We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New year visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
The canal in front of the playing green at the cottage cottage The playing green in front of the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
The canal in front of the playing green at the cottage cottage
The playing green in front of the cottages
Couch in front lounge leading to kitchen
Front lounge leading to front garden
Dining kitchen
Double bedroom facing canal
Double bed room door to bathroom and landing
Seating bench in front garden overlooking canal
Twin bedroom with two single beds - outlook to back
Bathroom with claw foot bath to relax with chilled glass of wine
Path to front green and canal
Bridge over canal
The green, canal and cottages and the rainbow
Climb to see if the footprint fits - and then crown yourself the King of the Scots at Dunadd
The resident swans on the canal
Dunardy bridge One of the many bridges over the canal
The boats going though for the yearly race on the canal
The Puffer otherwise knows as the Vic 32
Crinan Beach - great for walking the dog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year visit”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Lovely and cosy and very welcoming. Great log burner and everything that you need in the cottage. Despite the weather we still managed to get out for a walk every day with the dogs. Booked Tayvallich Inn for a meal - would recommend. It was lovely. The cottage is well .situated for exploring the surrounding area which has many historical sites. Would not hesitate in returning to the cottage. 10 out of 10 Pauline

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you Anne for taking the time to review the cottage and I really appreciate this. Always happy to accommodate people with dogs and especially when they leave the place immaculate. I look forward to welcoming you and the doggies back to the cottage and hope the weather improves for our four legged friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndamacl...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect, pet friendly, cottage on the banks of Crinan Canal”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed in this property over Christmas, the property was excellent; clean, tidy and warm and most importantly we could take our dog.
The owner of the property was always contactable and helped make our stay all the more better due to her help with things to do and see in the area.
The property is in a beautiful location and very quiet and ideal for long walks down the canal with our dog and easily accessible for shops/pubs/restaurants.
Overall it was an excellent place to stay and relax over the busy festive period.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. I really appreciate it and really happy to hear that Scoobie enjoyed his many walks along the canal and meeting other dogs. I look forward to welcoming you all back and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces6...
1 review
“A Wee Break”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Cottage was very comfortable, cosy, clean & warm, Very well equipped.
Well informed about the area and things to do although the weather didn't lend itself to do these things. To be able to walk straight onto the Crinan Canal from the front door is definitely a bonus.
Hopefully we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2017
"Thank you both so much for your recent review to the new cottage and I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and I really look forward to welcoming you both again - hopefully not in the too distant future."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer30...
1 review
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just loved this cosy cottage, as did my wee dog. The cottage is also very well equipped. Beautiful walks all around.A return visit is on the cards.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you choose the cottage and had a wonderful time - as you said it is a stunning area with lots to see and do and it would be great to see you both back again in the future - I always give discounts to returning visitors. Thank you again for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Excellent,dog friendly,canal on the doorstep.”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Excellent cottage,dog friendly, outstanding views, excellent walks,just behind the cottage,owner so friendly,hope to be back again shortly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
So pleased you had a good week and enjoyed the cottage. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I forward to welcoming you again later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in excellent location”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A lovely fully appointed cottage alongside the Crinan Canal close to Lochgilphead.

The accommodation has everything you could possible need. Very cosy and comfortable and handy for Canal walks, yards from the front door, beaver tray, Arran ferry is not too distant if you fancy a bit of island hopping. Convenient parking at the end of the short terrace of cottages.

Very attentive owner who makes sure all is OK, and pleasant neighbours.

All in all thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you very much Steve and Lin for taking the time to submit a review and also for such a good review even though you were very unlucky with the weather. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again some time remember I give 10% discount for repeat customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W
2 reviews
“Excellent place to explore The Crinan Canal”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely compact well equipped cottage, close to canal
As Britains most beautiful short cut, must be the best walk in UK
Our spaniel swam most of it
The Crinan Hotel is well worth a visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you both so much for your recent review to the new cottage and I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and it seems doggie also enjoyed the canal. I really look forward to welcoming you both again - hopefully not in the too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing