We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday base...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had 2 ground floor 'swim up' rooms by the small pools, in the garden and they were great and kept immaculately clean by the staff (despite the best endeavours of our teenage daughters to trash one every day!)
Front desk staff were very helpful and booked numerous restaurants for us, bar staff were attentive, beach waiters seemed to differ a bit and you could see when one of the better ones was covering it, service went from good to great.
Our only tiny gripe was that the food often took a long while to come and it wasn't much cheaper (if at all) than the many good restaurants within 10 minute can rides, so we are out about two thirds of the time. If you want to go to the likes of Lone Star, Cin Cin or the Cliff, you will need to book ahead and if you want waterside tables (which you will!) book as soon as you can.
All in all, apart from our "food impatience" it was a lovely stay and I would recommend you give it a try, especially with the big array of complimentary water sports. We were even lucky enough to see a big turtle come up on the beach on our final night and lay her eggs, which made for a pretty special finish to our holiday!
You do get numerous guys trying to sell jewellery, Aloe massages and trips, but whilst they are trying to sell, they do take no for an answer but are happy just to engage in conversation once that's been established...

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank D6AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here 3 times now and just love it. Superb location, lovely staff who remember us, great facilities. We had a pool villa this time which was wonderful, like having your own private pool and with a lovely terrace area. Understated luxury at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda7164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this hotel mostly due to its excellent reviews and were not disappointed. The location is fantastic - directly off it's own private beach, with one of the pools a few steps from the sand.
We didn't have any problems getting a sunbed on the beach at any time of the day. There were plenty of clean towels available all day, and sun cream too.
We booked B&B as had been told that their were many good restaurants close by. We ate both in and out of the hotel and all the food was exceptional. We especially enjoyed the hotel breakfast which had a great selection of food ranging from traditional cooked offerings, egg station, cold meats, vegetables, cereals, muffins, breads, fruit.... The list goes on. Even our fussiest child found plenty to eat. Fantastic to get a great pot of tea at breakfast.
Loved happy hour, great cocktails and homemade crisps.
The overwhelming majority of staff were wonderful - helped when some of our luggage was delayed, recommended restaurants, room cleanliness was exceptional, helped organise horse riding etc..
Watersports crew are great, very accommodating and patient. They recommended a PADI centre for my teenage son to attend and he had 1to 1 tuition for the course.
We tagged our 6 nights here onto a stay in Orlando - all 3 of our children would choose the Colony Club over Orlando.
In summary it's a wonderful hotel, with a friendly, relaxing atmosphere in a most beautiful location. Looking forward to planning our next visit.

Room Tip: We had 2 interconnecting rooms just in front of the tennis courts which are not some the the recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our second stay at The Colony Club, and after 2 year interval it met our very high expectations. The Hotel remained beautifully elegant, with a wonderfully warm reception and great staff service across all aspects including the restaurant, beach staff, housekeeping and watersports. We were delighted to see familiar faces from our previous visit 2 years ago - and also be remembered! We travelled with our 2 (very active) boys who were delighted by the friendliness of all the staff, and the attention they received. Housekeeping was spotless - and whilst we stayed in a junior suite which we understand will be undergoing renovation next, the room was spotless and perfectly accommodating. The Gardens and grounds remain beautiful and the beach really well tended. We didn't have problems with sunbeds during this stay! We were regular users of the gym and the watersports which were also really well kept. The watersports team were really patient and helpful in their instruction (particular mention to Roy who taught my whole family to waterski!)The reception staff were very helpful in arranging restaurants and things to do, and all staff really attentive and thoughtful. Almost all guests were repeat visitors - as were we. We look forward to our next stay. The Colony Club remains a delight - and a perfect choice for quiet couples or members of the big Colony Club family.

Room Tip: We had a walk-out Junior Suite near the pool which was great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank VictoriaK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When booking your honeymoon you may think of going somewhere new; not us. We knew that after our first visit in 2011, this was where we wanted to be. We weren't disappointed. The charm, facilities, staff and great customer service made our ten days the best ever. I can not recommend this hotel enough. Having travelled around the world I would recommend this hotel as charming, relaxing and top notch in terms of food and service. Thanks to the team for a memorable 10 days and hope to be back with you soon.

Room Tip: Ocean view gives great sunsets and quick access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent a week here in July/August of 2014 and stayed in a first floor ocean view room. The room was updated, luxurious and very well air conditioned! One step out of our room and we were onto the beach with a stunning view of the water and some spectacular sunsets. The staff was kind, welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to meet our every need.

The pool is fantastic and the pool bar served up some delicious cocktails! Try the BBC!! Cocktails are also served right on the beach which was nice.

We came here to renew our wedding vows and celebrate our ten year anniversary. Our wedding planner, Annette Boney was absolutely amazing. No detail was left undone and she was so caring and kind throughout the whole time. Although we came as a couple and found this resort to be very romantic, we felt guilty about not bringing the kids! All the water sport equipment is complementary. Right at the Colony Club is a beautiful coral reef and marine sanctuary filled with millions of fish every color of the rainbow. Be sure to go snorkeling if you stay here!!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view! Our room was outside the beach area and it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LolaRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent 2 weeks here and enjoyed our stay in the garden suite. Staff were very friendly and the facilities were great. We went in May/June time and had perfect weather and hotels were not overly crowded. The hotel is very pretty with lovely gardens and swimming pools, plus the beach was very private being at a more secluded end. About a 15 minute walk into Hole town or 5 min bus ride into town. Felt very safe walking around in the area
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MrsL-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
632 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
2.8 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,844 reviews
3.6 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: £251 - £1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing