We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Safari Camp!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Safari Camp!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This camp is listed as a premier camp, which is as close to a 5 star hotel you will get in the bush. You pay a premium fee, but you are waited on from the moment you arrive.

Wonderful and Breathtaking is how I would rate this camp. If they have availability during your travel dates I HIGHLY recommend this camp, even if you stay only a night or two then move on to somewhere else. It is completely worth the price.

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights and it was amazing. All the staff was overly helpful and always smiling, they go above and beyond for you during your stay.

We stayed in room 1 which is furthest from main camp, if you want more seclusion, less noise and better animal sightings ask for room 1 or 9. Other reviews suggested it and they were not wrong. The camp is setup with the main building in the center with rooms 1-4 to the left and 5-9 to the right. All rooms are secluded and beautiful so don't worry if the ends are booked you will still have amazing experience.

The rooms have all the amenities of a western hotel including a hair dryer. There are plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner and soap, so no need to bring your own unless you have a special brand. They supply a blow horn for emergencies and two types of bug spray; one for you and one for your room.

If you get thirsty while in your room there is a full mini bar with snacks and drinks, all included in the camp price. They tell you to keep your pills and snacks in there because baboons could break into the room and you will lose them.

Each room has a private large out door deck with lounge chairs and plunge pool. This is a great vantage point to see animals and the stars in the sky.

The normal day includes wake up at 6, continental breakfast at 630, morning safari at 7. You return to camp around 1100 for mid day meal and siesta until about 1530 then high tea and afternoon safari until sunset. After returning to camp around sunset you have drinks a few tidbits of snacks and sit down to dinner around 1930.

There are several options to pick from during the safari time, if you are tired of sitting in a truck; including a bush walk, boat ride and just lazing out at camp.

The safari drives were in a shared vehicle, which was fun meeting people but not overly conducive to photography. You can request a private vehicle for an extra expense. Our safari driver was Moses and he is very knowledgeable and fun.

During our trip we spotted the following animals: elephant, giraffe, warthog, a leopard with its kill, female lions, male lions at night, hippos, crocodiles, impala, kudu, reedbuck, and tons of birds. Also if you are a star enthusiast or just like to look in the sky, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 9 are the furthest from the main area and the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Paula087,

Thank you for your dynamic review, we are glad to hear that you had a great experience in our camp.

Activities available at Kings Pool Camp include day and night game drives, and nature walks. Walking as an option must be prearranged with your guide or camp manager as not all guides are qualified for walking in Botswana. Game drives are on shared basis, unless you have booked and paid for a private vehicle. Private vehicles are generally booked by your agent at the reservation stage, but should availability of guides and vehicles not be a problem, we will try and assist at an extra daily fee. Please consult the manager if you are interested. Other activities include an elegant cruise on, The Queen Sylvia – our very own colonial-style vessel – and a visit to the sunken hide. The latter is an activity for the dry winter months. It allows for guests to view wildlife at close range from ground level – an awesome and unique experience. Catch-and-release fishing is a seasonal activity and available on request.

Thank you again
The Kings Pool Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
77
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is my 5th trip to the Delta and I've only stayed at Wilderness Camps (7 to be exact) and can tell you Kings Pool (KP) shouldn't be missed. This is THE concession to see the wild dogs. Wild Dogs exist elsewhere in the delta (Chitabe and Vumbura Plains), but I think this place is the best. The manager, Malcolm, is on top of all the details. I can't imagine him or the staff not catering to your every need. The management stayed doesn't seem forced either. This concession is shared by Duma Tau (I've stayed there 3 times and it's a wonderful camp too; just less opulence). The food is fabulous at KP and if they don't have what you like, just ask, I am sure they will provide. Even better if you call ahead and let your travel agent know. I always stay 7-10 nights at each camp to eliminate the stress of bouncing back and forth between camps. Plus you get to know the staff better and learn about their lives. And you also get to know the movement pattern of the animals. If you are in and out for 3 nights you only really have 2 days of game drives. Having stayed at several wilderness camps, they are all great and if you stay at one or two for 7-10 nights you'll still have a great experience. Please don't bounce around the delta at 4 camps for 2-3 nights each because you are really just chasing an experience that can be found at all wilderness camps.

Advice for photographers: The guides at KP are experts at animal behavior. They are local Botswana people that have been doing this for 20+. Plus most of them grew up on the land. Meaning they know how to set you up for the shots that you want to get. I like that Wilderness hires local guides for them to show us their native lands. Not having them guide would diminish the experience. They know what the animals will do before they do it do you can get set up with your camera to get the shot. You should know your camera well so that when you get to KP you are ready. There will be a lot of opportunity for great photographs and you have to be ready ALL THE TIME! I was amazed at how my guide Khan knew how to position me to get wild dogs running at us and the leopard photographed with a Baboon. The Male Baboon was trying to kill the leopards cub and if that would have happened, Khan would have had us positioned to photograph it. All you have to do is have your camera ready and they will position you. I took the D4 and D800 with the 70-200mm and the 200-400mm lens. That's about all the zoom you need unless you want the extreme bird shots then I'd take the 400mm f/2.8 with an extender. The ride gets kind of bumpy so you'll need a beanbag or some sort of monopod support system. Especially if you have a 400mm lens.

I loved it so much I've already booked to go back for 22 Days in November (10 Days at Kings Pool and 12 at Abu Camp).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnglen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear johnglen1976,

Thank you for your charismatic review, we will be sure to pass on your high praises to Khan, and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

The Linyanti experiences tremendous seasonal transitions: in summer brilliantly green and lush, while in winter it becomes a barren, dry and harsh interior away from the river. In the dry winter months, large herds of elephant and zebra stay close to the river before moving south to the Savute Channel once the summer rains begin. In addition, a large diversity of general wildlife abounds, including the rare roan and sable antelope, followed naturally by predators such as lion, cheetah, leopard, hyaena and wild dog. The Linyanti River and the Savute Channel attract many species of wildlife, particularly in the winter months when this is the only water available. Elephants are especially abundant at this time. Large pods of hippo are found all along the Linyanti River, often basking in the sun during the cooler winter months. Birdlife in the Linyanti is also extensive and diverse due to the different habitats inland and along the river course, including ‘specials’ such as Wattled Crane, Slaty Egret, Ground Hornbill and Kori Bustard.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return
The Team at Kings Pool Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Kings Pool was a wonderful camp. The accommodations, food, staff and animals were over the top. We spent three nights here. Each Safari was excellent, with great animal viewing. The guides were very knowledgeable, friendly and provided information on habitat, animal behaviour, tracking, the environment, etc.

Travel to and from the camp was seamless. Friendly helpful staff. Food was great as was the entire camp atmosphere. Enjoyed the "sundowner" experience where we would stop and watch the sun go down with refreshment and snacks. Wilderness Safaris are really a class act in all aspects. Fun, safe, restful and exciting experience. Recommend for couples, families or solo travelers.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. The beds were luxurious with queen size bed. Fans in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-and-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jim-and-Donna,

Thank you for your brilliant review, we look forward to sharing your kind words with all the staff in camp.

Kings Pool is situated in the 125 000-hectare private Linyanti Concession that borders the Chobe National Park’s western boundary. Areas outside of National Parks are controlled by The Department of Wildlife and National Parks and the Tawana Landboard. These bodies have divided up the wildlife areas into large “concessions” of land, which are leased to different companies for periods of up to 15 years. The Linyanti Concession is very large, but despite its size, the tourism policy of Botswana has limited the number of guests we can have in the area at any one time. It is thus an enormous, wildlife-rich area, shared between just three small camps (DumaTau, Kings Pool and Savuti), and enjoys an unrivalled atmosphere of remoteness and space.

Thank you again
The Team at Kings Pool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a superb camp, in a superb environment, with superb staff, and Khan was a superb guide. Can it get much better?

The tents were really good. Very spacious. They are all about the same, the only difference is closeness to the common areas. All tents look over the Linyanti river - it's spectacular.

Khan did a great job in finding game. He was very focused on wild dogs, I believe because the wild dogs often lead to other animals. Saw a stand off between wild dogs and warthogs. It was fascinating to see the encounter. Kudos to Khan for this experience

Food was excellent, and the staff made sure that you felt welcome. They attended to my every need, and the setting was just unbelievable. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginsburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ginsburl,

Thank you for your delightful review, we will be sure to share this with all the staff in camp.

Named for Scandinavian royalty, this luxurious and stylishcamp overlooks the oxbow-shaped Kings Pool Lagoon and Linyanti River system.

Nine well-appointed rooms (including one family unit) of canvas and thatch each have a large en-suite bedroom andlounge. Folding doors lead to a veranda with private plunge pool, separate thatched sala to soak up the views and an outdoor shower. The lounge and dining areas are set on expansive decks, and there is a pool and an open-air ‘kgotla’ (boma) for evening dining under the stars. An open-sided thatched gym is available.

Activities include day and night game drives, walks (depending on qualified guide availability), and elegant boat cruises along the Linyanti River (water levels allowing) on Kings Pool’s colonial-style barge, the Queen Sylvia. In the dry season, two hides allow guests to spend their siesta watching game come down to drink. One is on the edge of the camp, while the other is underground, with the water at eye-level – seeing elephant feet and trunks almost within touching distance while safely inside is an experience that transcends that of an ordinary safari.

Thanks again
The Kings Pool Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

we had a great time. we stayed for three nights. our guide was Khan and MP was the guide in training helping.

the facility and the staff services are way more than we needed - but were also certainly very enjoyable. we never took advantage of the plunge pool in our room. I did use the outside shower and also the outside rest area. all of the tents are over hanging the linyanti river - and I believe they are all fairly similar - so room selection is pretty much a non-issue. the tents are very nice.

When we arrived at our room - baboons were climbing the trees right outside our door. They do warn to make sure all the door are closed at all times...the vervet monkeys and baboons are very capable of ransacking rooms at any time they are presented with an opportunity!

The game viewing was unbelievable. We watched the wild dogs hunt several times. we saw a female spotted hyena on an impala get driven off by the wold dogs....and I have the video to prove it!

http://youtu.be/elmSOMyV6tc

http://youtu.be/ReNWiPeHRjo

the land rover vehicles were only a few weeks old - and were definitely the nicest of the 4 camps we visited this year. you do spend quite a bit of time in the vehicles - so we also really appreciated the comfort these provided.

we were lucky that the rains came mostly at night. we were out on the queen sylvia pontoon boat one evening when we did experience a downpour....but MP and Khan quickly had the sides down and we enjoyed the experience. Khan and I did fish - and we both caught fish. We both got a tallapia and I also got a small African pike.

would go back again in a heart beat if the opportunity arose. Khan is really good.....he has the pages memorized in the bird book for most of the common birds - and he even knows a fair number of the latin names for the species as well......a very nice and sharp guide.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same.....only difference is proximity to the main dining and lounge areas....i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenSAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear BenSAllentown_PA,

Thank you for your fantastic review, and thank you for your beautiful videos.

Our Premier camps offer an exclusive and original experience in pristine wilderness areas. We promise relevance and balance, authenticity and education, as well as elegant and stylised accommodation. These camps combine luxury, superbly designed architecture with the warm comforts of home and personal service. Each Premier camp has its own style, as well as additional features such as salas for a soothing midday siesta or outdoor showers ‘under the stars’. Our rates are as all-inclusive as possible in our Premier camps with the core activities such as game drives, nature walks, boating, local drinks and all meals included in the price. For game drives, we use customised 4x4 vehicles that are spacious and comfortable, providing “window” seats for all guests. Our knowledgeable guides accompany guests on all activities for the duration of their stay in any one camp. Children between 6 and 12 years are welcome on the basis that private activities and/or sole use of camps are booked and paid for.

Thank you again
The Kings Pool Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived at Kings Pool after a long rough flight from beautiful Little Mombo, one of our all time favorites, and an even longer ride from the air strip, so the beautiful camp was a welcome sight. The setting on the Linyanti is truly breathtaking with elephants an ever present sight...occasionally too present. A couple of times we were unable to return to our room due to unruly marauders! The camp and river are stunning and game viewing along the river is as good as anyplace in Southern Africa. Watching elephants swim the river with only their eyes and tip of their trunks above the water then emerge to their immense stature was a sight not often encountered elsewhere.

The only detraction for us was the food which I didn't feel was up to Wilderness's high standards. I must echo others about the tough beef, though the fish was good. Breakfast was good, but not always as hot as it could have been. Minor issues which certainly did not detract from our total enjoyment of this stunningly beautiful camp!

Room Tip: All are very nice, but next time I will request the room at the far end to lessen noise from neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked this camp as we enjoyed our stay at another Premier Camp (Vumbura in Okavango). We received a very warm welcome from the team when we arrived- and we were just as warmly greeted after each drive. The staff were helpful, friendly and competent (even through a storm).

The rooms are large, the plunge pool is great and I liked the double showers in the bathroom.

The food from Kenny and his team was delicious and plentiful.

We enjoyed each of our game drives with Ndebo- the sunset boat trip on our last night was very special.

I definitely preferred the communal dinner tables, as you got a chance to meet some of the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
4.3 mi away
Jackalberry Tented Camp
Jackalberry Tented Camp
#2 of 2 in Sangwali
16 reviews
13.9 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
185 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Camp Linyanti
Camp Linyanti
#14 of 20 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#33 of 71 in Okavango Delta
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp
Address: Linyanti Wildlife Reserve, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for Scandinavian royalty, Kings Pool looks out over a sparkling oxbow-shaped lagoon framed with reeds and punctuated by the occasional elephant moving through the water. Expansive decks in the main area echo the natural spaces, and an open-air 'kgotla' (boma) is the perfect setting for fine dining under the stars. Two hides - one with the water (and wildlife!) literally at eye-level - are perfect places to spend your siesta: elephant feet and trunks are almost within touching distance. End the day with sundowners on the elegant, colonial-style Queen Sylvia barge as she cruises down the Linyanti River. • 9 tents • 100% solar • game drives • guided walks • sunken hide • barge cruises • catch-and-release fishing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Pool Camp Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing