We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Camp with Stunning Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Camp with Stunning Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this camp. Our villa was further down the boardwalk which we actually liked as it was a little more private and had great wildlife viewing given its slight removal from the main tented areas. We thought the room was good and the view was spectacular. The deck actually overhangs the Savuti Channel. One day we saw about 40 elephants cross the channel directly in front of our tent. Wildlife viewing was excellent. We saw wild dogs hunting, lions on several occasions including two up close hunting scenes where I was able to capture a lion in ful flight with one paw in the air just behind a fleeing buffalo. Lucky was our guide and he was very good. We did find the manner in which the guides here handled the two vehicle limit to not be as good as other camps but it was a minor issue for sure. I would reccomend this camp as a location to spend an extra night and a great spot if you want to take a day where you dont do two game drives but rather relax a little more and hang around the camp with some coctails and a book as the relaxing and beautiful setting and views were the best we saw.

Room Tip: We stayed in #6. Longer walk but great views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asheahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, after spending 3 nights in the Delta at a different company's camp. Savuti blew us away. The location on the channel is absolutely incredible—on more than one occasion we watched elephants crossing the water from our deck. The tents are a bit closer together than at our other camp, where we felt we had more privacy, but that would be my only complaint. Accommodations are nice and super clean—I have a serious bug phobia, but never worried about wearing shoes to the bathroom at night. (We were there in winter though, so it may be different another time of year!)

The highlight though, is the wildlife. Our guide, Ace, was incredible. We saw a huge group of wild dogs one day and then the next he tracked a pride of lions in the bush for 2 hours. Just as we were beginning to give up, there they were, sleeping off the effects of a big kill—the carcass half eaten. In between the dogs and the lions, we saw dozens of elephants. We also took a boat ride one afternoon and saw hippos, more elephants and dozens of birds. It's just a beautiful place—and pretty much private: we only ever saw one other Land Rover from another camp. (We didn't want to be at a place where 8 cars can descend on one sighting, so this was important to us.) We enjoyed our stay here more than in the Delta and felt that the camp management really cared that their guests got the most out of their stay. We would highly recommend Savuti to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unbelievable place and truly amazing.

I would highly recommend this camp and you will NOT be disappointed. My wife and I had very high expectations and they were all exceeded.

The only thing we felt that was lacking was a person or persons in charge.

No major complaints on anyone however they had a routine and they didn't like changes to that agenda. They certainly met our needs but maybe not as willingly as some of the other camps we visited. We rated Savuti #2 of the camps we visited.

One last thing; our guide "Lets" was more than amazing and we were blessed with an almost never seen experience. A kill by a pride of 8 lions against a herd of 9 Buffalo. It took 3 1/2 hours and our guide experience and patience made all the difference.

Room Tip: They are all amazing, we were lucky and had room # 2. THe best in the house and right next to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I thought this camp was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. There are a few luxurious accommodation bungalows to this camp and the bungalows are located along the Savuti channel. When we arrived we were introduced to the manager Bujos and his team. They all really looked after us and the service was great. The channel was flowing and there were often elephants in the water and various antelope coming down to drink. The elephants were so close it was brilliant. The dining building where we all ate also had a bar and a great deck to sit and have an afternoon refreshment watching the wildlife. At dinner time the staff came and walked me from my bungalow to the dining building and back again after dinner. The meals were a set menu and were enjoyable. While we were on safari during the day the rooms were cleaned beautifully and my laundry washed and placed in my room. The camp is in an excellent location for game park driving. I had an absolutely fabulous experience at this camp.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirrilli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivergaro
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I've been there this August after a stay in Kalahari and Okawango Delta.
This is a Classic Camp of Wilderness Safari (means basic camp) and it show his age, but...
the location is AMAZING; right in front of the Savuti Channel (that this year is plenty of water), you can simply stay out of your tent and see Elephants crossing the channel and wildlife all around you.
Probably the best location we had in our Botswana trip.
The staff is friendly and very, very nice (always a plus of any Wildeness camps).
The food is good, but not special.
We were very lucky with our safari, but for what I have leant, every year is different here.
A special thank to our guide Lest, for the fantastic safari. He's a great man!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in Savuti in July, and had a wonderful time. The camp itself has a lovely setting, on the banks of the Savuti Channel - great for sunsets from the camp deck. All the rooms look out onto the channel too. Service was perfect throughout our stay, and food excellent.

In July early mornings and evenings are very cold - particularly as there was a wind blowing for one day - but the thick ponchos and hot water bottles provided for the drives made us comfortable.

Game viewing was spectacular - highlights for us being a lion cub (with clearly exasperated mother trying to get it to behave!), multiple leopard viewings, and close-up views of elephants drinking in the channel, seen from a boat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simonA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Savuti Camp was our first safari, first camp and first stop in Botswana. After what seemed like quite a drive through much sand and brown bush we arrived at Savuti Camp. We were greeted by staff and shown to our "tent" - The view of the channel from our "tent" was breathtaking. We had not be at camp 30 minutes....I am watching a herd of elephant cross the channel from our deck, impala are at the rivers edge and a beautiful Lilac Breasted Roller has stopped by for a photo sitting. We shared our guide with a couple honeymooning from Italy and they were the the only people we saw on safari for three days. Our sunset break was my favorite time of day! Day 1 - we had a glass of wine at sundown with a large male Lion, Day 2 - we shared our sundown drink with the Hippos in the channel, Day 3...we sat with a baby lion cub and his mother and aunt. The balance of the days were just as surprising and delightful and very full of wildlife. Our staff was excellent and we were well taken care of. The only discomfort was the bitter cold in the mornings. Winter in Africa - It does get cold!

Room Tip: Each room is on the channel - each view is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WldTrvlDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#16 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 24 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp
Address: Savuti Channel, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the raised wooden deck of Savuti, one is able to marvel at the phenomenon of nature at work. Just beneath this remote safari camp flows the enigmatic Savute Channel, until recently a dry grassland. In 2008, the waters returned and as a result game concentrations are particularly high in the dry winter season. A thatched main area and viewing deck take in the scene, while exploring the length of the Savute and its associated woodlands by boat or vehicle is a highlight here. • 7 tents (1 family) • day and night game drives • guided walks • boating • hides ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savuti Camp Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing