We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Sciaron.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residence Sciaron
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Sciaron.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 20 Oct for 7 days. Having read the reviews, we were a bit concerned: we needn't have been. It was the end of the 'season' so there were only 24 guests. The hotel was very clean, the restaurant staff friendly & we had the perfect sea view for no extra. Delicious Italian cuisine was served every night, don't expect fish & chips. However, it felt like the beds were acquired from an army barracks: a bit on the hard side. The hotel has noisy plumbing, so when our neighbour went to the toilet or showered, we shared the experience. The hotel has a very strong WiFi signal in & around the building, although establish what this will cost you in advance. Also, make a record of what you have to drink during your stay as the bill is settled on check-out. Apart from a coastal railway 30 mins walk from the hotel, there was no other public transport in the area. This is a 3 star hotel, if you keep this in mind you'll have a great holiday like we did & we'll be back. Whilst in the area, make sure you get over to the Aeolian Islands to see the active volcano of Stromboli erupting at night every 10 to 15 minutes - it's stunning!

Room Tip: We were in room 222 which has an excellent sea view & views to Sicily. There may be a charge for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    81
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
58
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Read trip advisor before went to this hotel and thought what will be will be but I can say that the hotel was very clean and tidy staff very friendly.pool and gardens beautiful and the view is spectactular . The rooms are a little small but perfect for what we needed bathroom compact but clean fresh towels every day .the food is Italian alot of fish and vegetables not to everyone's taste but you are in another country so no egg and chips . The staff are very helpful with free bus to the lovely beach if you make time to get to know where things are and the area around the hotel is not as isolated as people have made out .train station half hour walk train timetable easy to understand and trains on time. Beach half hour walk but very steep incline use free hotel shuttle bus.lighthouse 35 minute walk but well worth it the sun set is a dream and you can get a drink there and the local ice cream .will be going back to this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms on second floor have a little sea view without an extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Came to the hotel sciaron for our honeymoon end of July for two weeks, couldn't fault it, food was superb, staff didn't speak much English but why should they, we are in their country.They looked after us so well and we actually came away speaking some Italian. Owner actually ferried us around to Tropea and train station etc.Paid our drinks bill every day, only one mistake that was trying to charge us for 20 litres of wine instead of two,think maybe could have been a simple error!! would love to go back. By the way, have visited Italy sev eral times over the years,so have a pretty good idea of how it is.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Calabria is hilly and this hotel has one of the finest viewpoints in Italy. Stromboli is hazy in the distance, Sicily looms on the horizon and the blue sea and sandy beaches complete the picture. The Sciaron is run by a courteous family, and (as long as you have your phrase book) will organise and help you. Plenty of aubergines and courgettes and also various other spicy meats and fish. Our room was spotless - the highest room in the hotel. Poolside area well kept. Bar staff and service very good. No issues with final a/c or check out. Thomas Cook rep good. Organised coach trip to Sicily didn't work, but it can be done by train and boat quite easily to Messina. The weather and the two dozen other guests made this holiday a thoroughly enjoyable experience - if you need a peaceful holiday and can walk up steep hills go to the Sciaron.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sadsandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We knew hotel was quite isolated but didnt realise how much so.You really need a car to get around. The hotel itself was very pretty and the pool and gardens were stunning. HOWEVER it s the worst food we ve ever had in Italy and there was no where nearby you could buy anything to eat. Lunchtime snackbar was very limited too. We had wonderful weather thank goodness so enjoyed relaxing. We both went home 3 lbs lighter!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubylito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

View amazing from hotel poolside - even lovely mountain view from garden side room. Off season a very quiet hotel allowing rest and recuperation.
Be aware on package tour the walk from road to reception is a steep driveway and a bit of a surprise after a long day travel with a heavy suitcase.
Staff friendly and happy, food simple and plentiful but somewhat uninspiring - especially breakfast. However able to swap meals for dinner to a very simple pack lunch when out on excursion and staff stayed on to deliver dinner due to late arrival.
Be aware to check what language by which the excursion is supported - can be expensive if paying for a trip out in a language you do not understand.
Beds very hard hence quality of sleep variable, however rooms kept spotless.
Also poolside toilet - be aware there is a step down as you enter the door (lights activated by movement - but not sufficiently in time for me to see the step and had a nasty fall onto a hard marble floor).
Keep all receipts (as always in italy) any discrepancies are amended upon delivery of receipts.

Room Tip: Rooms on garden side quieter, however avoid room near lift as noisy. Not a garden exactly more a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is perched on the hillside overlooking the sea in a very picturesque area but the walk up to the hotel is steep. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly. The room was small but clean but the beds were really hard - we were not the only guests to comment on this. The food was very good, plenty of choice. The local Ciro white wine was good and great value (we didn't try the red). If you run out of reading there is a selection of left behind books - ask at reception.

There is a lovely pool with bar service. There is a charge for the towel for the pool, best take your own if you don't want to pay. Do take mosquito repellant and/or anti-histamine cream. (My sister got very badly bitten.

The beach is lovely and the sea (in September) is warm and there are plenty of deck chairs. The hotel has a shuttle bus to the beach - use this, it is too far to walk in the heat. Locally there are no shops apart from a small mini-market and no local cafes or restaurants as far as we could discover.

Nearby Tropea has plenty of shops and restuarants. The hotel has a shuttle bus to Tropea which costs 10 euros return. The train is cheaper (1 euro) but the station is a 30 to 40 minute walk - too far in the heat. There is no local bus service. There is a good selection of excursions further away such as Stromboli or Sicily but they are pricey.

Overlall, despite some downsides this a lovely place for a relaxing holiday by the pool or beach. We had a week of glorious sunshine, lovely scenery with good food and wine.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#1 of 2 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marinella Hotel
Marinella Hotel
#14 of 48 in Ricadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#1 of 21 in Tropea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Sciaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Sciaron

Property: Hotel Residence Sciaron
Address: Via Torre Santa Maria | Capo Vaticano, 89866 Santa Maria, Ricadi, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Sciaron 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Sciaron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sciaron Hotel
Hotel Residence Sciaron Italy/Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing