We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, excellent service and high quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Welcoming, excellent service and high quality”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent 3 nights with my family at this excellent Barbados hotel.

Efficient pickup and transfer (pre arranged with hotel) from airport. Greeting on arrival was warm, professional and just really friendly - got things off to a great start.

Hotel is on a great strip of beach with nice clean sea. Facilities are good, breakfast is good with plenty of selection and lunch has good choices. Staff are very friendly and always eager to help which included cleaning staff, restaurant, front desk and watersport staff.

I usually stay with Starwood hotels wherever I go but this hotel has made a very favorable impression on me for Fairmont - well worth considering if you are looking at Barbados, we had a great time and strongly recommend it

Hard to pick out anyone from the staff as all were uniform ally great but Charlene at the concierge was excellent

Heartfelt thanks to all at the hotel

Room Tip: All rooms face beach. If you want to walk out on to beach then get a ground floor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 179Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, Director of Operations/F&B at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Amex Traveler,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Royal Pavilion

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

With best regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    216
    65
    33
    15
See reviews for
224
678
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for two weeks in this hotel, and had a generally good holiday. The hotel is neocolonial in style, and reasonably new. The rooms all face the sea, and are pretty comfortable. All have convenient adjoining rooms excellent for families. They are clean and well equipped, with tea/coffee making, safes, wifi, and decent baths/showers. The views over the sea are excellent.

Also very good is the beach which is much wider than many on the Barbados west coast, where some are very minimalist.

The routine of the hotel is simple - buffet breakfast, with an egg/omelet station, bacon sausages, beans, tomatoes and an extra that changes each day. There are cereals some breads, fruits, and some salmon. Given Barbados's fishing credibility it would have been nice to see some more varieties of fish at breakfast, perhaps smoked, but I am being picky. Service is a little haphazard in the restaurant, and this would be my main criticism I think. The staff are nice and do try to be helpful. There is a bar/lunch menu, which I though was a but limited, but ok. Evening meals alternate between themed nights and normal - the West Indian theme being particularly disappointing. Otherwise the food was reasonably but not inspiring. There is a managers buffet which is B$140 which is nice once but identical week on week - it is held in a nice second restaurant, which is oddly underused. Prices are reasonable by west coast restaurant standards - about £50 per head per night.

There is a nice pool, though it has fallen a bit behind some places in not being infinity. Some guests had a bit of a tendency to grab the best loungers with the early placement of a sandal or cap which was irksome, especially when they did the same on the beach and left one or the other unused for most of the day. Though public the beach is pretty quiet, and certainly is no scrum, with a floating island to swim to 20m or so out. All non motorised water sports are free, including twice daily trips to swim with turtles just to the north end of the hotel - the water sports guys hand feed them to ensure their presence. Very cool and the turtles are fearless and calm. On the beach staff will bring you drinks and cool towels - civilised.

The hotel is clearly well run. I had some laundry issues - my fault mainly in the end, but when I bumped into the manager and mentioned them, he already knew all about it - I though this indicated good basic systems and escalation.

The hotel does seem to have quite a lot of repeat guests - a good thing although this has led to some cliques of those who visit at the same time year on year.

At Christmas time I understand the hotel does not take children, and I suspect is the poorer for this - there is a rope into the sea and the clientele rather elderly I understand.

It is a good hotel, and if I went back to Barbados I would not be unhappy to stay their again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonBlahBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you kindly SimonBlahBlah! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

We apologize for any hardships you endured in the restaurant and appreciate you sharing your feedback. This is always helpful to us as we strive to improve and your notes are very useful.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a great time at this hotel. Services and staff were very accommodating and friendly. One of the best places to visit in Barbados. We will definitely consider staying here again when we visit......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ismar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you kindly Ismar A! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

Your compliments toward our team are much appreciated. We agree one hundred percent!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were at the hotel for two weeks expecting a luxury resort, which the Royal Pavilion was certainly not. We booked one of their beach front suites which are situated perfectly and the selling point of the hotel. However, the butler service these suites come with was often non-existent and it took 3 days for us to be even contacted by the butler team - after I contacted the Manager to understand how the service worked as we had no information. Room service was equally inefficient and often the phone would just ring and ring. Housekeeping forgot to collect our laundry twice so be prepared to stay on their tail if you want anything laundered quickly, although don't expect much as a lot of our clothing came back a bit cleaner but still stained. Our friends had the same trouble (they were in the suite next door).

The hotel advertises activities for children but watch out as these are almost always cancelled, particularly during the off-peak season i.e. March to October. We took our 5 year old out there and he was very bored. The few activities that were scheduled weren't particularly exciting i.e. a 3 hour driving tour of the island was on offer. Furthermore during the two weeks we stayed there not one of the more interesting activities (i.e. kids 'keep fit') went ahead. Often we turned up and no-one knew what activity had been offered or when / what was supposed to be going on. Everything was badly co-ordinated and there was a distinct feeling of laziness on behalf of those who appeared to be appointed with the responsibility of delivering the few children's activities they offered.

Service at the hotel is generally poor. If you order a cappuccino expect to get a latte! Having said this the staff are very friendly and eager to please, particularly in the restaurant, which takes the edge off them getting things wrong time after time.

All in all it is a 3 star experience so providing you set your expectations at that level and don't travel with young children, you won't be disappointed. The hotel is clean and situated conveniently, with a lovely beach - these are its selling points.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites as you can step right out of your room onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plclough33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the review Plclough33. We apologize for any hardships you endured and appreciate you sharing your feedback. This is always helpful to us as we strive to improve and your notes about the kids activities along with your butler, housekeeping and restaurant services are very useful.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that you and your family enjoyed your time in Barbados,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel over Easter this year. We were a party of 5. My wife and I and 4 year old stayed in a suite which had a terrace that opens onto the beach and my two older sons had a standard room which was above our room. Every room faces onto the beach and both restaurants face onto the beach too.

The staff here were amazing. Every single one went out of their way to make our holiday special. By far the best levels of service we have experienced in Barbados.

The beach is amazing and the sea is smooth and warm. A totally safe environment for kids.

The main restaurant has a great selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The a la carte restaurant is brilliant and the food is great.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and we can't wait to return there.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Suite. You get a butler service all day plus you get VIP entry through passport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckleCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much ChuckleCouple! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that the staff are amazing. Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them. We’re also glad that you can't wait to return — that is quite a compliment!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here last week, I was with my partner in a junior suite on the ground floor and his sister was on the 3rd floor in a deluxe ocean view room. As we were staying in a suite we had a butler service which was extended at no extra charge to her, which included the managers cocktail party as well as the nightly canapés.
The staff are extremely polite and helpful with a great sense of humour, nothing is too much trouble. And they even offered to take my sister in law out with them on nightly events as she wanted to party. Boutique shopping is only 10 minutes away by bus or taxi.
The hotel gardens are kept in immaculate condition, and a real tropical oasis. The beach is right on the hotel front so you're only a few steps from your accommodation to the hot golden sand where you can laze in the sun, and take a relaxing dip in the cool ocean, then relax back on your lounger where the staff offer you a drink and cool towel service on the beach. Nothing is too much for the staff who are a real asset to this hotel.
It was our first time in Barbados, but it's not our last visit. We will be back to both the Royal Pavilions and Barbados.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view only the suites have a terrace with direct beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you kindly Christopher F! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

Your compliments toward our team are much appreciated. We agree one hundred percent!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont July for 10 days after booking our holiday through Virgin Atlantic, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with first class friendly service which continued right through to the moment we left to depart to the airport. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and was amazing, the views were wonderful. The beach bar service was fantastic, and my young son loved his daily milk shakes. The food was always hot and tasty with lots of selection, and there always seemed to be something happening. The choice of water sports was fantastic and the daily swim with the turtles should not be missed. The thing that set this hotel above all others that we have been to is the staff and there warm friendly genuine smiles and kindness, Francine was especially one staff member who loves her job and was so kind and caring to our son during our stay. We can not wait to go back and I am sure that this special hotel will become a place we go to often.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much Donna Z! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are thrilled to hear that you cannot wait to come back. That is quite a compliment!

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. Francine is incredible and we are glad that you had the chance to get to know her and the rest of the team. We’re also glad your son enjoyed the milkshakes!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
835 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,494 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Prestigia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing