We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Sciaron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence Sciaron
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

HI remotely situated family run. ace location for A quiet vacation with fabulous views. as before a hick to 2 beaches BUt hotel offers schuttle bus. Quiet in May. All good, food, hotel, cleanlines, helpful. food ok but could be hotter! Beautiful setting with fabulous scenery. But not a lot to do in local area.
But on leaving unable to settle query with bar bill! Charged on 3 nights for double the amount of cocktails. G&T charged as cocktails! mixed charges so diffiuclt to clarify bill charges. Numerous other guests with similar problems. Not sorted By Hotel. Thomas cook rep informed!
Shame a poor end to a nice break! So keep you bill receipts and check your bill!

Room Tip: clarify a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    81
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
58
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel position amazing, rooms small, but very clean. personally, did not rate food. beach's good, but short on facilities, and a fairly arduous hike for a couple of pensioners.
But would warn cashless system of payments in hotel very flawed (unless they have corrected since, if so, commend them), would advice keeping all Bar receipts and record of Dining room drinks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fairly basic rooms but really enjoyed the real italian food.Lots of fresh veg, local fish great pasta etc. Round the back of the hotel there were tomatoes aubergines and peppers growing. The trip toThe Aolian islands was amazing. We booked through the tour operator but would have cost us half the money to book at the local beach. Tropea was lovely to visit. Lovely pool area and beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hc1Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed two weeks in apartement part, with no meals. First impression upon arrival - extremely positive, which lasted until the last day :) Vast area, nicely decorated and illuminated at night, with well mantained plants. Really fine, clean swimming pool, with easily accessible sunbeds and spectacular view all over the coast. Rich entertainment services by animation team (which in general we didn't took advantage of, maybe because it was in Italian). Free access to tennis court, shadowed car park and shuttle bus to the private beach. The hotel beach is next to Eden Village what makes it the most beautiful beach around :) Lots of free sunbeds and umbrellas for the hotel guests. Special thanks to the Ukrainian guy (shame, but we don't know his name...) who took care of all the beach stuff and also was in charge of residence daily maintance. The apartment very functional and what most important - clean and quite new. All kitchen equipment working ok, living areas ok for four people (nice garden with table plus dining room with enough space). We had apartment nr one, with just one neighbours - quiet and peaceful surroundings, no sounds of animation could be heard at night - only cicadas :) About half an hour walk towards nearest railway station (Ricadi) and rent-a-car (Avis).

In summary, we had great time and wonderful italian holidays, with no stress, perfect weather, food and lots of activities! Beautiful beach with crystal clear water, don't forget your swimming, snorkling and beach sport equipment because you will need it there everyday :)

Weak points:
- about 15 min downhill to the beach, but twice this time back uphill... very steep and long way back to the hotel in case the shuttle bus doesn't come
- what unfortunately used to happen...
- in case of self-catering stay own/rented car suggested, due to far distance to any shops/restaurants
- misunderstanding upon checkout with the reception lady, who charged us for linen cleaning, even though it was already paid and written on the voucher. Only because we had a copy of it we could argue and finally got the money back instantly.
- no air conditioning (however we didn't expect one to be)
- water staying on the floor in the bathroom after every shower

Room Tip: Take low room numbers when staying in apartments option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank relax630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Really friendly and helpful staff,wonderful food (yummy fish and pasta!),clean,spacious room,courtesy bus,wonderful beach with excellent chairs and brolleys,all the elements of a really relaxing beach holiday!
We really enjoyed excursions to Taormina and a full day boat trip(150 miles at 22 knots!) visiting the Aeolian islands (Volcano,Lipari,Stromboli etc) which gave us a lok at life outside Tropea.
We have already started to recommend this holiday to friends and family!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view,however oblique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Having struggled to find anywhere we wanted to stay in the Cosmos brochure, we finally settled on the Sciaron. With an early morning flight behind us, we were ready to lay by the pool. On route from Lamezia airport, we were greeted by a mixture of beautiful costal views and a grubby but somewhat charming rural scenery. On arriving at the hotel we were in awe at the stunning view from the pool area and hoped our room would be sea facing. Fortunately this was the case as the other sides of the hotel merely looked over the villa area and car park. Rooms are basic but comfortable and the sea view if you get one makes the hard beds worth it! The staff were extremely friendly but spoke little English so trying to speak a little Italian (picked up along the way) was appreciated. Unless you are half board/all inclusive I would suggest booking the evening trips to places such as Tropea as the hotel is outside of the main town so no real restaurants. Being half board ourselves, we enjoyed the 3 course set menus and buffet- I've never enjoyed hotel food as much! The local area hasn't got much to offer, but for us, a week by the pool with gelato and wine with the odd trip to neighbouring towns, we couldnt have asked for more from our lazy Italian week away!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Becwill84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

On arriving at Hotel Sciaron and after a one and a half hour transfer, the first thing that we had to do was haul our cases up a very steep long drive from the coach, we were then shown to a dark damp smelly room with no view. We refused to stay in it and an hour later were offered a much better room, so this review could have been quite different.
The room we stayed in was clean with plenty of storage a good bathroom and a balcony with a sea view we did however feel a little overlooked by other rooms so not very private.
The restaurant was a not very good we had the same paper table cloth on our table all week, and waiters removed plates from tables while others were still eating.
The daily menu was a bit limited several of us didn’t bother with the main course and just had the first course and filled up on the buffet which was ok. As there are no other restaurants in walking distance we just had to make the best of it.
The pool area and pool were really good, clean with plenty of sun beds and deck chairs, and the view from the pool terrace was stunning.
The Hotel has a private section on the beach with deck chairs and parasols with a complementary mini bus going back and forth at regular intervals. The beach is very good and the sea is lovely warm, clear and clean, however the beach side cafes we used were of a very low standard with grumpy staff, I would not advise trying to use them (it’s also worth saying that nobody here speaks English it all seems set up for Italians & Germans).
The hotel provided mini bus transfers into Tropea for day time or evening visits at a small fee this we found was well worth doing as Tropea is quite interesting. We also got the hotel to take us to the train station again for a small fee this was also worthwhile as the station is too far away to walk.
On reflection I could not recommend this hotel for a holiday unless you are really into just a beach holiday, as there is not much else to do, nowhere to walk to in the evenings, the area immediately around the hotel is quite scruffy as is the area in general, whilst it has it’s good points it is not enough to make us want to go back.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#1 of 2 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Santa Maria
Villaggio Santa Maria
#6 of 48 in Ricadi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#7 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marinella Hotel
Marinella Hotel
#14 of 48 in Ricadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Sciaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Sciaron

Property: Hotel Residence Sciaron
Address: Via Torre Santa Maria | Capo Vaticano, 89866 Santa Maria, Ricadi, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Sciaron 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Sciaron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sciaron Hotel
Hotel Residence Sciaron Italy/Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing