We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porters
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lone Star Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

An absolutely superb evening from the moment you descend into the restaurant as you are made to feel very welcome indeed. We tried cocktails at the bar to start and then followed an excellent three courses, my lobster risotto was to die for and as for my chocolate soufflé well it was almost as good as one I had at Le Gavroche a few years back..the restaurant has a lovely feel,a great atmosphere and the staff were fantastic...and of course a superb view..can't wait to go back....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Phillicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you like London's class restaurants you will just love this. A menu that embarrasses for choice and has lots you want to eat. Went yesterday and already we want to go back tomorrow. Not only a superb meal but great service and a welcome that makes you believe you are their only customer. Their service team are a delight from when you arrive in the car park to when they say au revoir.
Try their Lone Star specials. Get there before dark and enjoy the best beach views. Ask for a table at the front. Highly recommended. We think the Lone Star is the best restaurant of the Barbados West Coast

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank crosshousemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Wow what a place,mince staff, the owner is a real gent, nice relaxed atmosphere. You have to go to this Resturant. Don't miss it out.
The menu, wine list are all perfect, something for everyone. Located on the beach has a great ambiance, nice relaxed feeling about this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank vilamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I've visited lots of hotels In Barbados, yes private beach, gold taps, exclusive this....bla bla bla been there done that, but one little gem stands out in Mount Standfast, The Lone Star. Its barefoot elegance at its best from the teak floors to the full length mirrors on the beach. Why can't we stay in a converted garage, our friends turned their noises up when we told them, more fool them! Wonderful service, not stuffy, and no attitude like some of the resort hotels were your just another guest. At the Lone Star your part of the family, discreetly of course.

Room Tip: The Hotel is very small the rooms are all individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have been coming to this paradise island for 20 years but never stayed at the Lone Star so this time I thought i'd give it a whirl. The place has been bought and refurbished (to a very high standard) and is under new management . Saddly the place has come in for some bad press since the new owners have taken the rains but I would like to put the record straight. I have stayed in the hotel all this week and eaten, breakfast, Lunch and dinner throughout the week and have enjoyed every experiance immensely, the staff have been great, very helpfull and obliging and nothing has been to much trouble. The teething problems they had at the beggining are clearly sorted now so please if your coming to the island give them a chance you wont be dissapointed. Mike O'Neill from East Yorkshire

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms at the moment all facing onto the carribean. they are great the owners are op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Great location and average food with incredibly slow service. Even after asking for bread it took 15-20 mins to show up.

Pretty fancy crowd on display make people watching a way of passing the time.

Tuna tartare and beef carpaccio were solid starters. Fish and chips is ok as a main. Didn't try dessert.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MaxBethune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Table booked for 9:00. Arrived early. Checked in with the person at the top of the stairs and the person at the bottom of the stairs and the bar waiter ( job creation scheme?).

9:00 told our table would be ready soon. 9:15 became aware of unrest around us: people booked for 8:30 and not yet seated. Asked really how long our table would be and seated immediately.

Waiter excellent.

Food: bland. That's it except not worth the cost even by west coast standards.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DuncanAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
3.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Boutique Hotel

Address: Mount Standfast | St. James, Porters, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: £265 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lone Star boasts a distinctive boutique hotel offering a sophisticated yet comfortable retreat. Comprising of 2 penthouses, Cadillac & Lincoln, 2 ocean front suites, Buick and Studebaker, 2 deluxe garden rooms, Shelby & Corvette. The Shelby and Corvette, each named in honour of an automobile legend, have recently been renovated to the highest standard. Cadillac, Buick and Studebaker are spacious rooms combining polished mahogany floors, 4 poster beds and sumptuous fabrics exuding simple elegance. Each features a private terrace with uninterrupted views of the turquoise ocean. Corvette and Shelby are situated in the coral stone Beach house. Beautifully restored and upgraded featuring garden terraces and glimpses of the ocean. Both rooms have direct access to the beach. Lone star is less a hotel and more your very own Caribbean respite where our own staff will cater to your every need! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lone Star
Lone Star Boutique Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing