We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here over new year for 3 days. Unfortunately it was raining and this presented some challenges, in particular, everything got wet and had trouble drying out, but on the whole it didn't spoil our stay here. Some sort of drying room would be a good addition. eco- of course. They have fantastic poncho's that keep all the rain out and subsequently you dry inside :) We asked and were shown around behind the scenes working of a fully solar eco friendly camp. This was very interesting and an eye opener. The game we saw here was just amazing with our guide/tracker Name (Namezehar)......what a legend he was, and what an enriching fantastic experience we had because of his skills. We saw some of the best game here out of the 4 Wilderness camps we stayed. The food was OK, I would have preferred more local or Botswanian meals on the menu as I can eat western style meals at home. No complaints, it was all good, and I recommend a stay here. Note, the guides get a 'gratuity' / tip of US$ 10 per person per day, and there is a gratuity box for the rest of the local staff.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ozros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Ozros,

Thank you for your great review. We are very blessed to have many great guides in our camp and Name is definitely one of the great ones.

Gratuities/ tipping can often be a tricky process and for this we have a little guideline to assist guests with this. If the service you have received was exceptional, a gratuity may be in order. If you wish to tip, all camp staff should be tipped communally, with the exception of the guides and the boat captain. For the communal tip there is a gratuity box in the bar area. An amount of US$10.00 per guest per day is a suggested tip. Should you wish to leave something for your guide, we suggest US$10.00 per guest per day and for the boat captain we would suggest US$5.00 per person per activity. It is suggested that you tip once – only at the end of your stay.

Thank you for pointing this out for future guests.
The DumaTau Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was the second of 4 camps on our trip. Overall we found it the best for service and the welcoming attitude of the staff. The tented rooms are smart and modern, the staff are friendly and attentive without being obsequious, and the game interesting and varied. We liked having the alternatives of land and water based activities. Food was good but not exceptional

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdtw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Pdtw 2014,

Thank you for your great review, we will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Activities available at DumaTau include game drives and motor boat trips on the Linyanti River lagoon system (water levels permitting) or an excursion on the DumaTau barge. Walking is also an option, but must be prearranged with your guide or camp manager, as not all guides are qualified for walking in Botswana. Catch-and-release fishing is a seasonal activity and available on request. There are also a number of platforms and hides near camp from which to view and photograph wildlife.

Thank you again for your kind words
The DumaTau Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This place was built here about a year ago. It is totally green, everything from the sun. Food good, service good, rooms very comfortable. You get to your. Room on elevated walkways. There are breaks for elephants and hippos to walk past. Encountered a hippo one night on the side of the walkway. He was below me. The guide was excellent. Well managed. There are boat rides and a place to sit over the water. Sunsets gorgeous.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank happyflyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Happyflyer45,

Thank you for your kind reveiw. DumaTau is not enclosed by a fence or any other protective structure. Wild animals can and do wander freely throughout the whole area at all times of the day and night, and must be treated with the utmost respect. Please be careful when moving around the camp during the day and please do not leave the camp perimeters at any time, unless accompanied by a guide. Confine your walking to the camp boardwalks. It is company policy that guests must be escorted to and from their tented units after dark. Please do not leave your accommodation until morning and do not be alarmed by any sounds you may hear: each tent is situated on a raised deck and you are far safer in here than you are leaving to investigate the noise. Just relax and enjoy the sounds of Africa!

Thank you again
The DumaTau Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having visited many of Wilderness Safaris camps in Botswana, South africa, Zimbabwe and Malawi, I am again amazed at how excellently they are run and kept, in these pristine and remote areas! Hats off !! Duma Tau is no exception!
The camp was moved to a brand new location on the exquisitely beautiful Osprey lagoon on the Linyanti river. All tents have views on the stunning lagoon and the vast palm fringed floodplains of the area. Elephant crossings are seen daily, as the crossing places are close to camp.
Duma Tau's tents are larger than the standard Classic camps. They have a fresh, airy design and kept immaculately clean.
The Duma Tau team was great. The staff were all positive and energetic, always available and ready to help.Thanks to Ashley, Murray, Tara, Catherine and the team.
Our guides at all Wilderness camps have always been exceptional, but Moses was outstanding!! He is so enthusiastic and knowledgable. We really had exceptional sitings: Wild Dog teaching their young to hunt, confrontation between Lion and Hiena, Leopard stalking. close encounters with Ellies, numerous birds and so much more.
The food was also outstanding. We especially enjoyed the great variety at lunch.
We also enjoyed being able to do gamedriving as well as boating, and the barge trip was very comfy and relaxing.
Our favoutite place was the floating bar on the lagoon. Every night a fire was lit there and one could enjoy pre-dinner drinks with the cool blue waters surrounding you and the sounds of frogs and crickets to amuse you.

Room Tip: No 10 is at the far side next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear ritaSouthAfrica,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review on tripadvisor and how wonderful it has been to be able to welcome you back to our camps. We are so very pleased that you love the new DumaTau Camp, which really is situated in a most beautiful spot on the banks of Osprey Lagoon. It would seem once again that Wilderness Safaris have not disappointed in our offering. What a lovely sighting to see Wild Dog teaching their young to hunt and to end the day off with a drink in hand on the floating bar on the lagoon.

Hoping to be able to host you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

THis was the last lodge after a 8 week trip and it couldn't of been more prefect. As you step into the lodge you notice the beautiful setting overlooking the Linyanti River. The tents were large, beautiful and private. The staff was amazing.. The food was wonderful. I also loved that this was the only lodge that offered a couple a chance to dine alone or with other lodge guest. We spent three nights, one night they had a private table setup near the water with candles. On our last night the lodge setup a table far from the lodge, and our diner came down the river on a small boat. They gave us two servers out under the stars….
The lodge also gave us a private jeep and driver. Nice surprise. Our guide was one of the best we had. He realized that we had already seen many of the animals so he went out of his way to find unique animals we never saw. Our guide also took us on our only armed walking tour. It really was interesting you soon remember your in the wild. The manager of the lodge even took the time to take my husband out fishing.

There is nothing this lodge wouldn't do to make their guest happy!

Room Tip: all rooms are great, private and overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear dmc112,

WOW, 8 weeks is indeed a long trip and we are so glad that your final camp and impressions of Africa (hopefully not for the last time though) was with us at DumaTau. Although we appreciate all forms of feedback – the positive ones are naturally always so much nicer to receive and help make us realise amongst all the day-to-day things, that at the end of it all, we are in such a privileged position to be able to create some really wonderful memories for you, the guest. Memories, which hopefully you will be able to carry with you for a long time to come.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope that we will be seeing you at one of our many other camps sometime in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a fabulous time in Duma Tau! Between the knowledge of our Guide, the abundance of animals, and the professionalism of the staff, we could not have had a better experience. The staff did everything possible to make us feel special ... from a birthday celebration for one of our party (4 of us) to a cocktail party on the floating dock under the stars. Although it was warm ... well, hot ... the plunge pool kept us cool during the heat of the day. The food was remarkable, as well as the special cocktails offered each day. Every outing brought something new and exciting to our adventure.
My only negative comment has nothing to do with the camp. The vehicles need better maintenance, or replacement. Obviously, they are well used going through the bush, frequent starts and stops, however, this should be taken into consideration in a camp of this caliber, and price.

Room Tip: Although we were further away from the main lodge, we were close to the plunge pool. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Duma Tau is an established camp and is run with great care and precision. The tents are spacious, well appointed and cleaned to perfection daily. We were very pleased with the level of service and the excellent menus at brunch and dinner. The game drives produced an array of animals for our observation. The unique and endangered African Wild Dogs were observed with nine pups as were the larger game animals. We were very fortunate to share our land rover with a British couple who have been to Africa over 20 times and always include Duma Tau as one of their venues - that speaks to the quality and atmosphere of the camp

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing