We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful - staff and managers were professional and friendly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful - staff and managers were professional and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This was our last of 3 Wilderness Safari camps we stayed at. We had a wonderful time here!

The Managers we worked closely with (Gideon and Gabby) were amazingly professional when we encountered issues with a few of the other guests who were rude and difficult to be around but the staff handled the situation with style and grace. The issue was in no way their fault and the situation showed the excellent training they receive. I should note that other than these four we had amazing experiences with all the other guests we met throughout our trip and exchanged email address and have already been in touch with many. Including the 12 Swiss guests who were at our camp at the same time!!!

This camp had the best food of the three we visited, the food was very good at the others, but Duma Tau won the award for best food. The food at all the camps were simple, well spiced and delicious - but there was something special at Duma Tau!

Our guide, Ron, was wonderful and also did a great job with our "special" situation. He was knowledgeable and fun to be with, always finding great animals for us to see!! Watching a herd of elephant decide to cross the river to Namibia and then do it was a sight to see!

I would highly recommend this camp and Wilderness Safaris!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodiDH503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    26
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed in 7 Wilderness camps on our trip and this one was the most disappointing, not on the game side of things, but because of the attitude of one of the camp managers and the holes that were in our tent. During our orientation of this camp, the camp manager who was called "Abby" was condisending and curt. He really treated us like silly school kids, not as highly paying guests. His behaviour was compounded the next day by a similar attitude as he chided me for not having my meal at the correct time (I was unwell and not on a game drive that day). Given I had been invited to dine when I wanted by another manager, I was particularly peeved at Abby.

Also, our tent was invaded by 3 of the camp squirrels who ran riot in the room. Another manager responded to my asking for help and found 2 large holes in the tent - ample room for the squirrels to enter. The matter was fixed however within the hour.

The game is fantastic and the guides great. Watch our for sunburn however, Duma Tau has game vehicles that have no canopy at all. 10 hours in the hot sun will defeat most types of sunblock and a hat.

The other peeve with this camp was that no-one was expecting us at the airstrip. If not for the camp dropping people off, we would have been left there at the airstrip with no way to contact anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marleemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

This camp was selected as part of a 2 week Africa trip with help from Craig Beal at Travel Beyond. He knew we wanted to experience several different ecosystems during our brief stay and he suggested this larger camp (10 tents) for our large group (7 people in 3 tents), as an opportunity to experience mopane and Kalahari apple leaf woodlands and huge herds of elephants on the floodplains of the Linyanti and Savute Channel. Because this is a large camp, it was quite lively, with lots of other guests to interact with and a large enthusiastic staff that sang, danced, and drummed for us one night. Despite the camp’s size, we never saw another Rover out on drives except when another guide radioed our guide to let us know the location of two young lionesses.

Location: Located in the Linyanti Concession, this camp is near the Chobe National Park. The concession is located in northern Botswana, and at one point we were gazing across the water to the wilderness of the Caprivi strip in Namibia on the other bank during one of our sundowner breaks!

Service:
Everyone here worked to make us feel comfortable and pampered. The managers immediately identified that we wanted to enjoy the serenity of the bush and set us up in tents at the edge of camp. They checked in to assure we had that peace and quiet we were seeking. My daughter was ill one evening, and a manager, Lizzie, came bearing juice and easy to eat foods assembled by the cook staff for her, then checked her vital signs, phoned them into the Wilderness nurse, and followed up that night and the next day to see if she had improved.
The cook staff, having read I was vegetarian in my pre trip questionnaire, provided an additional entrée for me on nights when red meat was on the buffet, despite the fact that I could find more than enough to eat from the large selection of vegetable, bean, and aubergine (eggplant) side dishes available. The managers and staff here just seemed like there was nothing they wouldn’t do for you!
Our guide, Lazarus, was terrific, full of youthful enthusiasm for the area. Easy-going despite one drive when not once, not twice, but 3 times things went flying off the Rover and he had to retrieve them for us. And he did an excellent job describing the habitat and behavior of the animals we saw. It must be harder for the guides near the end of a trip to get a “thrill” out the guests than the first guide…but our guide was able to share something new and exciting about the game we were seeing, even when we weren’t seeing something new.

Dining:
<Disclaimer: I am probably not the best person to review food, as I am a food for fuel person, but we had a diverse group; a vegetarian, 2 “foodie” adults-one a Brit, and 3 teens-one not so adventurous, and the food was positively reviewed by everyone in our group, and everyone found plenty to enjoy at every meal!>
This camp is rated by WS as “Classic” so meals are buffet style, with eggs cooked to order at brunch. There were lots of options here because of the relatively larger number of guests. Everything was delicious, and one night we enjoyed a traditional African dinner, which was lots of fun as well as excellent food.

Rooms/tents:
There were 10 tents; 5 each arrayed in opposite directions from the main public areas, on a raised (pretty high up in places, it was fun!) walkway. The tents were on platforms overlooking the hippo lagoon. We could hear the hippo, but saw red lechewee in the water. Baboons were often high up in the trees around the tents, and fun to watch, but we had to “lock” our doors to prevent them from making a visit while we were out! Our room had a large netted bed in half the room. The room was divided by a large storage divider. The other half of the room was the bathroom, with a shower, toilet and sink in the open area. Lots of storage, safe, and benches at the end of the bed for luggage. A nice private deck with lounge chairs and an outdoor shower. Our teens family tent had all the same amenities as in the main tent, but had a small hallway just past the bathroom half with another tent attached with twins. There was no way for the girls to leave the twin room without passing through the bathroom, which caused some traffic and privacy issues for them, which they solved by draping a bed spread near the toilet area, so they could pass through when it was in use.

Activities and Game:
This camp like most WS Camps operates a schedule whereby guests are up very early (how early depends on the season, how light it is) your guide wakes you and brings coffee and a while later escorts you to the dining area for breakfast before heading out on a game activity. During the activity, you will stop for coffee and some light refreshments. Usually, you will return around 11:30 for brunch, which will include hot food and eggs cooked to order. After brunch there is time to relax in your tent or around camp till about 2:30 or 3 when tea is served. This is usually snacks and drinks before you head out on an afternoon activity at 4. During the afternoon game activity, there will be a stop at sunset (in winter) to enjoy drinks and refreshments and then return to camp for dinner outside between 8:00 or 9 PM. After that, many guests head for bed, but some may stay up at the bar for a little bit.
Only at Duma Tau for 2 nights, we spent our time by the Linyanti and Savute watching game such as hippos and elephants and water birds and in the mopane woodlands looking for predators and other game. The highlight of our drives were watching the enormous elephant herds that live in the area and seeing hippos out of the water. In the woodlands, we enjoyed tracking two shy lioness and seeing how the impala reacted to their presence. We loved seeing a huge dazzle of zebra emerge from the trees and surround our Rover and we spotted a mother and young hyena one night. The beauty of the landscape was captivating, as well as the huge diversity of birds here, with both water and woodland habitats.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We spent three nights at Duma Tau in July and can't say enough good things about it.

The game viewing was incredible. We saw wild dogs hunting impala, a lion stalking zebra and large herds of elephants crossing the Linyanti River using their trunks for snorkels. We also saw leopard, hippos, hyenas and giraffe. Our guide, Moses, was fantastic. His enthusiasm for the animals was contagious, and he was just great with our teenage kids.

The service at Duma Tau was better than at the other Wilderness Safari camp we visited. From the hot water for tea every morning at 5:30am to the group welcome back to camp every evening to the nightly escort to our door, we were completely pampered the whole time. I don't know how they manage to have everyone on staff be so friendly and attentive - kudos to managers Lizzie and Anton.

The cabins were basic but comfortable. The food was excellent, and we sorely miss our afternoon tea buffet!

We couldn't have had a better experience on our first safari.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I visited Duma Tau after leaving Mombo (an impossible act to follow), and we had adjusted our expectations to expect a less pleasurable experience. But guess what? We thought Duma Tau was great! The menus and food prep were wonderful, the staff and managers lovely and entertaining, and our guide, Moses, was the best guide of our trip. The managers arranged a surprise, private anniversary dinner on our deck the last night of our 2-night visit, a very special touch! The camp has a relaxed feel, but still has elegant touches here and there (many of the managers and guides transferred from Mombo).

Moses is a real worker, and we saw lots of game in this very beautiful area of Botswana. He gave us much more additional information about the animals that the other guides did. Moses is a walking encyclopedia!

You'll love this camp.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Get out of Dodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

The camp is located in the Linyanti region near the border with Namibia. I stayed in one of the ten comfortable tents on the shore of a lagoon. My tent had two beds, a sink, a hot shower, and a flush toilet. Breakfast and dinner were illuminated by paraffin lanterns that cast a warm glow around the dinner table, where all the guests and some staff dined together. Afternoon tea was served promptly at 3 PM in the lounge. Electricity was provided by batteries that were recharged by a generator.

I enjoyed the game drives with the guide that began in the morning (6:30 AM) and afternoon (3:30 PM). During the rest period between the game drives, I did laundry, cleaned my camera, and wrote in my journal. The wildlife at DumaTau was numerous and diverse. I had excellent photographic opportunities.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Duma Tau. And we owe a lot of it to our safari guide while we were there - Ron. Ron has a real gift for finding and spotting game. And that comes in handy during the rainy season when the game are not as easy to find. If you go to Duma Tau, ask for Ron. You will be happy you did.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrldTraveler0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#12 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing