We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION AND SUPER SERVICE....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION AND SUPER SERVICE....”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Excellent hotel with a brilliant beach side location. Hotel surroundings good and well maintained. Staff throughout are exceptional and nothing too much trouble. All rooms are sea view and would suggest not having ground floor as privacy might be compromised - we had second floor which great. Hotel breakfast buffet very good, dinner in bistro was also good and likewise the main restaurant offered good food. Would suggest you plan to eat out on many occasions to get a change of scenery. Overall very good and already arranged to go back 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear GTF60GrimsbyUK:

Thanks you for your kind comments!

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    215
    65
    33
    15
See reviews for
223
678
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I'd stayed at this hotel before, but the service this year was a step above from last years. From the manager's cocktail reception to the personal welcome from the manager and a gift of champagne, this was a standout stay.

We did enjoy the seafood buffet - the emphasis wasn't only on seafood, but also on pastas and a lovely carved beef. It was a well balanced and ymmy buffet, but I can understand where some other reveiwers are upset at the amount of seafood that is being served.

Room Tip: Of the two buldings, the one closer to reception has better lighting at night. The path to the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caycay_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear caycay_can:

Thank you for your great comments!

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

These reviews are best done in context so we've previously stayed at Colony Club, Tamarind (2x + 3 days after the stay at the Faimont this year) and Cobblers Cove. Cobblers Cove is our favourite but is now out of our price range. The Fairmont is easily 2nd place. This may be due to the week we were there being really quite so we had vast areas of beach to ourselves and very attentive staff. I cannot comment on what the place would be like if busy but I have no reason to suggest any different.

As with everywhere in Barbados if you make an effort and understand the culture you get so much more back. The staff were fantastic and when you are told by a waitress she has been there for 27 years that speaks volumes, especially given the acquisition by a US chain some years ago. When we arrived we were offered the usual welcome drink and, as usual we refused, on the bsais that after 12 hours travelling we just want a shower and beer. Next thing we are off to our room and a beer followed immediately.

Food great, location great, rooms great, prices on a par with similar properties in Barbados.

Criticisms: I agree with another reviewer here that the beds and parasols were worn but they were being replaced on the day we left. The Sunday BBQ was busy and the grill not exactly efficiently run so it took a long time to get my food. However, I think this only really bothered me because of the contrast with every other meal.

I will definitely return and recommend it highly but please don't go in December as I want to keep the prices down:)

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear DuncanAM:

Thank you for your review, I am glad you gave us a try! Yes, we have replaced our beach umbrellas and cushions in December which has been a nice addition. We further have been investing in other upgrades throughout the property, there is much planned for this year (2013).

Please let me know if i may ever be of service and we look forward to having you back with us here at The Fairmont Royal Pavilion.

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a amazing hotel, the staff are so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble, with its beautiful location, it truly is a special hotel
On our first morning at breakfast, our waitress asked us where we would like to sunbathe, we said on the beach, so she arranged for a book and towels to be placed on sun loungers for us.
The food is very good, they have speciality evenings with singers, and it was very good.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear TC W:

Thank you for the comment!

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 weeks in December and had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. The hotel is in a very good location on the west coast and has a wide beach front setting. All the rooms have sea views. The room we had was an Ocean view deluxe room which was very comfortable indeed. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of fruits, cooked breakfasts.etc. There are two restaurants for dinner and the food in both was very good. Service in the restaurants was good too and generally friendly. We like to get out and about and we hired a car for the 2 weeks which enabled us to travel all around the island which we enjoyed.
The only slight criticisms I could make were that the beach was a bit disappointing in that the sunbeds and umbrellas probably need replacing as they are generally well worn and the staff who looked after the beach were not very helpful in terms of setting up towels etc on the sunbeds. Also the beach was never raked and looked a bit unclean sometimes. We would have welcomed a garden area with sunbeds
Also there was a lack of communication to guests regarding events and dinner in the restaurants. We would have welcomed a daily sheet which gave us that information

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear John Warwickshire:

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to report we have replaced our beach umbrellas and sunbeds, and have improved the information we distribute throughout the resort.

I assure you, we will continue to strive for perfection!

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel offers first class accommodation supported by exceptional staff who make you feel valued whilst offering a relaxed and fun time.
The hotel offers high standards but is not starchy, you can dine in your own room, the relaxed cafe Taboras or the more formal Palm Terrace.
All rooms have supurb ocean view terraces or balconies
Good entertainment and water sport avaliable.
Having stayed at various hotels in Barbados, this beats them all

Room Tip: 1st and second floor rooms offer more privacy from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM2225717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and I spent five wonderful nights at The Fairmont. Even before we arrived - to a warm welcome including a rum punch at check-in - we had very good interactions with GM Wayne and his excellent staff. Concierge Tawanda had arranged our reservations at wonderful local restaurants, our relaxing catamaran cruise (more rum punches, swimming with turtles, tasty lunch) and suggestions for tours. Our room was perfect, with a stunning view of the ocean barely 30 yards from our balcony. We enjoyed dinner at both The Palm and The Terrace, the latter also the location for an excellent and leisurely breakfast each morning. Bajans, including especially the staff at hotel were always genuinely friendly and interested in ensuring we had a nice time. Heck, even when I neglected to turn off lights of my rented car - dead battery the next morning - the concierge jumped me with his own car and cables! I can't recommend this property more highly and know that we will be back. Thanks again, Wayne

Room Tip: They are all good rooms (I'd been here before on business), but if you prefer a bit more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
835 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,491 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Prestigia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing