We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linyanti Ebony Camp”
Review of Linyanti Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linyanti Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Linyanti Ebony Camp”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Linyanti Ebony Camp is a small, family friendly, exclusive camp (and part of the Linyanti Bush Camp). My daughter and i spent 4 nights there in April and had a fantastic time. We were picked up from the air strip and went straight on safari in the Chobe National Park. Within 20 minutes we had seen elephants, zebra, giraffe and lions. We were welcomed to the camp by all the staff and were looked after from the time we got up until we went to bed by our wonderful guide (Butler), the camp interim manager (Violet) and periodically by the staff. The room was luxurious, we loved our out door bath and the food and hospitality were spectacular. Our only complaint was that there was too much food (and it was so delicious there was no option but to eat it)! I would recommend this camp and experience to anyone. We had never been on safari and are now completely hooked. We are saving up for a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V15L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Vanessa

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at Linyanti Ebony in the Chobe Enclave. We are delighted you and your daughter had such a wonderful 4 nights with us and that your wildlife sightings were excellent during your safari. The area is reknowned for its large herds of elephant and buffalo, and over the past 4 months we have had very good predator encounters. It warmed our hearts to learn that you are now hooked on safari's - there is something particularly unique and spectacular about safari's in Africa which capture your soul and leave you longing for more! Good Luck for your savings and keep at it as we have many more camps for you and your daughter to explore in stunning and remote locations - and we look forward to welcoming you both back on safari soon!
With warmest regards from the Team at Linyanti Ebony and African Bush Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was our first time in Africa so we were not sure what to expect. We were greeted on arrival with an African singing welcome which was a lovely personal touch. The luxury tent was fantastic and enormous, excellent bathroom with running water in the shower a really comfortable bed and a nice couch looking over the balcony.

Food was excellent with great variety. You feel almost like family with all meals with your guide as well as the camp manager.

Esse was an excellent guide committed to giving us an excellent experience. We saw lots of animals. On the drive back to the air strip Esse was committed to finding lions for us and then we went via a marsh area which was amazing for the number of animals.

Linyanti was definitely a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted that you considered Linyanti to be one of the highlights of your holiday and that you felt almost as if at home with a family in our camp. Our Team at Linyanti do pride themselves on offering a very personalised and friendly service, ensuring that your guiding and hosting adds to your safari experience and turns an incredible experience into an extraordinary one. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future and share with you additional memories and up close encounters with Africa's finest wildlife species.
Take Care and Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Beautiful location on the edge of the swamp with hippo's and elephants only feet from your tent. The camp is 45 mins from the airstrip which is in itself another mini game drive. Even though we were there for only two nights we saw every animal and bird conceivable and lions with cubs from 10yds ... unbelievable and lots and lots of elephants. Our guide Essai was fantastic with excellent knowledge and tracking abilities .. combined with a great sense of humour.
The camp is in the middle of the bush on the edge of the swamp and the tents and accommodation are lovely and the food and wine of an excellent standard.
I cannot praise our camp hosts Ollie and Kirsty enough they were absolutely perfect and made the camp what it is (which is a lot better than Pom Pom by miles) well done you two, you made our holiday one of our most memorable.
I would highly recommend this camp to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed as the sole guests at the Linyanti Bush Camp, which is something of a misnomer as it is situated on the edge of the Linyanti swamp, for three nights in mid September. The camp is currently being run by a couple of people whose previous experience of the hospitality industry was running a gastropub in Oxford. Whilst they are very willing, I do not think that these are the right people to be running a camp in Africa. When I asked why it was that the kitchen produced cottage pie for 12 (when we were the only guests) as a luncheon in 40 degrees heat, the response was that they didn't know as they had no control over the kitchen. Who in their right minds would take on something like this and not have total control over everything? Having said this, the camp was well run and any request was dealt with efficiently, with the exception of the variable heat shower in tent six (our tent). The guides were unbelievably good, particularly Essai (I think that is how to spell his name, it is certainly how it is pronounced). We did suffer an infestation of extremely small midges in our room which baffled the management, until it was suggested that they should not leave the lights on in the tents after they had done the turn-down visit in the evening. Subsequently this problem went away, once the tents were left in the dark. Don't misinterpret this review, we had an absolutely brilliant time there, but this was primarily due to Essai's brilliant game drives - which is what you are really there for.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Waldegraveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The tents were very nice but extremely hot. They could really use ceiling fans and a flashlight in the rooms. There are a lot of bugs, especially mosquitoes. We were here the end of September. The camp hosts, Ollie and Kirsty, did everything to make our stay very enjoyable. After dark you have to have an escort to go to dinner.
We were there three nights, and the last two, we were the only guests in the camp.
Our guide, Butler, was very knowledgeable. He really knew his stuff and was very willing to take us on night game drives. The last night we were there, Ollie and Kirsty went with us on the night drive.
The area seems very dead as a lot of the trees are dormant this time of year. It is just before the rainy season.

I have never seen so many elephants at one time. One day there were over 50 in the river. This is a great place to stay, but just know you are in the middle of the bush, and things are a little primitive. The water really takes some getting used to. There are a lot of animals here. We saw giraffes, elephants, wart hogs, baboons, monkeys, antelope, an ostrich, and many more animals.

Room Tip: Bring a good flashlight because the lights in the room really attract bugs. Bens wipes tick and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Lint anti Bush Camp was our first stop on a two week safari in the Okawango delta. We were there for three nights and really, really enjoyed it. Ollie and Kirsty were excellent hosts and the staff were all delightful and very welcoming. Our tent was lovely, comfy bed and good facilities, with elephants and kudu just outside one afternoon at siesta time - stunning! Our guide Wina was superb, tracking down some excellent game for us and teaching us so much about the wildlife, a real star!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanSaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

If I could have added just one more night to our wonderful trip to Botswana, it would have been at Linyanti Bush Camp, where we spent two nights. The camp is situated on the edge of a marsh filled with hippos, water birds, & the like. It's a 15-minute drive into Chobe National Park (Linyanti Gate), home to an estimated 70,000 elephants.

The camp is made up of six very comfortable permanent, private tents around a central eating/drinking/socializing lodge & a pretty swimming pool. Camp management tried hard to make sure guests did & saw what they desired--you could choose among game drives, water trips, game walks, etc., rather than being presented with a one-size-fits-all schedule. Everyone on the staff seemed to be making an effort to do more than they had to do to make people happy--and doing it in an open, friendly way.

The camp is at least a 45-minute drive from the nearest airstrip. That turned into an extra game drive for us each way.

Meals were abundant & tasty. Much of the staff eats along with the guests, allowing for fun, relaxed conversation around the table and at the camp fire at night.

Our guide, Wina, was interesting, knowledgeable, enthusiastic & adventurous. The absolute highlight of our trip was the morning our truck was surrounded by a herd of 50 elephants. (Eventually they got bored with us & swam across the river...) He knew his birds as well as how to find the big animals.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OtraGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
21.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Linyanti
Camp Linyanti
#14 of 21 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#20 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
23.3 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 21 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linyanti Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linyanti Bush Camp

Property: Linyanti Bush Camp
Address: Linyanti Marshes, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linyanti Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linyanti Bush Camp offers the perfect setting for an authentic and wild safari experience. As the only source of water in the dry months, the Linyanti marshes are one of the most sought after destinations in Northern Botswana, boasting a great diversity of game and a peaceful atmosphere. The area offers spectacular birding all year round and is best known for its large herds of elephants that move down to the Linyanti River at the start of the winter months and only move back inland once the main rains arrive. Lion, sable, roan, leopard, and wild dog are also frequent visitors to Linyanti as is the elusive sitatunga antelope, red lechwe, hippo and crocodile. Bordering the western boundary of Chobe in the Chobe Enclave, the Linyanti Bush Camp is an intimate 12-bedded tented camp on the banks of the Linyanti marshes in a private reserve. Activities from the camp include game drives, walking safaris, game viewing from hides, spot-lighting, bird watching, boating and fishing safaris as well as guided mokoro safaris, when water levels permit. Accommodation at the Linyanti Bush Camp is far from primitive with spacious tents, comfortable beds, and en-suite bathrooms with flush toilets, fixed showers and hot water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linyanti Bush Camp Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing