We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get much better than this!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unbelievable place and truly amazing.

I would highly recommend this camp and you will NOT be disappointed. My wife and I had very high expectations and they were all exceeded.

The only thing we felt that was lacking was a person or persons in charge.

No major complaints on anyone however they had a routine and they didn't like changes to that agenda. They certainly met our needs but maybe not as willingly as some of the other camps we visited. We rated Savuti #2 of the camps we visited.

One last thing; our guide "Lets" was more than amazing and we were blessed with an almost never seen experience. A kill by a pride of 8 lions against a herd of 9 Buffalo. It took 3 1/2 hours and our guide experience and patience made all the difference.

Room Tip: They are all amazing, we were lucky and had room # 2. THe best in the house and right next to the c...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I thought this camp was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. There are a few luxurious accommodation bungalows to this camp and the bungalows are located along the Savuti channel. When we arrived we were introduced to the manager Bujos and his team. They all really looked after us and the service was great. The channel was flowing and there were often elephants in the water and various antelope coming down to drink. The elephants were so close it was brilliant. The dining building where we all ate also had a bar and a great deck to sit and have an afternoon refreshment watching the wildlife. At dinner time the staff came and walked me from my bungalow to the dining building and back again after dinner. The meals were a set menu and were enjoyable. While we were on safari during the day the rooms were cleaned beautifully and my laundry washed and placed in my room. The camp is in an excellent location for game park driving. I had an absolutely fabulous experience at this camp.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirrilli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I've been there this August after a stay in Kalahari and Okawango Delta.
This is a Classic Camp of Wilderness Safari (means basic camp) and it show his age, but...
the location is AMAZING; right in front of the Savuti Channel (that this year is plenty of water), you can simply stay out of your tent and see Elephants crossing the channel and wildlife all around you.
Probably the best location we had in our Botswana trip.
The staff is friendly and very, very nice (always a plus of any Wildeness camps).
The food is good, but not special.
We were very lucky with our safari, but for what I have leant, every year is different here.
A special thank to our guide Lest, for the fantastic safari. He's a great man!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in Savuti in July, and had a wonderful time. The camp itself has a lovely setting, on the banks of the Savuti Channel - great for sunsets from the camp deck. All the rooms look out onto the channel too. Service was perfect throughout our stay, and food excellent.

In July early mornings and evenings are very cold - particularly as there was a wind blowing for one day - but the thick ponchos and hot water bottles provided for the drives made us comfortable.

Game viewing was spectacular - highlights for us being a lion cub (with clearly exasperated mother trying to get it to behave!), multiple leopard viewings, and close-up views of elephants drinking in the channel, seen from a boat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simonA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Savuti Camp was our first safari, first camp and first stop in Botswana. After what seemed like quite a drive through much sand and brown bush we arrived at Savuti Camp. We were greeted by staff and shown to our "tent" - The view of the channel from our "tent" was breathtaking. We had not be at camp 30 minutes....I am watching a herd of elephant cross the channel from our deck, impala are at the rivers edge and a beautiful Lilac Breasted Roller has stopped by for a photo sitting. We shared our guide with a couple honeymooning from Italy and they were the the only people we saw on safari for three days. Our sunset break was my favorite time of day! Day 1 - we had a glass of wine at sundown with a large male Lion, Day 2 - we shared our sundown drink with the Hippos in the channel, Day 3...we sat with a baby lion cub and his mother and aunt. The balance of the days were just as surprising and delightful and very full of wildlife. Our staff was excellent and we were well taken care of. The only discomfort was the bitter cold in the mornings. Winter in Africa - It does get cold!

Room Tip: Each room is on the channel - each view is unique!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WldTrvlDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Savuti was our second of two Wilderness Safari camps, after a blissful 2 days at Xigera. Savuti had a lot of competition to live up to the perfect days at Xigera, and they came very close. As others have written, first class from touch down at the run way, to departure. We saw the wild dogs both days, one day resting (just about 15 feet from our jeep) and we followed them on a hunt the second day. The most compelling moment was seeing the dogs greet each other after the kill, share the meat, giving us a peek at their amazing social structure. It was simply moving and we are grateful to Lets, our knowledgeable guide, for helping us experience that moment in nature.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choconancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This land-based camp is located along the stunning Savuti channel. The main lodge is inviting with beautiful views and the room large and well-appointed. The food was also very good. The Zambian staff were warm and welcoming, especially Lindi who greeted us on arrival. So what's not to like? Well, out first stop on this safari was the Xigera camp so our expectations for Savuti were very high. The manager of Savuti showed up once for a perfunctory hello and then we did not see him for the rest of our time--quite the contrast to Xigera where the manager seemed much more interested in ensuring that our visit was going well. Room pick-ups(you cannot walk unescorted after dark) were often late, and we had to shout out one night for our guide to come and get us so we could enjoy drinks before dinner. Laundry, while free, came back wet and crumpled in one instance. Service, at dinner was not always as attentive as it might have been. Overall, Savuti was very good but it could learn from Xigera.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re obviously thrilled that you had a good time at Xigera, but sad that your high expectations were not met at Savuti. The camp General Manager was only in camp on your arrival, as he had to be at DumaTau, however the rest of the management team were in place as normal.

Savuti usually generates excellent feedback and we have addressed all of the concerns mentioned to ensure that high standards are met when guests stay at the camp.

We truly appreciate the feedback, and hope that we have the opportunity to host you in the future and show you that Savuti excels in every way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#12 of 22 in Chobe National Park
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 22 in Chobe National Park
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 22 in Chobe National Park
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
#14 of 45 in Maun
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp

Address: Savuti Channel, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range: £369 - £775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the raised wooden deck of Savuti, one is able to marvel at the phenomenon of nature at work. Just beneath this remote safari camp flows the enigmatic Savute Channel, until recently a dry grassland. In 2008, the waters returned and as a result game concentrations are particularly high in the dry winter season. A thatched main area and viewing deck take in the scene, while exploring the length of the Savute and its associated woodlands by boat or vehicle is a highlight here. • 7 tents (1 family) • day and night game drives • guided walks • boating • hides ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savuti Camp Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing