We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing safari experience”
Review of Linyanti Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linyanti Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing safari experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent two nights at Linyanti Bush Camp with some friends and really enjoyed the experience. We found the service friendly and personal. Butler, our guide, was amazing. I liked that he was not a "big 5 hound" intent on showing us big game only, but was also well informed about birds, plants and local customs. He even made termite mounds interesting. His ability to spot game was also extraordinary. We had wanted to see the wild dogs and what did he find but the wild dogs for us.

The camp is small and intimate with a very comfortable, relaxing common dining and sitting area. Sitting around the fire was a favorite past time. The tents are huge and comfortably equipped. We visited in early June, so had no bug issues at all. My recommendation to people who don't want bugs, visit in winter! I never saw a mozzie the whole time we were in Botswana! Nights were cool so very comfortable in the tents, but daytimes were plenty warm.

The food was very nice and varied. We also enjoyed the sundowners and pre-dinner drinks with the staff, and had some wonderful conversations with them over drinks and around the fire.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    23
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
turnhout
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

this was our last camp during our trip and it stood really out !
it is run by more local people and the local community benefits from the profits, the camp is small and cosy, the tents are very nice and comfortable offering from the deck a wonderfull view.
Food was really nice and tastefull prepared (dont expect 5 star food, youre in the bush after all)
The game drives were also among the best, the guides are very knoweledgeable and willing to please. I can recomend this camp whitout any reservation !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Unfortunately we had a long drive to Linyanti on a bad road as the airstrip was out of action, but luckily it was repaired in time for our journey out.
Great guide in Esse, but we found the camp wasnt quite so well run as others.
Good size tent with lovely views over the swamp with elephant wandering around in the night behind the tents!
Good game viewing, lots of elephant. Beautiful sundowner trip down the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Linyanti Bush Camp mid March 13 ( Ebony Camp is adjacent - run by same staff for groups or families ). Location great, staff excellent , tents well furnished with power outlets available in tent until late , game viewing was good on both water & land , food was plentiful & fine . An intimate camp with a nice friendy feel. Fans in room would make it even better .
First of 3 camps we visited in Botswana (Linyanti,Savute Safari Lodge,Pom Pom ) & rate it 2nd for items outlined above however the real issues in the wet season are (1) the mosquitoes , they were full on & the worst we encountered on our trip (2) the local airstrip floods in wet season & a 3hr road trip each way from Savuti airstrip is required on a horrendous soft sand track.They do give you a picnic lunch & drinks on the trip in & you can stop to take photos - so it was actually 4hrs from airstrip to camp. This long transfer time also reduces the game drive time available out of the camp, on both day of arrival & day of departure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_Not_So_Grey_Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at Linyanti Ebony Camp with a 8 adults and 2 children so we had the whole camp for ourself. The experience has just been perfect (especially after 2 nights in Khwai Tented Camp owned by the same group where we had a very bad experience for the same price per person per night)

Linyanti can be summarized as: Amazing lodge, amazing service, amazing tents (probably the biggest ones of all the lodges we have done in South Africa and Botswana), cute little pool.

The family tent is huge and beautiful and the view on the river is great. At night you sleep with hippos walking around which makes the experience really incredible.

The only deception is the game viewing in December. There is no single animal around except for hippos and baboons (and lots of birds for the birds lovers!). But we saw tons of animals during our drive from Khwai to Linyanti.

The food is very good too (they will cook for your children almost whatever they want!) and I like the fact you can choose among different activities (boat, mokoro, game drive, walk, fishing).

This place is definitely one of the places to go when travelling to Chobe. It is a very good value for money and a real luxury camp!

Room Tip: Ask for the family room if you travel with children. Otherwise all the other tents are very big with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This review is relative to the other Ker & Downey camps we visited - Okuti and Kanana.

The wildlife that you can view from the camp itself is very good and the direct views onto the river/marshland mean that you are very close to the game. In fact at night they walk through the camp. We found the camp of lower quality then the two above in terms of standard of accommodation but still comfortable. The rooms had no fans which made the rooms unpleasant during the hot afternoon.

We had one night in insect hell at dinner but the next was fine because we made sure the candles were out and we used the paraffin lamps only.

The staff were very welcoming but I found the deputy manager failed to get the balance right between welcoming and being omni present. Guides were good but the vehicles need updating. They are lower than the ones in other camps and we found ourselves having to poke our heads out to look at things in the trees. Also in other camps, guides made sure vehicles were spotless and cleaned on the inside - not so here. Empty drink cans from previous occupants in the front pouches and they stayed there for the 2 nights we were there!

Saw some reasonable game and our guide was pleasant and knowledgeable if a little earnest.

All in it was an average camp compared to the other two we stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tinkers234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Before I write this review, I'll warn you that I'm comparing it to other tented camps we stayed at in September 2012. We stayed at Umbutu and Dunia tented camps in Serengeti and Kwara in the Delta. This camp was our least favorite. Why? At this time of year, the landscape appears very "dead"; however, this is a good time to visit because it is easier to spot wildlife. We found few predators, but did find other large quadrupeds like the roan and the sable that we could not see in Serengeti. Wildlife viewing experience was the least gratifying here as compared to the aforementioned. The vehicles used in the Delta (Kwara) navigated the sandy environment more readily than the vehicles here. The bathroom in the tent was more poorly lit than in other tents; used our flashlights the most here. We were unable to regulate the shower water temperature; preferred the bucket showers in Umbutu and Dunia. In other tents, they incorporated the lamps and the nightstands inside of the mosquito nets, here they did not, which was not convenient for those of us who wanted to write in their travel journal before sleep. The common areas in the camp were very nice, guides were good, pool was a necessary respite from the September heat, food was good, and the sunset cruise was enjoyable. This is the only place where I had staff ask me outright if they could have my things. One of the staff asked me if they could have my thin, gold thumb ring. I understand the difference in the standard of living between the United States and Botswana, but I was still a bit surprised to be asked that blatantly in such a nice camp. My primary focus for this trip was wildlife. That said, if I had it to do all over again, I would have skipped this location and added these 2 nights to Tarangire in Tanzania or to another area around the Delta.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust-and-Wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Wanderlust and Wino,

Thank you very much for your review of Linyanti Bush Camp following your recent stay with us. It is important for us to receive guest feedback in order to ensure that we are consistently looking at ways to improve on our service delivery and the guest experience. I have noted your comments on the lighting within the tents, as well as the difficulties you experienced with the hot water situation, and we will ensure we implement changes to improve on these two issues mentioned. In terms of your experience with a member of staff requesting to have your personal items, I would like to sincerely apologise for this incident and I would like to assure you that this is the first of its kind in any of the African Bush Camps properties. As you travelled in September, which is the middle of our Peak Season, we often employ casual / part-time staff to assist during the Peak Period. I am fairly confidant that this would have been a request from a new casual / part-time staff member. Rest assured that we will be investigating this incident and will take steps to ensure this does not happen to future guests. Again we are sincerely sorry for your experience. We are however happy to note that you enjoyed the camp as a whole, as well as the food and the sunset cruise. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you at a later stage to improve on your experience.
Warmest Regards
Linyanti Bush Camp and the African Bush Camps Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
21.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Linyanti
Camp Linyanti
#14 of 20 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
19.7 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#20 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
23.3 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 20 in Chobe National Park
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#18 of 20 in Chobe National Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linyanti Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linyanti Bush Camp

Property: Linyanti Bush Camp
Address: Linyanti Marshes, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linyanti Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linyanti Bush Camp offers the perfect setting for an authentic and wild safari experience. As the only source of water in the dry months, the Linyanti marshes are one of the most sought after destinations in Northern Botswana, boasting a great diversity of game and a peaceful atmosphere. The area offers spectacular birding all year round and is best known for its large herds of elephants that move down to the Linyanti River at the start of the winter months and only move back inland once the main rains arrive. Lion, sable, roan, leopard, and wild dog are also frequent visitors to Linyanti as is the elusive sitatunga antelope, red lechwe, hippo and crocodile. Bordering the western boundary of Chobe in the Chobe Enclave, the Linyanti Bush Camp is an intimate 12-bedded tented camp on the banks of the Linyanti marshes in a private reserve. Activities from the camp include game drives, walking safaris, game viewing from hides, spot-lighting, bird watching, boating and fishing safaris as well as guided mokoro safaris, when water levels permit. Accommodation at the Linyanti Bush Camp is far from primitive with spacious tents, comfortable beds, and en-suite bathrooms with flush toilets, fixed showers and hot water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linyanti Bush Camp Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing