We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi we've had in London”
Review of Sumo fresh

Sumo fresh
Reserve with OpenTable
Sumo fresh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Redbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialising in Japanese cuisine, Sumo Fresh is the perfect venue for lunch or dinner, the ambiance is warm and inviting and the food served is the freshest quality Japanese cuisine you will find, situated in the heart of Wanstead. Our Executive Head Chef, has over 15 years experience in the art of sushi preparation. Experience the very best Japanese Rice wines, Sake and traditional Japanese dishes. At Sumo Fresh you can also relax at our cocktail bar, where you can watch the skills of our top Sushi Chef's, who combine cookery with artwork. Sumo Fresh can cater for all sizes and styles of parties. Whatever your request may be, we are certain to provide you with the best quality and service to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves expert cuts of sushi, maki and sashimi along with a selection of hot dishes and is open throughout the day.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife is a raging sushi snob and even she loves this place. The sushi is fantastic. Freshly made, chunky portions of fish and lovely flavours. We have eaten in and had delivery and we have always been delighted with the service and the food. It's actually quite hard to eat sushi elsewhere in London after having this, because most stuff elsewhere isn't in the same league. Octopus balls highly recommended as a starter. Can't comment on the other stuff on the menu because we haven't had them, but I'd guess they're pretty good!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Timandj

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review, we really do appreciate your comments.

We are simply delighted that you always have a great experience with us and thank you for your loyalty.

Thanks
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Probably some of the freshest tastiest sushi in London , perfectly crispy soft shell crab , tuna is stunning , and the seabass was really tasty , the staff have always really helpful ,
Two words
Stunning Sushi

Thank davidcW7218LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear David C

Two words, Thank you :-)

Really delighted that you had a great lunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Visited last night on my wife's birthday, the place was young and noisy but that didn't matter! The food was terrific. I am a big fan of Japanese food and Sumo Fresh's is as good as anybody's. (Obviously we didn't have everything on the menu), whe had chicken katsu curry, tempura prawns, yuki soba noodles, prawn dumplings and, of course, rice. All really well presented and really, really flavourful. 5 stars for that alone. The staff were friendly and attentive. The cocktails were ok, not the best I've ever had but also not the worst. Very large selection of spirits, (didn't try them all) and the final bill wasn't a killer either. The place is very relaxed, ideal for a visit with friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Charles C

Thank you for your review and we really do appreciate the 5 star rating.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

My brother in law and sister introduced me to this place 2 years ago. Since then myself and my mrs are hooked.

It is suitably family friendly or for couples dining. Plain and simple they offer a good range of colourful sushi. Never a bad experience at this establishment.

Their katsu curry is very filling & upto par. In addition i recommend their black cod.

You want good sushi in east london/essex region then sumo fresh is ideal.

Thank Khurram_Beg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Khurram_Beg

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review, we really do appreciate it :-)

We are delighted that you always have a great time with us !

Regards
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Called here on a busy Friday evening and the place was full and noisy as a result. We were quickly shown to our table by a very friendly waitress who provided us with our menus and left us to peruse. She returned promptly for our drinks order but when we were asking her for more information on certain entries on the menu we soon realised that her English wasn’t strong. Drinks were eventually ordered and promptly arrived.

Unfortunately her language ability made choosing the main meals difficult with us unable to request further details of the more unusual items on the menu so we stuck with the more familiar dishes.

Unfortunately when the starters arrived it was short of one of the dishes we had ordered two of and when we asked if we could get another we were told it would take too long as the main would be ready by then.

The food itself was very tasty and enjoyable but nothing exciting and I have had better at other Japanese restaurants. It was however value for money with nothing over priced.

Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear MWH_62

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your feedback.

We were indeed training a number of people during the summer and I'm sure you will see a big differences in service if you visit us again.

Thanks
Hani
Sumo Fresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo fresh also viewed

Redbridge, Greater London
 
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
 
London, England
Epping, Essex
 

Been to Sumo fresh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing