning and were turned off c.10pm. This sounds worse than it was as we never complained which we considered doing the first day, but by the second we really were not fussed and spent a happy 16 nights in this room, so it boils down to how anal you are, certainly I will request a different room on the 3rd floor next time. I do recommend upgrading to an Ocean View Room, the view's great and the sound of the ocean is very relaxing.

The beach itself is lovely and I read someone complaining about guests leaving their books on sun loungers all day making them unavailable to others, but this is not an issue as plenty of other beds, and not really the case either.

We paid for B&B as from previous experience else where being confined to the same hotel Full Board for a couple of weeks is tedious. This would have been the case at Colony also, even though the food was good in most instances, we just like to get out for dinner at least. Breakfast was great, good options including GF options for my wife which I think people will appreciate and I have not seen many hotels bothering to offer this elsewhere, so real plus point to Colony for doing this across breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch on the terrace was good, usual club sandwich options etc although service some days was lacking, probably due to same staff having already done the breakfast shift and it being 30 degrees out. We only had dinner on the first night and with live music most nights this is not an unpleasant experience, probably great/convenient for older couples and families, but for us a little dull and repetitive after breakfast & lunch there already.

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin and is worthy of its number of stars. We had a very relaxing 16 nights here with everyday spent sunbathing. Water sports were good too....we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As we have found before, the staff are friendly, the hotel is continually refurbished, the location is excellent! From the Bell staff to the manageress, everyone is friendly and make for an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are best, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert55311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I Arrived at the Colony Club with a group of fellow golfers. The room was newly refurbished and offered a great view. The room was well decorated and was very comfortable. The bath room did not have receptacles which I did find kind of odd, however. The food, breakfast, lunch and dinner were all well done and very yummy. The breakfast buffed ended rather early at 9:30. The watersports were nicely positioned and a were a lot of fun. Thanks for the paddle board lesson Rashad. The overall experience was great and we decided that we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Powcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a lovely hotel. The whole experience was a complete joy. The newly refurbished garden room was excellent. Even the minor issue with the air conditioning was handled with speed an efficiency by the charming and patient Victor! The public lounges and Laguna Restaurant are tastefully decorated to a very high standard indeed. The staff are kind and very attentive. I have to make a special mention to Saneisha. What a star, great fun and very hard working. I will miss your smiling face and quick wit!

We never had any issues finding a bed on the beach in the ten days of our stay. The beds are very comfortable and have great towelling covers, changed every day, which stay put!

Lastly, the gardens and the garden pools are a credit to the facilities team. The cleanliness and attention to detail are amazing.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Pick the superior garden rooms they are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We both love Barbados. Many visits over 20 years to various locations have been experienced from Sam Lords (when open) to this year with 10 days at the Colony Club. Half board selected and a refurbished de luxe garden room has provided a truly memorable holiday. The refurb design to rooms is tremendous and having viewed but not stayed last year the difference and finish is stunning. The staff all say the chef is young and shy but his daily output is excellent and offers a truly varied a la carte selection. The hotel staff and organisation is focused on you the client having a great vacation!
Water sports were such a great team, thanks to Rolls and Jason for the superb ski experience!
First time yoga on Thursdays was so well conducted as was Jennifer's Pilates.
Restaurant staff were all exceptional with such strong characters defining our enjoyment in such an easy style: Trevor, Livingstone and Monica are just brilliant and new blood stars like Shinietta and Corey display inspired recruitment.
Don't miss Thursdays Lobster and Jazz and visit if not staying as its not just outstanding but provides six/eight choices of lobster starters and main! It's a one off choice!
No need to venture out just book the half board option and relax at the island's most polished, naturally friendly hotel for the extra special holiday we all crave, Colony Club won't fail!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alwaystravellinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
623 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,806 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Property: Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing