We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Grotta di Montecchino
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of dogs”
Reviewed 3 August 2006

If you are a light sleeper/ annoyed by barking dogs, you may not be comfortable staying here. There seems to be a kennel behind the main group of apartments, and what seemed to be a feeding frenzy erupted at intervals throughout the day. We requested a change in accommodation immediately (absolutely no refunds for our week's booking when we spoke of leaving) and were moved to a larger, brighter, cleaner, apartment near the road that also had hot water (the first did not at the time.) Unfortunately, the area was not canine-free either and we were awakened by barking by two dogs during the night. The owner did offer us a bottle of his own wine and the scenery was amazing, but the overall experience was not the romantic encounter with Tuscany we had hoped for.

  • Liked — Wonderful scenery
  • Disliked — The barking dogs
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to bring toilet paper, soap etc. because it is not supplied
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Athenabonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    23
    6
    12
See reviews for
28
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 February 2006

We were on our honeymoon and this was our first stop in our Europe tour. We booked the apartment online at the last minute and it turned out to be an excellent choice. We enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The landscape was very beautiful and the apartments were clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owner, Tony guided us well as to how to get to the place. We would also like to add a special thanks to the manager, Max. He was a great help in retrieving our luggage from the airlines and was very flexible with the check out time as he realised the seriousness of our situation. He also guided us well about the places around for basic nessecities and also with places to visit in the region. We would definitely love to go back and would highly recommend the place to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2005

We stayed at La Grotta di Montecchino for a week and I'm pleased to report that things have very much improved. Tony has now a Manager called Max, who was extremely charming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Our apartment was dark, but people should remember that when it is hot, the apartment will be cool. That is why the Italians have them like that. Us poor English people like sunny, airy apartments, because we rarely see the sun. But as temperatures soared to over 30 degrees, we were pleased to return to our apartment, which was cool, large and spacious. Max said that the small apartment was only being used for overnight stays. We had a tour of the wine cellar and were given a bottle of wine. There is no restaurant there as they do not have a license at the moment, but Max is hoping to be able to offer guests more than just breakfast in the future. Tony himself came to the apartments and was very pleasant and anxious that we were happy there.

The location of the property is exellent, in quiet, peaceful surroundings, with a town 4 minutes drive away - do go to the ice-cream parlour for delicious ice creams. There is also a Co-op for all your shopping, a restaurant and a bank.

We are planning to return there next year.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 May 2005

Although the location is really nice, the appartments are not. They lack comfort and it certainly feels you're sleeping in a cow barn. The bathroom and sanitairy don't look too clean, and there certainly wasn't made much of an investment in the furniture or bedding in the apartments.

The day we left we wanted to pay with a creditcard, but the owner told us the machine was broke. Since he never mentioned that before, we hadn't had a chance to cash up in the city. Mind, we did make reservations with our creditcard, so there was good reason to assume paying with one would be no problem. After hearing that we didn't have the amount in cash, the owner became quite rude stating that 'this wasn't his problem', although there wasn't any reason to say something like that in such an aggressive tone.

Another drawback was the description of the location, like you could walk easily to nearby villages. We didn't come by car, and the nearest village was certainly not an easy walk, especially since there are no paths for pedestrians in that area.

I would not recomment the apartments for more than a night, if you really need a place to stay. The cooking is nice, so you should definitely reserve for dinner if you can.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costalpino hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2005

We stayed at the Grotta for one night and after our experience, were quite anxious to leave (even so it took over one hour to find an employee so that we could check out). The Grotta is in a beautiful spot and the scenery is amazing. The Grotta is up on a hill and is an older building, the pool is a small above ground pool and is clean. BUT, and this is a big but, what the owners don't mention is that at the entrance to their Grotta is their own home plus a shed/old barn (?) that has been converted into 2 additional rooms with private bathrooms. After a long day of driving we were looking forward to a swim and staying up on the hill in romantic Tuscany as advertised. What we were given was totally different and no apologies made (in fact, the owner was quite aggressive and rude) because we were told that we were still 'on their property'. The employees at the Grotta did not speak English but the owner does. When we wanted to talk to him we were told he was busy with his guests at another property. We were given one of the rooms down the hill, 1 km walk from the pool, right along the highway, no windows except the glass door that we very well couldn't leave ajar. Everything (bedding included) was damp and smelly from the moisture of being built right off the soil and having no ventilation. If you are lucky and get into one of the rooms at the top of the hill, you may have a great experience, but buyer beware.

Helpful?
4 Thank greeceherewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costalpino
1.3 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
687 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#22 of 88 in Siena
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Le Meridiane
Residence Le Meridiane
#11 of 88 in Siena
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 2 in Costalpino
23 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Fedele Alloggi
San Fedele Alloggi
#9 of 88 in Siena
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta di Montecchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta di Montecchino

Property: La Grotta di Montecchino
Address: S. Andrea a Montecchino Strada Grossetana 87, 53100 Costalpino, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena > Costalpino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Costalpino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Grotta di Montecchino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grotta Di Montecchino Tuscany, Italy - Costalpino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing