We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Such a shame Fairmont has let this beautiful hotel get so tired and dated... Amazed at how it's been let go .. Tatty furniture, dried out flower displays, chipping paint, shops closed down... The list goes on and although front of house staff still good the general ambience is no longer there... This hotel must up its game or it will be left behind. I can't imagine the rich holidaymakers of times past will accept the standard the hotel has slipped to... It's infuriating that such a beautiful place could have lost the formula ... It's 4 years since we last came and the difference is outstanding ... Either invest or let someone else Fairmont !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Vicky B,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Our property has been going through phased upgrade. Last year during a 3 weeks closure, we have worked on infrastructure related items which included relocation of GYM, new AC system for North Block, roof renovation and also the new hot water system. We are planning a similar work for our South Block this year as well the public areas and ocean front rooms are also scheduled for a refresh.

We appreciate your candid feedback and please be assured that maintaining the property up to standards is our top priority.

Please let me know if I could be of any further assistance.

Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    205
    62
    32
    15
See reviews for
212
646
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is NOT all-inclusive in any way. The waitstaff is superb however, the additional charges, in the thousands, are far more than what you are told. I have no idea how it rates 5 stars - it is not even close to a Sandals. My husband and I will NEVER return to this overrated, overpriced, travesty. Of all the Caribbean Islands we have visited, this is by far the worst and the most overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Director of Operations & F&B at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Pamela M,

Thank you for taking time to let us know your feedback. You are absolutely right about the property not being All Inclusive and we never advertised it like one. This said we offer a meal plan package for our guests and we can tailor-make these plans to suit the guest requirements. This is what exactly we did for you as well and we appreciate your good feedback about it whilst you were on the property.

Once again thank you for your feedback and if I could be any assistance please let me know.

Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

As you walk into the hotel there is a lovely pond with koi in it that looks really cool it's a lovely relaxing feeling just walking in. We had a suite on the ground floor which gave us immediate access to the beach which was literally 12 paces from our bedroom. The bedroom itself was for us perfect, big bed sofa TV which we never actually switched on, bathroom twin sinks shower and bath. All of which we're immaculately clean.
The staff at the hotel are perfect very helpful and pleasant you cannot fault them which was great.
Breakfast here is really good you can have anything you want, it's a buffet style breakfast just stroll in when you want, again chilled relaxed not formal at all
Although we did have lunch here it was ok that's all same with the evening meal just ok, but we do like to use the restaurants on the island there are so many to choose from you are spoilt for choice
On the beach the staff are always checking to see if you want a drink food or anything you need, they also come round with cold face flannels once a day which is very welcome, and maybe a ice cream or smoothy again a nice little treat. The only thing I would change here are the sun loungers on the beach may be could do with newer ones but really it's not much of a complaint more of an observation. And there are plenty of sun loungers for everyone and plenty of beach which if you have been to Barbados before not all the hotels have much of a beach and enough beds for all there guests. If you have a ground floor room you do have your own decking with sun loungers table & chairs so getting a ground floor room it's a must
I definitely will go back we had a wonderful relaxing stay here, highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you kindly PeteD! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you had such a wonderful experience.

Your tips and observations will prove invaluable to future travelers and we are grateful that you shared them. We value your recommendation and thank you again for leaving a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel was a real let down, even though we had been warned by our travel director not to expect the quality of service you find in the Far East in the similar rated hotels. This was not 5 Star, but 5 star prices!!
I totally agree with 'Anna_traveller 028' from Bath who could have written this review for me.
We booked for two nights pre cruise and two nights following the cruise.
Our biggest gripe was that we asked on booking for an early check in but eventually got into our room at 16.45. Then as our flight was delayed asked for late check out which was not available.
On our arrival we were bombarded with requests for a dinner booking. We were very tried after a long flight and really only wanted to get to our room for shower and freshen up.
We decided on dinner in the cafe restaurant, it has a great location and the food was ok but the worst thing that spoiled the evening was the two singers, who thought they could sing and that the louder they turned the volume up the better it sounded.
Luckly we found an excellent restaurant a short walk down the beach which was fantastic.
If the Royal Pavlion sent their staff there to be trained then it would be a great improvement.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rogerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Rogerwin,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us and we are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations.

We try our best to accommodate late checkout requests but at times it is not possible due to high occupancy levels. I regret that your request happened to be on one of those days.

Entertainment wise, we have handpicked some of the most talented artistes to ensure a very high quality entertainment schedule and the feedback from our guests has been very positive. However we have noted your comment about the volume level and will be addressed accordingly.

Thank you once again and if I could be of any help in near future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.


Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great Hotel that can rank at one of the best hotels I have stayed at in all my travels.

Food is excellent and the view was fantastic.

They picked us up at airport and also delivered us to our cruise ship.

Service was top notch

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Donlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Donlandis,

Thank you very much for your encouraging words. Your appreciation goes a long way to boost the morale of our team here at Fairmont Royal Pavilion.

Thank you once again and we look forward to see you with us soon.

Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi

Director of Operations/ F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just what we were looking for! Fairly priced room right on the beach! Private deck w lounge chairs plus two more w umbrella on the sand in front of the room. Restaurant just steps away. Great beach, super staff and clean room!
Tawanda the concierge took such good care of us! She procured a reservation for 20 of us at a nearby restaurant for our birthday celebration along w transportation for us and others that were staying at another hotel. She made it look seamless! Thanks Tawanda and staff!
Breakfast came w the room which was nice, staff very friendly!

Room Tip: One of the beach front first level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AspenFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Aspenfoodie,

Thank you for your recent review. You are so correct about the location; this is so close you can get to the water. Besides the great location we firmly believe that our true asset is our staffs who will go any length to ensure that our guests are well taken care of.

Once again we appreciate your kind comments and look forward to see you back soon with us.

Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/ F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We are huge Fairmont fans but this is not your typical Fairmont. Rooms are worn..even the towels in our room were thin. The managerial staff is good but otherwise did not find the service very good. The rooms and meals were very expensive which we don't mind if we get what we pay for. If it wasn't so expensive then maybe we would not have minded so much.

On the positive side, the beach is lovely and so is the pool. This resort is apparently due for renovations which is good news as this resort has loads of potential

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view so I don't believe you can go wrong. Rooms have a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimcrawford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Kimcrawford01,

Thank you for the review. We apologize for any hardships you endured and appreciate you sharing your feedback. This is always helpful to us as we strive to improve and your notes about the towel quality has been noted and we are in the process of replacing them.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that you and your family enjoyed your time in Barbados

Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/ F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
1.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing