We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgot to review!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Forgot to review!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis last November, 2011 and had a fantastic time! Breakfast was fantastic and a HUGE variety from buffet style to Al la Carte. View from the rooms over the sea are wonderful. Staff could not do enough for you. I have read some of the more critical reviews and it would appear that I must have been staying at another establishment!!! Pool area, although not huge, was lovely. The beach is so clean and the sea so inviting. Our room was great and very roomy and airy. The managers cocktail party was also great with drink flowing and a really good atmosphere. The BBQ evening must not be missed, excellent food and lots of it at a VERY reasonable price. We ate lunch at the hotel and again food excellent. We could not comment on the restaurant as we did not eat there but freinds that we made at the hotel communicated that it was as good as any other on the island. Previous comment have been made regarding how expensive the hotel was., Barbados is not a inexpensive island and if you choos to stay at a quality hotel, with quality service and food then you must expect to pay -a little more. My partner is in travel and regards this hotel as one of the best in the Caribbean.Royal It it far more relaxed than Sandy Lane but has an equally excellent service. Highly recommended. Apologies Fairmont Pavillion for this long overdue review!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeighPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    204
    61
    32
    15
See reviews for
208
638
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our family recently had a fantastic 4 nights in Barbados at The Fairmont Royal Pavilion.

We would particularly like to heap praise on the Hotel Manager (Wayne) who was highly visible whether it was for the guests, such as ourselves, or the staff. His staff team briefings could be seen each morning and it was clear to us he had a very tight knit group which gave the hotel a real welcoming feeling. Nothing was too much for the receptionist staff who were fantastic.

We had a lovely sea fronted suite which was literally right on the beach , a great way to wake up each morning

We ate out some nights but when we ate in the hotel restuarants the food (and wines) were of a very high standard and the service was good

Well done Wayne we will be back !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have just returned from idylic two weeks at Hotel. We have been to many other Caribean islands; Bahamas, Antigua, Jamaca and St Lucia but this was the most friendly Hotel we have stayed in. The staff were great from the waiting staff, gardeners to watersports. All were friendly and nothing was to much trouble.

The beach is beautiful with great snorkling and swimming with Turtles and spotting the green Monkeys in the luscious gardens.

The hotel is not to large so we got to know lots of people from staff to guests as our first trip without children it was great to get to know people.

Our room was a beautiful beach front junior suite one step from the beach and sea.

The Hotel was close by short taxi to some fabulous restaurants including our favourite the Cliff, Cin Cin and Tides.

Overall we had a fabulous holiday and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surrey128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent a lovely 5 days at this hotel. The people who work here are extremely friendly and this makes the whole place very relaxed and welcoming. The swim out to the turtles was amazing and we enjoyed the lovely beach. The sea was wonderfully warm and inviting and the pontoon was a comfortable swim from the shore.
They provide free afternoon tea with cakes every day and free WIFI, all of which was much appreciated. The Concierge was unfailingly helpful.
If I was to criticize the hotel at all, I would say that the food was rather ordinary in the Palm restaurant. The breakfast was certainly delicious and we had no complaints with our clean rooms, overlooking the lovely seaside and spectacular sunsets.
I am sure we shall go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaureenHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Apologies for this not being a review of the hotel but am pleased to confirm that I have many friends who stay here and love it. However, I always rent an apartment next door 3 times a year and, more often than, use the Royal Pavilion's BEAUTIFUL breakfast terrace overlooking the sea. It sincerely pains me to write this review but it is done in the hope that someone in management will take note. I must have had breakfast at the Royal Pavilion with my family over 50 times in the last 18 months. I've also been breakfasting here for many years. The service used to be sublime..
The food used to be fantastic. What on earth has changed and why? Let me start with the service. There used to be smiling faces. The staff used to realise that you were there on holiday. With very few and notable exceptions, there is an inate miserableness amongst the serving staff and the breakfast cooks. Just trying to get a smile on the serving staff faces is nigh on impossibe. It is so obvious that the staff simply hate their work (and if they don't they are very good actors) and certainly many of the staff have been there years and seem to be so comfortable in their positions that they inconveniently forget that they can be replaced with happier faces. The atmosphere amongst the staff is more akin to a labour camp rather than to fulfilling the enjoyment of holidaymakers. The male egg/omelette cook has a face that can kill from 10 metres. Not an ounce of happiness on his face. I thanked him for making me what turned out to be a burnt omelette. Not a word of reciprocal niceties. Not even a "thank you". Just a growling silence. Now, at this point, it is only right that I give a balanced view. It has to be said that you come to Barbados for sun and sea and definitely not for the standard of service in restaurants. The restaurant staff training at the Royal Pavilion sincerely lacks big time. However, there is no doubt whatsoever that training can work amongst service staff in Barbados, and a fantastic example of perhaps the best trained waiting staff that I have ever experienced on Barbados is next door at the Lone Star regardless as to whether you like the food or not) These are staff that are specifically trained, or so it seems, to make you feel special. The staff at the Royal Pavilion make you feel that you're nothing more than a nuisance. Over the past 18 months there have been various money saving changes to what used to be exemplary service. Toast used to be served to you in a basket within a few minutes of sitting down. Now this has been changed to the ubiquitous toast making machine where everybody has to queue up in turn like any other 3/4 star hotel. The smoked salmon at the buffet is an absolute disgrace. They would not be able to find a lower quality product even if they tried harder to find one And lest I forget, if you want a cappuccino then get excited about paying circa UK£9 (inc VAT & Service) extra per cup on top of the buffet charge. (americano included in buffet) This breakfast terrace WAS in heaven. Please management get it back to being near perfection again.!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffeyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I got married here in 1999 and have been coming back ever since. No matter where else you go in the world this hotel just keeps pulling you back. Why? because of the hospitality and location. Ideal for couples. Personally I dont think it's ideal for families with older children as not enough to do apart from the on-site water sports. Complimentary afternoon tea is very welcoming, although they do need to change the fillings in the sandwiches as not very good quality. The restaurant food is excellent but the light bite menu they serve before 9pm leaves a lot to be desired. Overall it's a wonderful place and will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor butler suites are fantastic if you prefer ground floor rooms with access to the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireKaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Spent 5 wonderful days and can't find anything bad to say. The moment we arrived we were welcomed with a delicious rum punch, had a tour of the property on our way to the room.
The room is spacious and very comfortable, with a gorgeous ocean view, spacious bathroom and a very comfortable bed with a small sitting area.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning, plenty of selections... omelets, pastries, fruits, yogurt, salmon, fruit juices, cereals....
The beach is beautiful, crystal clear waters, chairs and umbrellas are provided and there is always someone coming around that you can order drinks from. The pool is a little small but nice. We did not have dinner at the restaurant though we sat by the bar one night and had the best time, our waitress was the sweetest and enjoyed a couple of bottles of wine and dessert.
We took taxis everywhere, did a half day tour of the island which covered most of the island, took a taxi to Bridgetown one morning and did some shopping. Did a catamaran cruise one day in which we had a blast, ate at The Tides ~excellent dinner, everything was superb ! Did the Oistins Fish Fry... a must !! what a fun place and the best local food ~yummy !!
Walked over to Juju's twice, terrible service, we went back a second time thinking we may have had bad service the first day we were there, but if was worse the second time, the ladies looked bothered and did not make us feel welcome, we decided that paying twice as much for a beer at the Fairmont pool bar was well worth it since the service was so wonderful.
Highly recommend this place !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and LoveHolidays so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing