We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, great camp!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Duma Tau ("lion's roar") camp borders on Chobe National Park and is part of a "concession" granted by government to companies for stated period of years. There are four camps in this concession but numbers are limited to 52 visitors a day so the area is not at all crowded. Since it is not in the national park, open vehicles can drive off road which increases the chances of great game sightings. This review is of the current camp (July 2012) but the location will move shortly to a new camp about 10 minutes away. Duma Tau has 10 tent chalets and overlooks a lagoon in the Linyanti Swamp area. There are two other Wilderness Safari camps in the concession: Savuti and King's Pool. My room (#7) was very spacious with large king bed, indoor/outdoor showers, a safe and charging unit in the room but no wi-fi and naturally no hair dryers. Lots of Charlotte Rhys amenities, even conditioner thankfully. The style is thatched roof and entire camp has narrow board wooden decking with pathways raised about 2 meters above ground. There is one lowered section for the eles to go through the camp! The camp also has resident birds, especially at lunch when the starlings and Bradfield's hornbill lurk to try to snatch food from plates. The deck in front of the room has a chaise looking out on part of the Linyanti Channel. The main buildings are comfortable though not extravagant. Everything is open, which can get cold in the winter months. The bar -- the Dung & Beetle -- is nicely stocked and if there is no one there you can just go behind and make your own drinks. The manager (KG) and staff (including our guide Name, Abby and Abbie, Mr. B, Ona and many others) were fun and very friendly. Down by the eating are there is a two-sided tented bathroom -- the so-called "loo with a view" -- that has a wonderful open front with view of the channel. Animals - especially eles -- do come into camp and by the tents. At night you hear many noises, especially the hippos ranging around looking for their night time food. The food is quite good, especially the brunch where you get eggs your way, bacon, sausage, fruit, cheese and several veggie/salad dishes plus some main type dish such as lamb kebab, chicken breasts, etc. You eat on a deck overlooking the Channel. Brunch is eaten with your guide and vehicle companions but dinner is communal. We had wonderful sightings of all kinds with our guide Name, including a large pride of lions with cubs and -- best of all -- a large pack of wild dogs!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

What a great place. The rooms comfortable with ceiling fans and mosquito nets built up with decks surrounding. Elephants come up really close to the rooms-felt very safe.
The people were all friendly the guides were great.
The game drives were great-leopard sighting with kill, large lion pride of over 12 with cubs,endangered wild dogs(Was fortunate to hear a serial presentation by a wild dog researcher)
A sunset water safari was nice to break up some of the game drives.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanie2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Duma Tau Tented Camp was beyond my expectations. Our guide, Mocks made sure we had great experiences with lions, elephants, leopards, hippos, wild dogs..... Mocks was so knowledgeable about the animals , birds and the whole area. He wanted us to have the best experience of our lives. No where else were we so close to elephants (a few feet) and lions, especially.

The large family style dining table and friendliness of the staff gave us the opportunity to meet and get to know some of the other guests. The food was great. It will be interesting to see what the new camp is like when it is finished.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Duma Tau Camp exceeded all our expectations.
Everyone was warm and welcoming, food was absolutely scrumptious and seeing a pack of 18 african wild dogs and the Duma Tau male leopard was simply the icing on the cake.

Our guide was "Mocks",who answered all our unending questions about the wild while at the same time giving us a really good game experience (the photos of animals that we took were all up close and great). We actually missed his driving skills when we left for our next camp.

About the game drives. Duma Tau is known as the elephant capital (country? city?) among safari camps and it did not disappoint. We saw an elephant herd taking an afternoon nap with their young right beside our walkway and we also found ourselves literally constantly in the middle of herds during our drives. As to other animals like impalas, kudus, hippos, giraffes, etc., they are in abundance as well that if you don't get a good photo of them now, you'd get a good photo of them in a couple of minutes.

My husband and I stayed for two nights, and wished we stayed longer. On our last night the staff prepared a private dinner for us by the pool area. We had a similar one prepared on our next camp but this one in Duma Tau was more personalized and sweet.

Ben, Claire, Gerard, Dudu, Mocks, Ona, et al, thank you for making our stay truly wonderful. We could not have asked for a more memorable first safari experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G212M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed in Duma Tau at the end of April 2012.
The camp was not good and the service also not good. The camp was not clean. They will open the new duma tau camp in july 2012 and that you could see. The food was worst. We did 3 wilderness camps and this was a complet other level than the other camps. And we did all 3 classic camps.So normally they must have the same food service and cleanness. Also the barman Mister B was also a great guy !! But the manager of the camp they were not friendly.
But our guide Tank made our stay wonderfull their that we forgot the bad food and other things !!!!! At the time we stay their, their were some other couples with us in the jeep and they had the same meaning off all the things. That you can not campare the other wilderness camps with this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cederic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I agree with all the other 5-star posts. Wilderness Safaris are great! My guide’s name was “Name”. I was amazed at what work and energy the entire staff put into making this a great camp. Meals were out of this world! I could tell they really cared about their work. It’s a private reserve so there’s never more than 3 cars around animals and we were the only car around a leopard and her cub. Bottom line is that this is a smooth operation. Check out the photos I took from Duma Tau.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnglen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

3 nights not enough! Saw wild dogs hunting on two occasions and a third stealing a leopard kill and corralling it up a tree ! Staff all seemed so happy and enthusiastic . Really enjoyed the braai . Moses and Bobby ,keep it up!! . Not having attended a "premier camp" I can't really comment but why pay twice as much when the "classic camps" offer such a great experience ? Our 6 days at Tubu and Duma Tau were unforgettable . Well done to Wilderness for their professional hands on service - all your staff ,from baggage handlers to guides and managers did Botswana and Zimbabwe proud .

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Exsaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#25 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing