We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sushi Locally”
Review of Sumo fresh

Sumo fresh
Reserve with OpenTable
Sumo fresh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Redbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialising in Japanese cuisine, Sumo Fresh is the perfect venue for lunch or dinner, the ambiance is warm and inviting and the food served is the freshest quality Japanese cuisine you will find, situated in the heart of Wanstead. Our Executive Head Chef, has over 15 years experience in the art of sushi preparation. Experience the very best Japanese Rice wines, Sake and traditional Japanese dishes. At Sumo Fresh you can also relax at our cocktail bar, where you can watch the skills of our top Sushi Chef's, who combine cookery with artwork. Sumo Fresh can cater for all sizes and styles of parties. Whatever your request may be, we are certain to provide you with the best quality and service to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves expert cuts of sushi, maki and sashimi along with a selection of hot dishes and is open throughout the day.
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

My brother in law and sister introduced me to this place 2 years ago. Since then myself and my mrs are hooked.

It is suitably family friendly or for couples dining. Plain and simple they offer a good range of colourful sushi. Never a bad experience at this establishment.

Their katsu curry is very filling & upto par. In addition i recommend their black cod.

You want good sushi in east london/essex region then sumo fresh is ideal.

Thank Khurram_Beg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Khurram_Beg

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review, we really do appreciate it :-)

We are delighted that you always have a great time with us !

Regards
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Called here on a busy Friday evening and the place was full and noisy as a result. We were quickly shown to our table by a very friendly waitress who provided us with our menus and left us to peruse. She returned promptly for our drinks order but when we were asking her for more information on certain entries on the menu we soon realised that her English wasn’t strong. Drinks were eventually ordered and promptly arrived.

Unfortunately her language ability made choosing the main meals difficult with us unable to request further details of the more unusual items on the menu so we stuck with the more familiar dishes.

Unfortunately when the starters arrived it was short of one of the dishes we had ordered two of and when we asked if we could get another we were told it would take too long as the main would be ready by then.

The food itself was very tasty and enjoyable but nothing exciting and I have had better at other Japanese restaurants. It was however value for money with nothing over priced.

Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear MWH_62

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your feedback.

We were indeed training a number of people during the summer and I'm sure you will see a big differences in service if you visit us again.

Thanks
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I found the atmosphere charming, but simple. Very good service, but mostly,... The food was great!!!
My partner insisted to bring me there, and wow, I understand why!!

PS : keep some space to try the new Dorayaki, with some Mochi! You can feel it's homemade dessert !

Thank Blue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Blue L

Thank you for your great review and top rating.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We visited Sumo Fresh last Saturday with another couple and was one again impressed by the quality of the food. The atmosphere was great and the prices reasonable. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Joshua P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your top rating, we really do appreciate it.

Thanks
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Arranged a birthday dinner for 13 friends and was so impressed with how well organised it was. We decided on a set menu which gave us plenty of sharing starters, a main course choice and pudding. The manager was so kind and rang to check that I was happy with the menu and if I wanted to make any changes. On the night we were looked after by all staff with efficient service. We were all so impressed with the food and the quantity that we got. Thank you for making Jons 30th birthday so special!

2  Thank Mickey2013Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Mickey2013Mag

We are delighted that you had a great birthday with us and thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Happy birthday to Jon and we look forward to welcoming you guys back in the near future.

Regards
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo fresh also viewed

Redbridge, Greater London
 
Epping, Essex
London, England
 

Been to Sumo fresh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing