We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect African Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Linyanti Bush Camp was an amazing place. Our tent was very comfortable, the food was very good, and the staff was wonderful. We tracked lions and had many up close and personal experiences with elephants. We even spent a couple of days watching a lion make a young elephant his meal. We also saw zebra, giraffe, hippos, warthogs, cape buffalo, kudus, impalas, baboons and a wide variety of birds. Since our trip was in September, the dry season, we were able to see the animals quite easily. The sunsets were spectacular. However, the staff at Linyanti made our experience the most memorable. Kirstie and Ollie, the managers, made sure we were well taken care of from being greeted with a drink and a song upon arrival to handing us a cold wet towel every time we came in from a game drive. Lepo gave me a lesson in napkin folding as every night we were greeted with one of her creations. Our guide, Winah, was the best. He was a wonderful, kind, extremely intelligent man who truly loved sharing his world with us. And that he did! We learned everything from how to track a lion to the differences among all the types of animal dung. We really got an education. After three days, it was very difficult to leave since we were felt so at home. We made friends and memories we will have for a lifetime!

Room Tip: I liked being close to the dining tent. Since animals roam freely through the camp, I always felt a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kred317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Katy,

Thank you so much for your review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and had several up close and personal encounters with the elephants and lions. The area is indeed wonderful in terms of its remoteness and the feeling of being in an Untouched part of Africa. We are so pleased that our staff at LInyanti made your experience so memorable. We do pride ourselves on the ethos that it is the guiding and hosting in our camps that can make all the difference to your experience as our guest. And the fact that Linyanti Bush Camp felt like a "home with friends" is indeed very special. We do hope we will have the opportunity to host you again at Linyanti Bush Camp or one of our other camps in the near future.
Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived via helicopter. Our pilot Michael did an excellent job of narrating the trip and the views were great.

The accommodations were nice with little extras like hot water for tea/coffee at all times. This camp uses mosquito netting which was nice, less for the mosquitoes and more for the other bugs.

The rooms were hot during the day but the main tent was very nice so we tended to stay there.

The food was excellent. I requested some deli meats and cheese for the pre-breakfast and they had it out the next day.

Linyanti doesn't use the guide and tracker system so only one set of staff eyes looking for game and driving. We thought it wasn't as good as the dual system. Linyanti also uses the covered safari vehicle which we didn't like as much.

Linyanti is known for the birds but also has baboons, hippos, elephants and many other game. Our guide, Kelo, was very good and had many years of experience. All of the staff was friendly and helpful.

The camp is right on the river where animals must go to get water in the dry season. Since we were on the cusp and there were still watering holes probably not as many animals to the water as during the full dry season. Still we heard elephants and hippos at night (they do walk through camp to the river) and saw many many elephants and hippos in the river.

We high recommend the river safaris. Our experience with the night safaris have been disappointing and the river safaris was a nice change (you are back before dark). Seeing the elephants and hippos was fabulous. My husband fished and enjoyed the experience even if he didn't catch anything (the best day fishing.......)

Room Tip: This was the first time we were in a tent/cabin close to the central area. I must say we prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Cynthia

Thank you so much for your review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted to hear that the Helicopter Pilot Michael gave you such a warm and informative welcome to the Linyanti area and our beautiful camp. Our Team at Linyanti Bush Camp do pride themselves on focusing on the guest experience and doing their utmost to accomodate our guests requests and so it was great to hear your request for deli meats and cheeses was met on your second morning. In terms of the wildlife sightings, you are correct that the concentration of wildlife does increase as the area drys out during the course of the year. Larger herds of animals tend to move out of the thicker bush scrub inland and down towards the LInyanti Swamps to wade in the cool waters and quench their thirst. We are delighted you got to experience Linyanti from the river, the land and the air - it really does allow you to experience the vastness and remoteness of the LInyanti from different view points. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future - perhaps this time in the Dry Season?
Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We would strongly recommend staying at Linyanti Bush Camp to others. We have just returned from a 20 day safari through Botswana, and Linyanti Bush Camp was the highlight of our trip. The camp is private and intimate and provides visitors with a true African experience without the tourist hype. Because of an extended rainy season the bush was still thick making the wildlife harder to find however despite this our guide, Esse, delivered the goods. He tracked lions and wild dogs with great success every time and shared all his bush knowledge along the way.

The accommodation and food were great, but the highlight were the people. Esse (guide), Patrick (manager), and Michael (helicopter pilot) dined with us every meal and we loved that they removed the divide between staff and guest.

Linyanti Bush Camp was a true gift. Thank you.

Room Tip: Tents 5 and 6 are closest to the main camp so less of a walk if walking is an issue for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SybillaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted to hear that we were the highlight of your 20 day safari in Botswana! Esse is a wonderful guide and we are pleased that he managed to track down both the lions and wild dogs on our private concession whilst you were in camp. At African Bush Camps we believe the focus should be on the guiding and hosting of our guests in camp and that it is this ethos which makes your stay more memorable, so it was lovely to hear that Esse, Patrick and Michael (as well as the other members of our Team) were an important part of your experience. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Linyanti in the near future and perhaps share with you more unforgettable and authentic safari experiences at our camps.
Warmest Regards from the Team at Linyanti and African Bush Camps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The welcome message spelt out in leaves on the bed was breathtaking. We were the only people in camp for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the company of Esse, our guide, the manager and the helicopter pilot at all meals. Esse did a wonderful job of tracking game, especially a group of wild dogs. We did have one day where game was very hard to find however. The tent was too hot to spend siesta time in, so we sat in the shade by the pool or on the couch overlooking the marsh. A fan would be of benefit. Meals were great and my food intolerances were catered for. The airstrip was out of commission, and had been for many months, unknown to us. This resulted in a two and a half hour drive from the airstrip to camp. Luckily we were able to get a helicopter ride back at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255093Diane_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review of Linyanti Bush Camp and we are pleased that you managed to have a private experience as the only guests in camp for two nights. The Wild Dogs have certainly been a WOW factor for many of our guests over recent months and the sightings of these beautiful mammals continue to be regular on our concession. I am happy to inform you that our airstrip is now back up and running so the transfer to camp is a lot closer than before. We are pleased we were able to offer you a helicopter flight to make up for the long drive on one of your transfers.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again at some point in the future. Until then - happy travels and we hope your memories of Linyanti remain in the forefront of your mind forever.
Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family had a wonderful time at Linyanti. Friendly greeting, love the singing. Luxury tents, clean, relaxing, comfortable beds, flushing toilet, shower that feels like you are standing under a warm raincloud. Falling asleep to the sounds of hippo's and elephants sloshing around in the marsh metres from your bed is memorable and amazing. Food is delicious, even our fussy eater loved it all. Esse was a delightful guide. He tried very hard to provide sightings of all on our bucketlists. He was engaging with kids and adults alike, we enjoyed his humour, his solemnity, and his thorough knowledge of the bush, culture, poaching and politics. We really learnt a lot from him and he was committed to making sure we had a full experience.
Our long table bush dinner with the camp next door (Ebony, managed by same group) was a friendly way to blend both camps for one meal while maintaining the integrity of small camp luxury. Was fabulous to have a pool for those hot mid day siesta breaks. Thanks Pierre and Kirsten our friendly hosts.

Room Tip: all tents are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JodiC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jodi

Thank you so much for your wonderful and heartfelt review of Linyanti Bush Camp. The harmonic singing of our Team is a truely wonderful welcome to Linyanti and is the introduction to our focus on the guiding and hosting at our camps. We are delighted to hear that all aspects of your safari at Linyanti were a success and that you had an exceptional and full experience. It is a truely remote area allowing for a more personal and untouched view of Africa. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Linyanti Bush Camp and our Team will be waiting on your arrival with a song from their hearts and a warm smile on their faces.
Warm Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Linyanti Ebony Camp is a small, family friendly, exclusive camp (and part of the Linyanti Bush Camp). My daughter and i spent 4 nights there in April and had a fantastic time. We were picked up from the air strip and went straight on safari in the Chobe National Park. Within 20 minutes we had seen elephants, zebra, giraffe and lions. We were welcomed to the camp by all the staff and were looked after from the time we got up until we went to bed by our wonderful guide (Butler), the camp interim manager (Violet) and periodically by the staff. The room was luxurious, we loved our out door bath and the food and hospitality were spectacular. Our only complaint was that there was too much food (and it was so delicious there was no option but to eat it)! I would recommend this camp and experience to anyone. We had never been on safari and are now completely hooked. We are saving up for a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V15L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Vanessa

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at Linyanti Ebony in the Chobe Enclave. We are delighted you and your daughter had such a wonderful 4 nights with us and that your wildlife sightings were excellent during your safari. The area is reknowned for its large herds of elephant and buffalo, and over the past 4 months we have had very good predator encounters. It warmed our hearts to learn that you are now hooked on safari's - there is something particularly unique and spectacular about safari's in Africa which capture your soul and leave you longing for more! Good Luck for your savings and keep at it as we have many more camps for you and your daughter to explore in stunning and remote locations - and we look forward to welcoming you both back on safari soon!
With warmest regards from the Team at Linyanti Ebony and African Bush Camps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was our first time in Africa so we were not sure what to expect. We were greeted on arrival with an African singing welcome which was a lovely personal touch. The luxury tent was fantastic and enormous, excellent bathroom with running water in the shower a really comfortable bed and a nice couch looking over the balcony.

Food was excellent with great variety. You feel almost like family with all meals with your guide as well as the camp manager.

Esse was an excellent guide committed to giving us an excellent experience. We saw lots of animals. On the drive back to the air strip Esse was committed to finding lions for us and then we went via a marsh area which was amazing for the number of animals.

Linyanti was definitely a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted that you considered Linyanti to be one of the highlights of your holiday and that you felt almost as if at home with a family in our camp. Our Team at Linyanti do pride themselves on offering a very personalised and friendly service, ensuring that your guiding and hosting adds to your safari experience and turns an incredible experience into an extraordinary one. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future and share with you additional memories and up close encounters with Africa's finest wildlife species.
Take Care and Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
19.6 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
21.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
0 mi away
Camp Linyanti
Camp Linyanti
#13 of 21 in Chobe National Park
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps

Address: Linyanti Marshes, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range: £343 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linyanti Bush Camp- African Bush Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linyanti Bush Camp offers the perfect setting for an authentic and wild safari experience. As the only source of water in the dry months, the Linyanti marshes are one of the most sought after destinations in Northern Botswana, boasting a great diversity of game and a peaceful atmosphere. The area offers spectacular birding all year round and is best known for its large herds of elephants that move down to the Linyanti River at the start of the winter months and only move back inland once the main rains arrive. Lion, sable, roan, leopard, and wild dog are also frequent visitors to Linyanti as is the elusive sitatunga antelope, red lechwe, hippo and crocodile. Bordering the western boundary of Chobe in the Chobe Enclave, the Linyanti Bush Camp is an intimate 12-bedded tented camp on the banks of the Linyanti marshes in a private reserve. Activities from the camp include game drives, walking safaris, game viewing from hides, spot-lighting, bird watching, boating and fishing safaris as well as guided mokoro safaris, when water levels permit. Accommodation at the Linyanti Bush Camp is far from primitive with spacious tents, comfortable beds, and en-suite bathrooms with flush toilets, fixed showers and hot water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linyanti Bush Camp Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing