We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to go home to comeback”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“You have to go home to comeback”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We keep coming back so they must be doing something right! Another great stay seeing many of the staff who have become friends over the years but also spending time with friends who also make a point of returning each year at the same time.
The hotel and its staff are special and it's like having a second home abroad without all the added expense that goes with that.
If you want a 5 star hotel where everything runs to clockwork, the rooms are immaculate and you are treated like royalty don't go to the Pavilion.
If you want something special, memories are important and you find it difficult to leave, then try it.
A special mention to Jamal who made our stay even more special this year

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbumsalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Beachbumsalso,

Thank you for coming back and taking time to write a review about your recent trip. Jamal is indeed a great staff and your kind words about him will definitely be a great motivator.

It was a pleasure having you at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    210
    63
    32
    15
See reviews for
220
662
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

.

Fabulous hotel and location. Can't rate highly enough.

But ..... before people start writing, up in arms, re the review of blonde Canadian Christine (below) - she DIDN'T eat dolphin! 'Dolphin' is just a local name for the fish known as Mahi-Mahi !

.

Room Tip: Ground floor, beachfront, is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbadosbelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Barbadosbelle1,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad to see that our guests are reading the reviews with keen interest.

We look forward to see you back soon again and in the meantime if I could be of any assistance, please let me know.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at other fairmont hotels so we picked this one in Barbados. It was a fantastic stay. Amazing beach which was our first priority. Beautiful ocean view, clean, comfortable room, friendly staff and good food. Just not sure it's really a luxury hotel. However no complaints. H town is within walking distance (if you don't mind the mosquitoes at night)
Staff offers to get us a car for the day to drive around the island.
The water sports shop has a guy that takes you to see and feed the turtles for free every day 3 minutes walk from hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sandush

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Royal Pavilion

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

With best regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Recently returned from 7 nights here for our honeymoon. From rum punch and cool towel on arrival, the Royal Pavilion maintained its high standards for the entire time we were there. We booked a Beach front junior suite which was worth every penny. To be able just to nip back in to our room from the sun loungers on your private terrace is ideal. The staff coming round with cool towels and sorbets throughout the day was also a blessing. The staff were terrific also with Kevin greeting us on check in to all the bar staff and waiting staff. A special mention to Andre who was a legend always greeting us with a smile, handshake and a quick dissection of the days World Cup action (I hope France do well in the World Cup for you pal). Swimming with turtles is a service they offer which you need to do. It's breath taking. We met some guests who have returned every year for 14 years. If my numbers come up on the lottery I can safely say I'd be there for the next 14 years too. Thank you to everyone there for making our honeymoon so amazing and memorable.

Room Tip: Beachfront junior suite was perfect for nipping in for a breather from the sun if you needed it. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear JonnyH 1980,

Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kevin and Andre are a great asset to our team and we appreciate your positive feedback about them. It will definitely be a big motivator.

We look forward to see you back soon and join our 'repeat guest club'.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel, grounds are beautiful staff are amazing - if anything they are under appreciated by other guests. Rooms are very nice we stayed on an upper level room amazing beachfront view. The Fairmont Rum Punch is the BEST on the island.. there's no compare.

We visited a local school (St. Albans) and took donations of supplies which were very much appreciated! I highly recommend if your going to that area, to do the same. The teacher was so thankful – we talked about the schools need for a covered area for prayers etc. so the children don’t have to huddle or run from the rain. Stay tuned for a possible donation campaign to help them fundraise!

I must disclose that I did win this hotel stay - and it's much more per night than I could ever pay, It's also on the West coast, and it is the "more expensive" side of the island. In fact Barbados in general is at par - not like other Islands we've visited. We did have spending money and used it on taxis and tours! again I had vouchers for food which we totally went through and thoroughly enjoyed the food and indulged quite a bit on room service :) We did the Safari Jeep tour of the island and a Catamaran "party" boat cruise where we got to swim with turtles (highlight for me!) and snorkel around drink and dance and had an amazing time! The Jeep tour took us all over the island it was very nice and informative – I highly recommend BOTH! Definitely money well spent. We also grabbed a taxi to head to Harrison Caves, it was really cool, I also recommend seeing this site, it was very informative and you’ll never guess how Barbados was formed.. go and you’ll find out!

I would say if you're a "frugal" traveller or used to all inclusive - this is a different experience. We absolutely LOVED this hotel, but did find it on the quieter side (which is a plus for some) as for us we brought music to the pool in the evening I do wish they played more local music, but again this is a 5 star so the music probably suits the high percentage of the clientele that stays there. I found it a little "quiet" so if you want to really just relax and read a book on a stunning beach it's perfect. I felt like we were the "rowdy's" haha which was fine.. I found most guests stuck to themselves and relaxed - which again is fine :) we did run into some other Canadian's at one of the shows so I wasn't the only one clapping and cheering on the live band which was amazing! singing some old reggae and blues.. yes this hotel has entertainment and shows..

We felt very safe the entire time, absolutely loved our vacation, saw monkey's had the best rum punch on the island amazing food TIP Fri, Sat & Sundays going toward Holetown there is a fish stand on the left side of the road, opens around 7pm, and has the BEST food (aside from the Fairmont) we had Dolphin - yes Dolphin they even serve it in the Airport, and it was delicious.. flying fish is good but small.

Oistins on a Friday night (or the weekend) is AMAZING live music and bars, about a $40 taxi but totally worth it! it's a little hard to get to by bus (which we also took the party bus is so much fun!) there's 2 types of busses both safe and inexpensive!

Aside from our tours and course the pool and beach we really relaxed and enjoyed the wonderful food, drinks and staff at the Fairmont. I wish I could say I had the kind of money to go back, but who knows maybe I’ll win another trip! That would be incredible and I’d be there in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: EVERY room here is amazing as they're all beachfront. Just stunning, we did love the upper level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Christine W,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. Your kind gesture of school donation will go a long way in making a difference in our young student’s lives.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion and we look forward to welcoming you soon again with your favorite Rum Punch.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having stopped at Sandy Lane several times we wanted to try a different resort - and this hotel was a great alternative. The property and the rooms are a little 'tired' but everything worked well and the location is fabulous. All the rooms are ocean front and the beach is fantastic. The staff are naturally friendly and helpful and the breakfast choices were excellent. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Patti B,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Royal Pavilion. I am pleased to note that you loved our staff and breakfast selection. We are continuously investing in our Room product to ensure that we offer world class facilities to our discerning travelers.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which they recently experienced and more so from regular global travelers like you.

Once again a big thank you and we look forward to see you back with us soon.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff are friendly and very informative about their island
Foods are descent and a great complimentary afternoon tea
Exterior decor requires a immediate face lift
Beautiful beach with various water sports activities

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much Andy H! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “Staff are friendly and very informative.” Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
830 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Destinology, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing