We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glitter Bay #308 & Barbados Villa Services”
Review of Glitter Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glitter Bay Suites
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We knew the beach as we were lodging before in hôtels there, coming from France to this beautiful coast . As we prefer to stay in a quiet place, and to feel "at home", we chose this option. It was very pleasant, well equipped, nice terrace to have breakfast looking at the birds...and monkeys,..
You can enjoy the restaurants in the evening, not far with a rental car (you can even walk), as Nishi or Lemon Grass.
We certainly would like to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank marc i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveBarbadostoo, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Glitter Bay Suite 308. We agree that it is a great location for a Barbados holiday and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Marilil Troulan
Barbados Villa Services
Manager for Glitter Bay Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Glitter Bay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We visited in October and had a fabulous time and have just booked again for Feb 2015. The position was brilliant going traitor out on to one of the best beaches in Barbados and it was only a 10 minute walk into Holetown

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wendywoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveBarbadostoo, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for sharing about your experience with Barbados Villa Services and Glitter Bay Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back in February 2015.
Best regards,
Marilil Troulan
Barbados Villa Services/Glitter Bay Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Totally enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Rooms were great - well serviced and had everything you need. The only aspect to improve is the food quality at the pool/beach bar but this wasn't a big issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveBarbadostoo, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review - it is much appreciated.
Glitter Bay does indeed have one of the best beaches on the west coast of Barbados and we note your comment on the snack bar. This is a facility managed by the communal management company. We hope you managed to try some of the other nearby beach bars/restaurants like JuJus, The Beach Club and Fairmont Royal Pavilion which always welcome outside guests to their restaurants and we have always found their food to be reasonably priced and delicious!
We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Marilil Troulan
Barbados Villa Services/Glitter Bay Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recently stayed in The Princess Suite 306. What a fantastic appartment!

It has been properly modernised, with upgraded bathrooms, kitchen and terrace doors, the interior has been designed to not only look great, but is a real home from home. Comfy beds, lovely towels and bathrobes in the bedrooms, the kitchen is fitted out with plenty of good quality glasses, cutlery and crockery. Each bedroom has its own terrace all with sun loungers or sofas and chairs, with a large terrace outside the sitting room big enough for a large dining table which can seat probably 8 people.

We simply could not fault one thing about 306, if you are thinking of going, then think no more and just go - we guarantee you will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun Lounge Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveBarbadostoo, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for submitting your review of your stay at Glitter Bay 306.
While GB306 is not managed by Barbados Villa Services and is not part of the portfolio of Glitter Bay Suites we do offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all individually owned which offer similar amenities. We have daily hotel housekeeping service 6 days a week, bathrobes, full linens and towels and fully equipped kitchens including dishwashers and microwaves, full stove/oven and fridges. We also have an onsite villa manager dedicated to our guests staying in our apartments and available to assist with queries, restaurant reservations, car hire or any other concierge service that is required.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Glitter Bay and that you have recommended the property - it does have one of the best beaches on the west coast of Barbados and is ideally located close to Holetown. Hope you will be back soon!
Best regards,
Marilil Troulan
Barbados Villa Services/Glitter Bay Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Oh my gosh! We just returned from an 8 day stay at Glitter Bay #109. The whole place is just amazing. We had two couples that stayed at #109. We all 4 have cruised to Barbados a few times and fell in love with the island on our first visit. On our 1st cruise we took a jeep safari with "Island Safari". Our drivers name was Ralph White and he made our experience so much fun. We kept in touch with Ralph over the years and when we have been back we have looked him up. He told us we should come back sometime and stay for longer than a day, that his sister had a place where we could stay. So this year the 4 of us decided we had time off this June and that we were going to make it happen. We contacted Marilil (Ralph's sister) she is also with Barbados Villa Services. She was terrific and helped us make it happen. Boy are we glad we did!!!! This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had. The apartment was very nice and had everything we needed. Our maid Charmain took great care of us. The grounds are beautiful. Duncan and his staff keep the grounds looking so nice. We enjoyed chatting with all the staff. Duncan, Brian & Rocky were always so nice and very helpful. Everyone was so pleasant. The time we were there was what they consider slow time. For us the slow time was just what we needed. We loved the pool. The beach was wonderful. They even had beach chairs and umbrellas for us. They were ready for us every day. We walked the beach at least 2 or 3 times a day. We enjoyed the monkeys. They were right there in our backyard!! We all have a new appreciation for the sea turtle. We were privileged to get to watch at least 7 to 8 Momma turtles come up on the beach to nest. We enjoyed visiting with the people from the Sea Turtle Project when they were on the beach. We even got to see baby turtles that hatched out right there on the Glitter Bay beach. WOW!!! This experience was new for all of us and one we will not soon forget. Do we want to go back? We are counting the days till hopefully we could make it all happen again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soluckytolivehere, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others of your experience at Glitter Bay 109 and our service at Barbados Villa Services! This is much appreciated.

Believe it or not the turtles are still coming in to lay their eggs and we have had several hatchings and this is always an amazing sight to watch these little turtles heading into the sea!

We look forward to your next visit to Barbados and of course to Glitter Bay!

Marilil & Joe Troulan
Barbados Villa Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We recently returned from a week stay at Glitter Bay, and it was an absolute joy. Working with Barbados Villa Services was an easy and pleasant experience--they handeld everything so seemingly effortlessly. Thanks Marilil! And the on-the-grounds staff were warm, pleasant and very accomodating. Thanks to Duncan and his crew. I don't think the location of Glitter Bay can be beat. It's situated on a mile-long stretch of a beautifully wide and peaceful beach. It's adjacent to the Fairmont and the Lone Star but aside from that the beach, at least in the summer months, is quiet and all to yourself! The water is gin-clear and great for relaxing or snorkeling. When facing the sea, snorkel both to the left of the vills and to the right of the villas (at the piers by the Fairmont). The sea is the perfect tempeturate and just the right amount of calm waves. You can easily swim out to the sea turtles in front of the Lone Star, whereas others from different parts of the island need to boat to get there. Juju's, Lone Star and Ramshackles are all a 400-500 meter serene walk along the beach, and I recommend trying all three out. Don't overlook the beach bar at Glitter Bay, though, and try the gelato! I travelled with my wife and two kids (ages 7 and 11). They all loved it, too. The pool (depth is 4 ft) was perfect, and there is a nice sized wading pool for younger kinds (depth is 29 inches) In the evening, we'd walk the Giltter Bay grounds (probably 5-7 acres!) looking for crabs and frogs (bring a flashlight/headlamp for your kids!) In the morning and early evening you can see monkeys strolling the grounds as well. The unit was perfect for our needs as well. Two spacious bedrooms and nice bathrooms to go along with them. The signature piece of the unit is the wonderfully-sized patio. We spent most of our waking hours that we were in the apartment out on the patio. We received excellent daily maid service through Barbados Villa Services and that was much appreciated. Coming from the States, it was great to see a mixture of British and Canadian travellers, too. We liked the cultural diversity afforded through visiting Barbados and Glitter Bay. We're already thinking about our return trip to Glitter Bay, and we'd certainly use Barbados Villa Services again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soluckytolivehere, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others of your experience at Glitter Bay and our service at Barbados Villa Services! This is much appreciated. BVS has been managing apartments at Glitter Bay since 2001 and we now have 18 apartments in our portfolio.

We agree that the beach is one of the best and everything at your doorstep. The food at JuJu's is always so good - we go there almost every weekend! The turtles are now coming in to lay eggs and there have been several hatchings with the little turtles making their way back to the ocean. Female turtles always come back to the spot where they were hatched to lay their eggs!

We look forward to your next visit to Barbados and of course to Glitter Bay!

Marilil & Joe Troulan
Barbados Villa Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our Daughter's Wedding was at Glitter Bay Suites. The staff at Glitter Bay Suites were so excited to be hosting their wedding. Before we arrived, Marilil took care of all our requests and provided support with rental cars and taxies. Every staff member, from the groundsmen to the Bartenders were involved in making the preparations perfect. We stayed at Glitter Bay a week before the wedding. Every day our suite was cleaned perfectly. The staff set up assigned chairs on the beach that were our chairs for our complete stay. Security was excellent. We always felt very safe, as no one can enter without the Security Guard allowing them in. Security is 24 hours a day. The beach is unbelievable beautiful (sand & water) in front of Glitter Bay. You can snorkel for San Dollars as much as you like, bask in the sun, walk up and down the beach to have lunch and dinner at other places in your swim suit or at night in something nice. Just carry your sandals and wash your feet when you reach a restaurant. The people of Barbados are very nice and welcoming everywhere you go. We had rented a car but we really didn't need to. We could have taken a cab from the airport. To go shopping in Holetown and Bridgetown, you can do like the locals do and ride on the yellow buses. We did this for the experience and all was great. It's $1 to ride each way or to each destination. You can't beat this price. Eating out in Barbados is expensive and groceries are expensive. The grill at Glitter Bay is reasonable and a little grill a few yards up the beach called Ju Ju's is reasonable. I recommend both for good food. I recommend the Lone Star Restaurant for a nice dinner, which is also walking distance on the beach. It is pricey but very good. For a really out of this world experience, take a cab to The Cliff restaurant. It's the most beautiful place I have ever seen. There is a concierge on site at Glitter Bay that can make reservations for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandasuemomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soluckytolivehere, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for posting your review! This is always appreciated and we are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at Glitter Bay 109 and with the service we provided at Barbados Villa Services - it was our great pleasure to meet you and that your daughter's wedding day was everything that you expected.

We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Barbados and of course to Glitter Bay.

Marilil & Joe Troulan
Barbados Villa Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.6 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
446 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
624 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glitter Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glitter Bay Suites

Address: Porters | St James, Porters BB24017, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Porters
Price Range: £170 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glitter Bay Suites operated by Barbados Villa Services comprise of the following apartments 101, 103, 105/106, 109, 113, 204, 206, 211, 213, 302, 307, 310, 312, 313 on the west coast of Barbados. These apartments are all individually furnished, fully self contained, air conditioning throughout and all have internet TV and ADSL wireless connection. The units are spacious and well maintained and we provide hotel style maid service 6 days per week. One of the best beaches on the west coast, 5 minutes away from Holetown. The facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, large fresh water swimming pool, fresh water wading pool, children's playground, bar facility from 11 a.M. To sunset with cable TV, 24/7 security, fitness room with cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glitter Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glitter Bay Suites Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing