We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Nearby Hotels
US$917
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Club(Holetown)(Great Value!)
US$505
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sandpiper(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$505
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mango Bay All Inclusive(Holetown)(Great Value!)
US$592
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lantana Resort(Weston)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$338
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
847
238
76
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
238
76
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabutler servicepalm terraceocean frontsandy lanewater sportsprivate deckbeach clubthe ground floorthe managers cocktail partyjunior suitesthe cliffbeautiful beachswimming with turtlesconcierge deskcaribbean seabeach service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,047 - 1,052 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Have just come back from a 10 day stay at the Fairmont. It was our first time in the Caribbean and am glad we chose this hotel (and Barbados). We wanted a relaxing holiday and managed to do this despite having time to explore the whole island

Good points:
Lovely decent sized room, sea facing, all being right in front of a crystal clear beach. Quiet room, all we heard was the waves from the beach in front. Really polite,courteous and accomodating staff (especially security and housekeepers). Watersports centre with complementary water sports eg, water-skiing, kayaking, snorkelling trips with turtles. Complimentary afternoon tea/coffee with cakes. Rooms serviced twice a day. Good spread of food for breakfast with inclusion of local Bajan food.

Things to possibly improve on:
Some parts of the hotel may appear run down but when we were leaving, it appears that they had people there planning improvements within the hotel. The beach in front of hotel is a public beach therefore beach vendors would approach us on most days (however we found them courteous, polite and useful to have a chat to about local Bajan culture and highlights)

General comments:
- We hired a car and found it indispensible when trying to explore the island (especially the beaches that were not so frequented by the tourists but used mainly by the locals).
- "Hike Barbados" is endorsed by the Barbados tourist council and organises free hikes. We attended a moonlight hike and it was a useful way of meeting locals (there were possibly up to 100 people on the hike we did, which included a good mix of locals and tourists, of all age groups including children to the more mature individuals!). A word of advice would be that you would need a good pair of comfortable trainers at least (hiking boots would be best) because the hike we did involved the group going through the plains, jungle, beach, sugar cane plantations, road, gravel, housing estates (old and new!) and small hills.
- There were many good restaurants to recommend: Lonestar restaurant (less than 100 metres away from the hotel). Other good eateries in nearby Holetown include The Tides (trendy, good food), Just Grillin' (affordable healthy grilled seafood/meat), Patisserie Flindt (western style eatery with good choice of salads/sandwiches. Their burger is to die for, and their cakes and pastry are out of this world .... and they also deliver!). The Fish Pot is further up north. The Cliff was closed during the period of our stay but we were spoilt for choice already. Oistins is somewhere to try on a Friday/Saturday night.

We would come back to Barbados and stay at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bussman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont for 10 days in January as part of our honeymoon. While this hotel is expensive at this time of year I believe it was money well spent. We loved the excellent service like being checked in, in your room over a lovely glass of fruit punch and the afternoon tea (we seemed to be 15 mins late for this every day and loved the way the elderly waitress would give out to us every time but then treat us like royalty!!). Breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of fruits, pastries and hot food. The pool is relatively small but with such a beautiful beach we did not use it too much. The rooms are average size but decorated to a high standard and each has a sea view. We would recommend a higher floor (second or third) for the best view.

The free water sports was a nice touch. Managed to perfect my water skiing while there. We also took a free snorkelling trip to swim with the turtles.

We mainly ate out of the hotel in the evenings (dinner in the hotel was good though). One tip if leaving the hotel....take the bus, there cheap and regular. Taxi's on the island are pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PodieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional and the hotel is on a beautiful location on the beach. We did find the accomodations to be well below the Fairmont Hotel standards that we are accustomed to. Although there were recent interior room renovations, they were done on a tight budget. Fitness center is small with not much equipment and the common areas are very worn. This hotel could be so much more.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gracegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our second trip to this hotel and will not be our last. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. The location is ideal and the water sports are great. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the best thing is that they are all sea facing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach101040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My husband and I needed a vacation where we could relax and unwind. We chose to stay at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion in Barbados because after many, many hours of research we felt this was the best choice, best value and shortest travel time of all of our choices. The Fairmont Royal Pavilion in Barbados met ALL of our expectations. When we arrived, we were greeted by Ingrid who showed us around and brought us to our room and signed us in. All paper work was completed in the privacy of our room and took very little time. Our bags were brought to our room immediately. We were asked if there was anything we needed and if the room was to our liking. We were on the beach within less than 15 minutes after our arrival. WE had a first floor deluxe room, facing the beach which was seriously only feet from our room, as are all the rooms. There is a low lying wall that separates the hotel from the beach which one may either walk around or hop over. We had our attendant set up our chairs and umbrella and send over some Malibu Rum mixed drinks within minutes of our arrival at the beach. We spent the rest of the afternoon at the beach. At 3:30 PM we headed over to Taboras Restaurant for afternoon Tea! What a delight! At 7 PM we had a wonderful dinner and then fell asleep for well over 12 hours! We were exhausted but delighted! The next day, we had our attendant set up our chairs and we started our day on the beach at 9:30 AM after a very full and lovely breakfast which was included in the price of our room. All staff were helpful, curtious and happy. Room service was extremely quick. It took approx 15 min each time we ordered room service. The entire property was very clean with no bugs, mosquitoes, etc. There was wildlife aplenty. The sea is various hues of blue. The sky really is cornflower blue. We felt very comfortable and very safe at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion. There were boating trips and jet skis if one were interested. There are hotels on either side of the Fairmont Royal Pavilion that one could check out and it is very easy to get into town if one wishes, from what we heard. However, we were so happy with our choice in hotels that we did not set foot off the property for the entire one week vacation. THE ONLY negative that we found were the vendors who walked the public beach in front of the property (on the other side of the wall) from the hours of 10AM to 1 PM. The best thing to do during those hours is to spend most of your time in the water; they dont bother you there. The vendors were insistent that your greet them each time they came up to you and speak with them up on their approach. They did take "NO' for an answer, but they wanted your respect. You could also sit on the beach with headphones in your ears, sunglasses on and lie back and close your eyes in order to avoid contact with the vendors. People who did engage the vendors had pleasant conversations with them and were able to not buy anything from them. Most of them sold jewelry, massages, hand paintings, aloe foot massages, and boating trips. In all, this was a fantastic vacation, one that we would definitely take again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vieparis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews