We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will turn again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Grotta di Montecchino
Reviewed 9 July 2012

After three years we have been for the second time at this wonderful farmhouse and we were absolutley satisfied and we are even more convinced that we will turn again!
Also our first stay was fantastic, but we were very surprised about the lots of work they have done to make feel people good! Our apartment was fresh painted with nice colours, the mattresses were new and therefore we slept very well! But also outside a lot of news: the access road has been slightly transferred so that it now passes farer from the garden, now even bigger. In the restaurant we had perfect meals and the gentleness of the owner and the personal is still the same,, shortly: we will turn again to relax and to discover other Tuscan towns as soon as possible!
Claudia Steinheim, Heidelberg

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We recently had the misfortune to stay at this pitiful establishment.

It would appear that the owner created this accomodation from old farm outbuildings and the standards applied in renovating them were at best poor and at worst dangerous.

The buildings obviously have a damp problem which was not addressed and is now causing mould and plaster loss throughout the rooms we stayed in. The fridge was rusty and the whole place poorly decorated.

The owner appears to be juggling farming, being a local doctor and this business, so shoudl be able to re-invest in keeping the property up to the standard you would expect when paying 110euros a night. He is not. It appears that the property is just being treated as a cash cow.

The position is lovely and the place could be made very nice with a bit of cash spent.
Until that happens I would not advise going anywhere near it

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viking_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We want to return to La Grotta di Montecchino, but cannot until they purchase new mattresses. We had only one good night of sleep in six. Otherwise, it was beautiful, gorgeous countryside and the quintessential Tuscany experience. We had rustic but cute accommodations and they were very clean. Location was close to Siena and much we wanted to see in the area. Owner very friendly. Pool area breathtaking. We hope they will get those new mattresses and advertise that they have done so!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed the rural aspects of the farmhouse - peaceful, quiet, a comfortable and spacious apartment. La Grotta is well placed to visit a wide range of towns and sights. The owner and Max were most helpful and made us feel very welcome. Max passed on lots of useful information about the local area and which were the best places to visit; he even arranged a personal tour at one of the local wineries!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PamRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

If you are a light sleeper/ annoyed by barking dogs, you may not be comfortable staying here. There seems to be a kennel behind the main group of apartments, and what seemed to be a feeding frenzy erupted at intervals throughout the day. We requested a change in accommodation immediately (absolutely no refunds for our week's booking when we spoke of leaving) and were moved to a larger, brighter, cleaner, apartment near the road that also had hot water (the first did not at the time.) Unfortunately, the area was not canine-free either and we were awakened by barking by two dogs during the night. The owner did offer us a bottle of his own wine and the scenery was amazing, but the overall experience was not the romantic encounter with Tuscany we had hoped for.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Athenabonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mumbai
13
Reviewed 21 February 2006

We were on our honeymoon and this was our first stop in our Europe tour. We booked the apartment online at the last minute and it turned out to be an excellent choice. We enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The landscape was very beautiful and the apartments were clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owner, Tony guided us well as to how to get to the place. We would also like to add a special thanks to the manager, Max. He was a great help in retrieving our luggage from the airlines and was very flexible with the check out time as he realised the seriousness of our situation. He also guided us well about the places around for basic nessecities and also with places to visit in the region. We would definitely love to go back and would highly recommend the place to everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

We stayed at La Grotta di Montecchino for a week and I'm pleased to report that things have very much improved. Tony has now a Manager called Max, who was extremely charming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Our apartment was dark, but people should remember that when it is hot, the apartment will be cool. That is why the Italians have them like that. Us poor English people like sunny, airy apartments, because we rarely see the sun. But as temperatures soared to over 30 degrees, we were pleased to return to our apartment, which was cool, large and spacious. Max said that the small apartment was only being used for overnight stays. We had a tour of the wine cellar and were given a bottle of wine. There is no restaurant there as they do not have a license at the moment, but Max is hoping to be able to offer guests more than just breakfast in the future. Tony himself came to the apartments and was very pleasant and anxious that we were happy there.

The location of the property is exellent, in quiet, peaceful surroundings, with a town 4 minutes drive away - do go to the ice-cream parlour for delicious ice creams. There is also a Co-op for all your shopping, a restaurant and a bank.

We are planning to return there next year.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costalpino
3.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,045 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,241 reviews
5.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castagno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 3 in Costalpino
39 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta di Montecchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta di Montecchino

Address: S. Andrea a Montecchino Strada Grossetana 87, 53100 Costalpino, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena > Costalpino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Costalpino
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Grotta di Montecchino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grotta Di Montecchino Tuscany, Italy - Costalpino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing