We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$177
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariela Hotel Apartments(Polis)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renos Complex Tourist Apartments(Polis)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nicki Holiday Resort Polis(Polis)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
305
171
82
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
171
82
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing roomrelaxing weekendorange grovesperfect place to relaxayii anargyristandard roomhalloumihalf boardbreakfast and dinnerthe hotel offerscouple of nightspaphos airporthire caryogurtsulphur poolsnatural healingconverted monastery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I arrived at Ayii Anargyri spa at the end of January with high expectations. The online photos looked inviting, and we'd heard one person we knew sing its praises.

So we were really quite take aback at the cold, dry welcome! Firstly, the heating seemed to be turned off when we arrived during the day, and we were shivering even though we both had a pair of jeans and a jumper on. The restored Cypriot monastery is located up in the hills of Miliou, so we found it was much colder than being at sea level. As we huddled together on the sofa to fill in our registration form, we were given a cold, refreshing drink!

We felt that the receptionist on duty wasn't at all helpful, considering that the hotel was empty! Instead of accompanying us to our room to make sure we were happy, we were given a terse smile along with our room key, and unceremoniously told to check ourselves in. Not your ideal welcome!

When we eventually found our standard room, we were less than impressed. It was even colder than the lobby, and we struggled to locate the heating control panel, all the time feeling we had made a mistake... the room felt rather claustrophobic, and we felt the photos definitely looked better online!

We immediately went back downstairs to ask for a bigger room, and we also asked that a member of staff accompany us to help check us in. We were offered a small discount on a bigger room, which had a decent sized sofa to chill out, which we happily took. It was much more inviting! I don't recommend the standard, especially in Winter when you would naturally spend more time indoors. It would be okay from Spring onwards, as you would be able to spend more time outdoors.

We found that the showers in the bathrooms of the main building were oddly built - that is to say they all had 'hand held' showers where the shower-head sat only at waist height on the wall. We were told that it was due to structural problems... seriously? If you can put a shower in the bathroom, it doesn't make sense that it only goes halfway up the wall!

Throughout our stay, we found the staff in the restaurants to be friendly and attentive to our needs, whether we ate in the 'old bar' (which was warm and inviting with its cosy fireplace!), the main restaurant 'Amaroula', or the upmarket CAVA restaurant. This felt much more positive!

We found the lunch and dinner menus to be varied, but not extensive enough; however the high quality of the ingredients was self-evident, and everything was prepared beautifully. Occasionally, we were kept waiting longer than expected, so the service could have been sharper! When ordering food, especially desserts, be aware that the Cypriots have some strange ideas when trying to be 'inventive' in the kitchen, like adding regular jam to a New York style cheesecake or apple pie etc... just be aware and check what the ingredients are in advance.

Our main gripe, once again, was that the heating wasn't turned on when we appeared for breakfast each day; it was freezing cold... and it seemed like they were trying to save money because they only turned it on when we asked!

The Spa was disappointing for us. As one other reviewer here has pointed out, the resort's current policy of trying to upsell their services, rather than genuinely trying to help guests have a relaxing, nourishing time, is a complete turn-off. When we asked about trying the bubbling spring water, we were told it would cost €15 per massage pool. No 'try before you buy' offer there! The three pools are chlorinated, so they didn't smell that inviting anyway! For the cost of staying at Ayii Anargyri, we felt that guests should be offered some time in the massage pools for free.

We really enjoyed relaxing by the lovely outdoor pool area when it was sunny and warm enough to do so - especially as the hotel was quiet at the time we booked. The downside was that they allowed other guests to smoke, even though it was also an outdoor dining area. For a health conscious resort, they need to be a lot more strict about smoking on the premises!

The nicest thing for us about Ayii Anargyri was getting to know the food manager, one of the waitresses, and the Chef. These individuals all went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of, as much as possible. They always had smiles on their faces, and genuinely cared about our experience... this made up for the lack of attentiveness when checking in, and whenever we passed by the front desk.

We found our check out experience was a lot better than checking in. One of the managers of the Spa at least gave us a cup of herbal tea, made from fresh, local herbs. The place had, despite its challenges, warmed on us somewhat, so it was good to end on a warm note too.

Ayii Anargyri certainly has the potential to be a quality "5 star" resort but, having been to many other 5 star resorts around the world, it isn't there yet. A lot more attention to detail is presently required, especially in the area of customer service.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room with sofa and chill out space, if available. The standard room felt too small.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi-JaimeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Ayii Anargyri is one of those places that sounds amazing on paper. Restored Cypriot monastery built on a natural hot spring in a secluded valley; who could top that? However, the place needs a few tweaks to realize its promise. Here are a few thoughts:

HOTEL: Very tasteful and elegant. We stayed in one of the old monastery rooms. The furnishings and bed were modern without being ostentatious. The sulphur smell was nonexistent, and it was early summer already at that point. The lobby, pool area, and outside setting is extremely picturesque.

RESTAURANT: Underwhelming. No offense to the Brits on this page, but the food resembled upscale British food from the 1980s; entrees and desserts contains lots of canned veggies and fruits instead of fresh local produce. The menu often seemed oddly out of place, with dishes that bore no connection to the local cuisine. I felt like I could have been on a cruise in Mexico eating from a buffet. Once I saw the elderly British chef stomping around the kitchen, it all made perfect sense. To really make the restaurant better, I recommend a revamped dinner menu that embraces the farm-to-table movement with native Cypriot produce, especially citrus, watermelon, herbs, local vegetables, local meat and dairy (haloumi!!) to make native dishes. I didn't come to Cyprus to eat fruit cocktail for dessert.

SPA: They do seem to nickel-and-dime you for services. Prepare to be upsold for anything worthwhile, including spending any meaningful time in the bubbling spring water. For the cost of the lodgings, spending time in the water should be free to hotel guests.

STAFF: The lobby staff was mostly friendly and welcoming. Restaurant staff was hit or miss. The spa staff was mostly friendly. The yoga teacher, Claire, was absolutely amazing. The maid staff did a good job cleaning up the room.

CLEANLINESS: No issues there. The place was spotless.

RED FLAGS: Stay away if there's a wedding planned. The place gets extremely loud; it's difficult to avoid the noise even in your room with the windows closed. Also, don't get your clothes cleaned through their laundry service; you'll pay 100 euros for a few days worth of clothes and most likely everything will smell like cigarettes and mildew.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old monastery at the end of the corridor, away from the pool (noisy!).
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eurobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The spa is set in a beautiful location in Miliou Pafos and we visited in February. The way the bungalows are set out it is more suited to the summer months and not for Winter as you have to go out to the bungalows which is not very nice when you have been sat by the fire.
The spa treatment we had was ok (nothing fantastic) and the staff were not very good at explaining what we should do and what we were to expect as first time visitors. The changing rooms were also not what we expected as there was no actual changing area but you had to use the loos which was not ideal.
The restaurant staff were helpful and tried their best give good service. Food was satisfactory although the wine menu was very very overpriced with the cheapest wine around 25 Euro (for a 5 Euro bottle of wine).
The bar prices wee also overpriced with around of drinks costing over 35 Euro.
Overall the experience was ok but no wow factor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tasos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Everything you should expect from a healing spa resort. Although the pool area was a bit crowded everything else made you feel calm and relaxing from the rooms to the spa. The best thing was the food! A variety of cuisines, i have tried everything from the breakfast, to the steaks, to the sushi, everything was of 5 star quality! I would visit again for the food alone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Please note this review is aimed at people who are considering this as a wedding venue. I have no experience of the services in the hotel or the food.
We went there to discuss options for a wedding (for quite a large number of guests). The venue is beautiful, full of greenery, orange trees and lovely traditional architecture. The event coordinator lady showed us the area for ceremony. It looked a lot smaller than on the pictures and nowhere on the website or the pictures you can see that at the back of the small square there are actually hotel rooms, so during your ceremony there can be people popping in and out of their rooms (unless all of your guests stay in this hotel). There is also a hefty charge of around 680 eur if you want a religious ceremony. The after ceremony drinks can be held in lobby bar or the area by the pool. Please note that you have to pay venue rental fee for each area that you use, doesn't matter that they are 2 meters from each other. So around 250eur for the chapel and square, 100 eur for the after ceremony drinks area (by the pool) and another 250eur for the area next to the pool for reception. These prices include set up of chairs and tables.
When I went to discuss the food menu and drinks packages, there was absolutely no room for negotiation. Not just that, but no discounts at all for booking in off-peak times and almost a year and a half ahead! In addition, the event coordinator didn't seem too interested in trying to actually convince us to have the wedding there. There was no information given to us other than what we asked. They have 3 different options for buffet menu, but all prices at 49eur and when we asked for cheaper options we didn't get far. Take it or leave was the message we got from this place. Fair enough they consider themselves luxury resort but arrogance is the only feeling we got from this place.
There are many lovely places in Cyprus to get married and with the attitude of "take it or leave it" I don't believe they will get far (even though they claim to be fully booked every year). Such a disappointment as we had high hopes for this place. I don't mean to be cheap, I would happily pay reasonable price, but not for a place with such arrogant attitude.
My recommendation for everyone considering this as wedding venue - if you are not prepared to pay the prices they ask and accommodate all wedding guests in the same venue for some sense of privacy, just forget about it, you'll be wasting your time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyiiAnargyriPaphos, Guest Relations Manager at Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Ms Lucia R,

We have had many weddings to our resort and all couples and their guests were more than satisfied. We are very sorry we didn't reach your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews