We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence la Transhumance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We, a family of 2 adults with 2 children enjoyed our (short) stay at this hotel. We booked it actually only because another, already existing hotel couldn't be extended to a longer stay, so we used this hotel as "prequel" to our actual other hotel stay.

The room was very nice, quite large, and considering we booked only 3 days before arriving (in July 2012), the rates were reasonnable too. We arrived by car, and were surprised that the navigations system guided us into a commercial zone of St. Martin de Crau. Once you are in the hotel court, you however already forgot about that, since the hotel itself and its setup is an island of peace and cleanliness. Arles and Les Baux de Provence is just a stone-throw away, maybe a quarter hours drive. We also went to visit the Camargue, which is also very close.

The pool is a giant, inflatable one, and the kids loved it, and it has a decent depth. The rooms are around a middle square court, which is very nicely decorated with lavender and other mediterran plants, with an old fountain, benches, rocks and columns. Someone with a love to details made that, and made it nicely. The breakfast was good, and very fair priced. Very welcoming and caring staff. Will definitely come back one day to this hotel, next time maybe even a bit longer.

Room Tip: rooms are around a courtyard, so they are probably all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

We are a family of four, two children (13 and 8)-we spent two nights at this hotel. We stayed on a self catering basis. Is has appartments surrounding a central courtyard-which are spaceous and extremely well maintained and decorated. A double bedroom and a lounge/dining/kitchen area with a very comfortable double bed sofa. Each appartment has its own patio with sun lounger and patio set and its own access to the gardens. The kitchen was well equipped with hob, combi-microwave oven, fridge etc. There was effective air conditioning in the lounge and bedrooms and had electric window shutters.
The owners were very welcoming and english speaking.
The gardens and the central courtyard were very interesting and well mantained containing fruit trees (figs, olives, pears etc) , aubergines etc.
The swimming pool was an sunken inflatable pool but was very clean and was covered each night at sunset.There were showers by the pool.
It is between Intermarche and Lidl (but the walls and hedges around it block out any noise) and is close to junction 11 of the A54.
I would not hesitate in booking this hotel again and will be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 7 is in the corner and is sheltered from the sun and so is a bit cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 441Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transhumance13, Responsable réception at Hotel Residence la Transhumance, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank's a lot for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We loved everything about our stay in this hotel. Spotlessly clean and very large rooms with kitchen corner, bedroom and livingroom were more than fully equiped and very nicely decorated. Staff is very friendly and English speaking. Breakfasts are also good. I especially liked white opaque courtyard with huge lavender flowers and swimming pool area.
As the hotel is located in a commercial zone near to highway exit, it is perfect as a base for everyday trips around Provence (not for a "holiday in a hotel").
Having travelled with little children we didn´t have any problems with noise there, but missed a bit some small restaurant or at least a bar directly in a hotel (they only serve some food to your room on request).
Generally, we definitelly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Very welcoming staff, nicely decorated appartments, big rooms and terraces, clean and quiet, with free Wi-fi and a nice (although inlatable) pool. Good location - easy to find and perfectly located for exploration of nearby cities in Provence and Camargue (Arles is just minutes away). You even get a fully equiped kitchen (except dishwasher) and a supermarket at doorstep to fill the fridge or buy breakfast. Free private and secured parking is another plus. A little minus: there is a noisy main street and supermarket parking lot nearby so ask for a room that does not face the main road if you would rather have more peace and quiet. Truly a pleasant stay at a very moderate price. Definetely coming back, possibly in low season ;)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmaja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Hotel Residence de la Transhumance. We were checked in efficiently by a delightful and very helpful young lady who spoke quite good English. The proprietor was later on duty and he also proved to be very friendly and helpful, speaking good English as well.

We had a large and spacious unit, with very good kitchen facilities and an excellent bathroom. Our room was very clean. Ample secure car parking was provided on site. There are two supermarkets adjacent, but the hotel was generally very quiet.

The hotel is on the outskirts of the nice village of St Martin De Crau. The village has a number of eating places, although with the in room facilities we did not try many of them.

If you have a car, St Martin De Crau is a very handy base for exploring Arles, Avignon, Aix, Aigues Morte etc.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Welcoming owner who speaks excellent english as well as his daughter. Air conditioned room. Safe secure parking. Spotless apartments with good kitchen. Patio with table, 4 chairs and a sun lounger. Within an industrial estate but you would not know once inside the complex so not a negative comment. Excellent pool especially for the children as very safe and not too deep with inflateble sides and no tiles on the floor of the pool.

St Martin de Crau onlly 2 minute drive and a quaint village with bars/restaurants. Super U, Lidl (right next door), Intermarche (all supermarkets). We had a meal on Saturday evening at the Hotel/restaurant as you come into the village on the left and the food was good value but no english speakers there so struggled a bit with the menu and I ended up with Bull Kebab which was very nice actually. The main street did seem to be a road for the locals to cruise up and down on the evening with loud music which was a bit uncomfortable with the children.

Visit to Arles only 10 - 15 minutes away as very close to motorway and well worth the trip due to the history of the city with Van Gogh, the Collaseum, Amphitheatre and numerous squares with a huge variety of eating places.

Overall I would have to say the La transhumance is an ideal place to stay and was a welcome stopover for us for 2 days. I have no negatives on the complex and found it extremely excellent value for money.

10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safcmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GEET63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-de-Crau
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Martin de Crau Porte de Camargue
Ibis Budget Saint Martin de Crau...
#1 of 3 in Saint-Martin-de-Crau
138 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#1 of 5 in Cavaillon
319 reviews
3 mi away
Coste Haute
Coste Haute
#2 of 5 in Saint-Martin-de-Crau
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Camping de la Chapelette
Camping de la Chapelette
#2 of 5 in Saint-Martin-de-Crau
19 reviews
0 mi away
Mas Les Piboules
Mas Les Piboules
#4 of 5 in Saint-Martin-de-Crau
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence la Transhumance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence la Transhumance

Address: 11 rue de la Transhumance, 13310 Saint-Martin-de-Crau, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Martin-de-Crau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Martin-de-Crau
Price Range: £77 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Alpilles, Camargue and Cote Bleu, Hotel Residence de la Transhumance is ideally located in the heart of the largest tourist region of France, Provence. Immediately near the biggest basin of economic activity of the South East, Hotel is only 15 minutes from the large industrial complexes of Fos Sur Mer, the XXL Grand Port Autonome of Marseille, the economic basins of Arles, Miramas, and Salon de Provence. With very easy access, it is only 30 minutes from Marseille Provence Airport, 20 minutes from Nimes Garons airport and with direct access to the A54 motorway, the Hotel is exceptionally well placed for both tourism and business needs. A closed and free car park is at our Guests disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Residence la Transhumance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence La Transhumance Saint-Martin-De-Crau, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing