We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naniki

Naniki
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Sunday buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

This was our second time to this hidden gem. Great local food and what an incredible view of the Atlantic. Staff are incredibly friendly and you won't leave hungry. Hard to find so make sure you follow the signs. Not a place to go if you only like the type of restaurants in the Holetown area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Letherfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
554 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Amazing views in a tropical paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Well it took me 4 years to find this retreat but finally i made it. Just so difficult to find. The signs need to be replaced and new signs put up especially. When you arrive as you are not sure if it is a house at a dead end or what.... The resturant needs some new table mats and cushions,plus new cutlery but the views up in the hills of st.joseph are breathtaking. The owner tom hinds a ver shrewd gent has built 10 bungalows in the grounds for rental and has plans for further business ventures. The service is slow and you are not given a menu and although the food is buffet style you have to ask what is inside the stainless steel containers, and you will then be served. The food is typically bajan which is tasty but you are not made to feel very welcome which is a shame. There are jazz sessions sundays but the staff were not sure when i asked. With a bit more organization and improvements it could be a great restaurant

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect experience once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I visited Naniki again twice in February and both times it was just as wonderful as the last. Great staff, fantastic cooking and breathtaking views!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Another great meal at Naniki, and the setting is just as relaxing and amazing as always. After seven years visiting the island this is still the best Bajan food at any island restaurant. The services is always top notch as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

First and foremost, the restaurant is not nearly as nice as the ad would have you believe.

However, since we were in the neighborhood we decided to stop by for lunch. It is a bit of a tricky drive to get there but the views are very nice once you get there.
The property consists of about 9-10 bungalows in a well manicured lanscaped area and a main building. The restaurant is located in the main building.

Once we sat down it too a while for the service to get started, but I guess when you are on Island Time its to be expected. The biggest complaint that I have was that of all the items on the menu about 20 or so they only had 4 available. None of the fish on the menu were available so it started off bad right from the get go. Forced to make a different decision I went with the Jerk Chicken.
Once it finally made its way to the table it was really delicious, certainly the best jerk chicken that I ever had. For dessert I had the bread pudding which was OK but nothing special.

Overall the food is excellent, the views magnificent but the fact that they run out of food is a big minus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naniki also viewed

Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 
Belleplaine, Saint Andrew Parish
New Castle, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Naniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing