We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite place in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was my 5th visit and we agreed the best yet. I have been with both family and mums and daughters trips and this hotel has been fantastic for both.

Pros:
- The beach/sunset deck/pool area is absolutely idyllic. Great that you can sit on the deck or the pool and actually be by the sea. (Note most or all of the other comparable hotels have the pools at the back often all in shade)
- The beach is big, lots of space to sit and beach ambassadors who bring canapes, fruit and ice cream as well as come round for drinks orders
- Food is delicious (breakfast, dinner and deck all day menu all great)
- Happy hour cocktails
- Water sports boys (Jason, Roy and Keon) are all excellent, really helpful and very friendly.
- Good proximity to Holetown, approx a 10/15 min walk or a 5 min bus ride, we were a group of girls and felt very safe and the locals were so helpful.
- Sun loungers are very comfortable

Cons (or maybe points to note rather than cons):
- The wifi is good in the rooms but round the pool and beach is very difficult to connect. However I would point out you are on a holiday and if your wifi need is that desperate there is a beautifully air-conditioned computer room or you get better wifi on the chairs in the pool 'island'.
- Depending on who serves you some cocktails do seem to contain slightly less alcohol at happy hour

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HL2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    134
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
132
328
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our first time in Barbados after a couple of busy days in New York and, despite our late arrival, we were greeted with a cheerful receptionist who treated us to a complimentary rum punch.
Our room was exactly what we wanted- Spacious with a balcony overlooking the intimate beach. Flower petals, champagne, fruit and treats were also available.
The breakfast buffet was consistently good with plenty of healthy options available.
We did the complimentary island tour, paddle boarding, snorkelling and yoga which were all well worth doing.
Minor criticisms:
1. Holetown is pretty expensive and our budget was stretched eating out every night. The hotel food is expensive but well worth the price if you fancy a good quality meal. If we were to return, we would go full-board or all-inclusive (if available).
2. Beach vendors selling Aloe got a little irritating after a couple of days.

Biggest selling point for the hotel is the staff who consistently deliver outstanding customer service. Always smiling, always happy, always willing to help or to stop for a chat. They are all a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkComerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Colony Club ticks all the boxes. Nice staff, particularly Carol, Shernell, Trevor and Henderson, who all deserve a special mention. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel are very good, and the location lends itself to a a short walk to Holetown if you prefer to try something different.

The guys at the water sport cabin do a great job and will always try to accommodate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first trip to Barbados and after much research into all the hotels we decided upon the Colony Club. If you are looking for a tranquil getaway from it all holiday then the Colony Club is the place to go! It harks back to the colonial days of old and is simply the friendliest place you will ever find. If you are after a lively clubbing type vacation then this will not be your thing and St Lawrence Gap would suit you better.

We stayed in early May for 2 weeks and from the moment we arrived we were offered cold towels and rum punch whilst our luggage was taken care of. We were taken to our luxury pool room which was really lovely, clean, bright and spacious with air conditioning that worked properly, a bottle of local rum punch on the side, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.

The hotel is right on the beach and even though people can't seem to resist saving sunbeds from some ridiculously early hour of the morning, there are always sunbeds available, they just might not be in your preferred spot. Cory (Beach Ambassador) is great with coming round and asking if you would like anything from the bar and also bringing little treats to everyone - frozen grapes, little canapes and little pots of ice cream in the afternoon. Bottles of sun screen and moisturisers are also available.

At breakfast you are always greeted with a smile and complimentary pages detailing current British news and information about events that were happening at the hotel and on the Island.

We ate at the hotel most of the time but Holetown is but a 10 minute walk away if you fancy a change of scene.

A special mention to Tyronne, who worked at the Laguna bar, Ryan and Kevin B - all whom were so friendly and made our stay so enjoyable

We have seen some mixed reviews of this hotel but If you just want to relax with old fashioned comfort, service and friendly staff then I doubt you could better this hotel. We are saving up as we simply MUST go back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly100Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Second stay at Colony and sixth trip to Barbados so I feel I know the island quite well.
The hotel has beautiful and peaceful gardens and a stunning beach location.
Unpretentious and quietly elegant the hotel owes a lot to its attentive and long serving staff.
They give all guests genuine and professional service.
Good value compared to other high end alternatives.
I would not stay anywhere else on the island after this recent trip.
Thanks for a wonderful stay

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahyde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I just got back from Colony Club 3 days ago. I have to say I was a little disappointed. I will share the many Pros and Cons with you so you can make a good decision. When we first arrived the entrance is nothing grand and the outdated koi pool is not a great welcome, I would suggest removing it. The staff upon arrival welcomed us and offered us a drink, which was a nice touch.

The Pros of this hotel is the beach and pool are beautiful! The rooms are very nice.
The complimentary breakfast was fantastic and the water sports that are included were fun.

The Cons are the staff. It all seems forced. They will smile at you but that's as far as it goes. The bartenders are not lively or fun. They ask you what you want and that's it...it's a bar, wake up have a conversation, entice folks to have another drink. Same with the front desk, they have no suggestions of things to do, they just tell you to read the guide pamphlet. I felt so bad for the young couples on their honeymoon. The front desk didn't know where to go at night, and the hotel is very quiet at night. They did have a singer and live music on Fri and Saturday which was great. I would suggest more of it.

Overall I would suggest the Colony Club but do a little research first about the great places to visit on the island...there is no real concierge here. I would suggest the Jammin Catarman Cruise, so much fun and great staff. The Cliffs is amazing but pricey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeniseNYC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Colony club for 5 nights in a luxury pool side room. The rooms were spotless, the whole resort is beautifully kept and designed, the food was amazing and the staff were extremely accommodating.

We chosen the colony club as part of our honeymoon package and we are absolutely delighted with the hotel choice. We will be going back for another holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Property: Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelbag, Southall Travel and Holiday Gems so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing