We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I went here in October of last year and had a wonderful time!!! The service was impeccable all because of Andrea Crishlow and the head chef!!!! They were polite and helpful at all times!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent a very relaxing week celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. We couldn't have been looked after better. Had a beautiful Ocean View room and woken each morning tempted outside by the lapping of the waves against the golden sands. Seafood in the hotel was excellent especially after the customary Bajan Rum Punch. Loads of water sports including Scuba available although the beach alone is much more than adequate.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Yorkshireman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely medium sized hotel and staff really excellent.a real Bajan feel.
Probably not for you if you are a Hotel Snob but for high quality relaxed accommodation and excellent food you will find the Colony Club hard to beat.

Special mention for Meschelle one of the waiting staff who was so lovely to our youngest boy.

If we came back to Barbados we would definitely consider this Hotel.

Ps although the Spa is small the massages are one of the best I have had....and I have had a lot.

Lovely holiday. keep up the good work Colony Club.

Mr and Mrs Wardley.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timothy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent a week at the Colony Club and had a great time. The room was overlooking the beach and was clean and adequate. The bed was very comfortable and huge, needed a walkie talkie to speak to my husband!!!
The staff there could not do enough for you they were polite and helpful at all times. The grounds and garden were kept beautifully. The pool cleaned every day and the beach combed everyday too.
Some of the staff were so helpful Chucky thank you, also Terry your smile and laugh were very infectious, thank you.
I did the yoga and aqua aerobics and both were fantastic , I enjoyed them very much. For the money we spent we both thought it was reasonable. I would recommend this hotel for couples and couples with young children.

Room Tip: Our room was a good view of the beach and the sea. 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzi308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had two weeks here recently having been before 18 years ago and found it much the same. Since our last visit we have travelled extensively and are therefore more critical than we were first time round. Staff were mixed in terms of friendliness and helpfulness. Food was average- certainly not 'fine- dining' and breakfast quality was not as good as other hotels in the West Indies. Omelettes made to order were the best choice. Making toast was a long- drawn out experience as the two toasters were so inadequate that bread had to be put through twice which meant queues -with frustrated guests. The Sunset Bar and Terrace were lovely after an afternoon on the beach but service was very slow and often took 15- 20 mins to get a drink. Eating at night here was difficult as candlelight was not sufficient to dine with. The Bajan Fish buffet was average but the International buffet was better. We ate next door at the Coral Reef Club several times where both the service and food - for almost the same price- were impeccable.We also ate at other local restaurants which were equally good. Such a pity that the Colony Club with a better beach couldn't
match the culinary expertise of their neighbour.! The beach is great for swimming and combined with the water sports is hard to beat. Downside is the close proximity of the sun- loungers which are hard to get front- line if you arrive late. Beach touts are around a little but are well- mannered and not intrusive.Our room was at the back of the hotel and away from the main building. It was a bit dated but a very big room which we kept rather than asking to change. Housekeeping was a bit erratic - not consistent- and our room wasn't usually serviced until mid- afternoon. The supplied hairdryer was so sticky and was obviously not cleaned regularly.Footpaths were hosed every morning which made them slippery- a bit dangerous,The hotel is in a lovely situation with a great beach but we feel that if we came back again we would use it as a base only and eat out much more often- which a lot of guests seem to do.

Room Tip: Room 127 was very spacious, secluded but with no view. A bit dated but very private with lots of war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We did LOTS of research before we settled on the Colony Club. Our pockets aren't bottomless but we love Barbados and a week in the sunshine after an English winter was worth saving for. There may be more stylish hotels on the West Coast, and the Colony Club may not have the refinement of the privately owned Sandpiper or Coral Reef but there's much to love about the meandering pool, beautiful gardens and wonderful staff (on the whole - there are some properly grumpy ones in amongst the general smiling). Our room was right at the back of the property which suited us just fine - totally quiet each night and while the bedding wasn't the best (ripped sheets, not good) it was perfectly ok for an entry-level room. The breakfasts are terrific and the lunch menu more than adequate (starters are a good enough size to keep you going until dinner). Dinner's a bit mixed - vast portions, delicious fish, beef not so good and occasionally more than we could manage. The buffets which happen three times each week are fine but pricey - we had a very special last night a la carte dinner for two at Coral Reef for less than the set price of Colony's 'International Buffet'. The beach is lovely though the 'tradition' (encouraged by the staff) of bagging sun beds before breakfast is frankly ludicrous and adds a level of stress to what should be perfect relaxation. There were always beds by the pool by the afternoon when the beach is in full sun and the drinks service to both beach and pool is charming and efficient. So the Colony Club may be slightly rough round the edges but it's a fabulous location and the good far outweighs the easily overlooked deficiencies.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the rooms at the back of the garden. Lovely views over the trees and no noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryMH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

When we arrived at this hotel I was initially really unimpressed. I was really put off by the tiny swimming pool that was mostly shaded. I am not a great beach fan, preferring to jump in the pool rather than the sea. However, I have completely changed my mind, I loved the beach and the soft sugary sand, the waves and that gorgeous sea smell just bowled me over. The staff are very friendly, the food is excellent and the hotel is clean. The only issue I found was the beach attendant was I would describe slightly off. There was a red flag as the sea was choppy, but this red flag consisted of a towel stuck on to a stick. That water was strong and the flag barely visible, but I did notice the pool attendant moved it so people could see it, but they ignored it and carried on going in.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view room, but it was side on to the sea. We could see it but only if we looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#1 of 4 in Holetown
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
2.8 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: £244 - £1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing