We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Sciaron
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel was quite high up, giving superb views, however going to the local beach could be a trek on the way back up unless you got a lift on the hotel shuttle bus. The rooms were a bit small, with hard beds, but clean and tidy, as was the rest of the hotel and grounds. The food was very good, and on our visit there was plenty of it, with a good choice from the salad bar. We thought the hotel prices were more reasonably priced compared to last years holiday in Tuscany. Not a lot to do in the evenings, there was nowhere to go, ideal for chilling out though. For a three star hotel, we thought it was good value for money. NEWSFLASH on our departure last saturday 23rd June, loudspeakers were connected and tested out, so possibly entertainment was on the cards, this could shatter the quietness, unless this was for you.......it wouldn't be for us, we departed just in time.

Room Tip: If the size of the loudspeakers were anything to go by, if going at the end of June, get a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bykerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    83
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Well! what can I say that has not all ready been mentioned in these reviews.
Bella bella! The views are 100% fantastico, panoramic views across the sea of Sicily.
I agree with a lot of the reviews that have its goods and bads anywhere you go.
Relax, enjoy!
The staff and hotel are fab! food was nice as I expected, but I do have a very fussy teenager... Drinks a bit over priced, down side to going HB, we got to use to AI holidays in the past. (yes keep receipts keep a running total)... but if you have osaved loads on this holiday booking then whats the proble? There is a saying - "there is no such thing as a free lunch"!!!
Other guests ok as passing were polite, German, Swedish, Dutch Italian,
Yes a bit of a hike back up from beach below if you miss the mini bus, but a lovely walk down.
Trips out are ok priced, Stomboli by night fabulous, take a jacket gets a bit chilly. didn't do Sicily ex with cosmos hired a car and went at our own pace.
No evening entertainment until July when season starts.
Beach has restaurant, supermarket, near by, gritty beach and volcano rock visible but a bit slippery, kayak hire €5-10 per hour pedal boats a little more.
Go to Tropea fabulous, train station 2km 25-45 minutes get good directions and check-out times first or book taxi to station or tropea. Designer clothes shops tourist rates... hey your on holiday...loads of restaurants and snacky pizza and bar places.
Wifi at a cost no signal in room, if you are planning to take you tablet or ipad buy a payas you go sim from vodafone.it shop in tropea 5g about 20 euro (oh dont forget to take your passport as the need that I wasn't told so hotel faxed it)...
Overall-I would come back to this hotel / area for the quietness, the breathtaking views, the weather...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InspectorTim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

HI remotely situated family run. ace location for A quiet vacation with fabulous views. as before a hick to 2 beaches BUt hotel offers schuttle bus. Quiet in May. All good, food, hotel, cleanlines, helpful. food ok but could be hotter! Beautiful setting with fabulous scenery. But not a lot to do in local area.
But on leaving unable to settle query with bar bill! Charged on 3 nights for double the amount of cocktails. G&T charged as cocktails! mixed charges so diffiuclt to clarify bill charges. Numerous other guests with similar problems. Not sorted By Hotel. Thomas cook rep informed!
Shame a poor end to a nice break! So keep you bill receipts and check your bill!

Room Tip: clarify a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel position amazing, rooms small, but very clean. personally, did not rate food. beach's good, but short on facilities, and a fairly arduous hike for a couple of pensioners.
But would warn cashless system of payments in hotel very flawed (unless they have corrected since, if so, commend them), would advice keeping all Bar receipts and record of Dining room drinks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fairly basic rooms but really enjoyed the real italian food.Lots of fresh veg, local fish great pasta etc. Round the back of the hotel there were tomatoes aubergines and peppers growing. The trip toThe Aolian islands was amazing. We booked through the tour operator but would have cost us half the money to book at the local beach. Tropea was lovely to visit. Lovely pool area and beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hc1Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed two weeks in apartement part, with no meals. First impression upon arrival - extremely positive, which lasted until the last day :) Vast area, nicely decorated and illuminated at night, with well mantained plants. Really fine, clean swimming pool, with easily accessible sunbeds and spectacular view all over the coast. Rich entertainment services by animation team (which in general we didn't took advantage of, maybe because it was in Italian). Free access to tennis court, shadowed car park and shuttle bus to the private beach. The hotel beach is next to Eden Village what makes it the most beautiful beach around :) Lots of free sunbeds and umbrellas for the hotel guests. Special thanks to the Ukrainian guy (shame, but we don't know his name...) who took care of all the beach stuff and also was in charge of residence daily maintance. The apartment very functional and what most important - clean and quite new. All kitchen equipment working ok, living areas ok for four people (nice garden with table plus dining room with enough space). We had apartment nr one, with just one neighbours - quiet and peaceful surroundings, no sounds of animation could be heard at night - only cicadas :) About half an hour walk towards nearest railway station (Ricadi) and rent-a-car (Avis).

In summary, we had great time and wonderful italian holidays, with no stress, perfect weather, food and lots of activities! Beautiful beach with crystal clear water, don't forget your swimming, snorkling and beach sport equipment because you will need it there everyday :)

Weak points:
- about 15 min downhill to the beach, but twice this time back uphill... very steep and long way back to the hotel in case the shuttle bus doesn't come
- what unfortunately used to happen...
- in case of self-catering stay own/rented car suggested, due to far distance to any shops/restaurants
- misunderstanding upon checkout with the reception lady, who charged us for linen cleaning, even though it was already paid and written on the voucher. Only because we had a copy of it we could argue and finally got the money back instantly.
- no air conditioning (however we didn't expect one to be)
- water staying on the floor in the bathroom after every shower

Room Tip: Take low room numbers when staying in apartments option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank relax630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Really friendly and helpful staff,wonderful food (yummy fish and pasta!),clean,spacious room,courtesy bus,wonderful beach with excellent chairs and brolleys,all the elements of a really relaxing beach holiday!
We really enjoyed excursions to Taormina and a full day boat trip(150 miles at 22 knots!) visiting the Aeolian islands (Volcano,Lipari,Stromboli etc) which gave us a lok at life outside Tropea.
We have already started to recommend this holiday to friends and family!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view,however oblique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#1 of 2 in Santa Maria
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marinella Hotel
Marinella Hotel
#5 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Hotel La Taverna
Residence Hotel La Taverna
#11 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#10 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Sciaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Sciaron

Property: Hotel Residence Sciaron
Address: Via Torre Santa Maria | Capo Vaticano, 89865 Santa Maria, Ricadi, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Sciaron 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Sciaron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sciaron Hotel
Hotel Residence Sciaron Italy/Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing