We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spitzingsee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spectacular location. Rooms overlook lake and sourrounding mountains.
Lots of activities available no matter if summer or winter.
Possibilities from business conference to family vacations. Great food. Breakfast buffet is lovely.
Pool and wellness center!
Staff a bit stiff; appears slightly arrogant; could be more genuine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, General Manager at Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sybille, many thanks for your positive rating - we are happy about that. Thanks also for your hint on employee friendliness - we'll follow up on that. In hope you will return one day to our hotel - best regards & greetings from all team members, Yours Peter_K./ GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel is amidst a naturally beautiful landscape. Equipped with all 5-star facilities and a reasonably good spa.
Surprisingly though, service attitude in staff is average. Needs a bit grooming.
Restaurant, rooms, pool, gym.. All very good and well kept... However, customer orientation in staff needs grooming.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Hardevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, General Manager at Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear hardevi, thanks a lot for your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad you were pleased at your last stay. What a shame however, you were not satisfied with our service orientation. Most of the time, we get especially high ratings on that point. It would be very helpful to us, you could describe the situation more detailed, so that we can follow up on it as well. Nevertheless, we hope we can meet you again one day here at Lake Spitzingsee. Once again – many thanks & best regards, Yours, Peter_K./ GM & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Solid 4 star experience. If you are traveling with infants, be aware that rooms in the main building have no elevator. That means several flights of stairs with strollers, luggage etc if your room is on a higher floor. Rooms are nice, mattresses so so. King bed does not exist, it means to twins side by side with a big crack in the middle (probably due to very catholic customs in Bavaria :-)). Very nice restaurant with great food. Great pool, sauna & wellness center with lake view. Internet access: unsatisfactory. Reason: no option for longer duration wifi access package. One needs to purchase a coupon with access code for maximum of 24 hours for. 9 Euro.(allows 2 devices). Have been kicked off many timed and forced to re log in using the code. If you have 2 iPhones , iPad and laptop you better decide which device gets wifi and which does not. Compared to access fees in 5 star hotels in Munich where most hotels start to include wifi access in room fees, this leaves a lot to be desired. Why not charge 20 Euro more for the room and include wifi access for 3-4 devices per room. I would not mind and it saves the hassle of running to the reception desk, buying a coupon, entering codes, re- enter ten times after you are being kicked-off.....where is the hidden camera? Convenience, please! Would love to pay for it, seriously! Please also help hotel guests with their luggage, even if they have already paid up and leaving the hotel. A little gesture that would result in more return customers.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jochen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, General Manager at Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Jochen,
thanks a lot for your evaluation of our hotel services at tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, even with some shortcomings. Your proposal for a wifi-package-rate we have implemented already - guests can choose also a 5-day-wifi-access for € 25,-. We hope to see you again soon, next time with better conditions for a perfect holiday stay at our resort. Greetings from all team members, Yours, Peter_K./ GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Beautiful location for a nice hotel with very polite and proactive service. The food is very delicious and worth angry, same applies for the large breakfast buffet.m
The rooms are quiet and have a very nice lake view. The location offers various leisure activities in the open air for nature lovers and trekking fans, in winter even for snow and skiing fans. The hotel offers an extensive spa facility that I was not able to test, but maybe the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andie6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, General Manager at Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Andie, lots of thanks for your review - nice that you had a good time and yes, we are looking forward seeing you again soon, hopefully. Until then, take care and best regards from all of us, Yours Peter_K./ GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was in the hotel 2 days/nights also enjoining the restaurant and Everything was perfect: the service, the food, the atmosphere, the location.....
I will come back here with my family, and I recommend you this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiacomoR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great position next to lake and mountains, rooms were superb and just what I imagined.
Gym, pool and spa set up was suburb overlooking the lake.
Great areas to run, walk or hike, at your doorstep.
Ask for a room with a lake view and balcony, grap a bootleg of red, sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolute luxury, worth getting lake view. Had the most amazing back and foot massage. Great buffet breakfast although not all restaurant staff spoke English. Sven in the bar is a great hospitality staff member and a credit to your hotel - well done Sven ! And loved the health spa, heated pools and different saunas, even au natural didn't seem too daunting. Would definitely stay more than 2 nights here again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RachelPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spitzingsee
7.1 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
467 reviews
5.6 mi away
Karma Bavaria
Karma Bavaria
#1 of 6 in Schliersee
569 reviews
6.5 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
#4 of 6 in Schliersee
158 reviews
7.2 mi away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
158 reviews
6.6 mi away
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
#3 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee

Address: Seeweg 7, 83727 Spitzingsee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Spitzingsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spitzingsee
Price Range: £152 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. Will re-open on 05/05/2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabellasheraton Alpenhotel Hotel Spitzingsee
Arabellasheraton Alpenhotel Schliersee
Arabellasheraton Alpenhotel Hotel Schliersee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing