We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility at its est”
other travellers have booked this property
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
The canal in front of the playing green at the cottage cottage The playing green in front of the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
The canal in front of the playing green at the cottage cottage
The playing green in front of the cottages
Couch in front lounge leading to kitchen
Front lounge leading to front garden
Dining kitchen
The red kitchen at no8 outlook to back
Double bed room door to bathroom and landing
Seating bench in front garden overlooking canal
Twin bedroom with two single beds - outlook to back
Bathroom with claw foot bath to relax with chilled glass of wine
Path to front green and canal
Bridge over canal
The green, canal and cottages and the rainbow
Climb to see if the footprint fits - and then crown yourself the King of the Scots at Dunadd
The resident swans on the canal
Dunardy bridge One of the many bridges over the canal
The boats going though for the yearly race on the canal
The Puffer otherwise knows as the Vic 32
Crinan Beach - great for walking the dog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lurganbob
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquility at its est”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Almost exactly halfway along the Crinan Cannal this cosy, yet with everything you could wish for, terraced cottage is ideal for a couple to explore beautiful Mid Argyll, with a trip to Tayvallich highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Many thanks for your review of the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back later this year together with your bikes for more exploring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location, toddler and pet friendly - we're already planning our next holiday there!”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just after booking, we were struck by such a warm welcome with emails and helpful, individually tailored advice from the owner Pauline. The cottage itself is beautiful - just the perfect size for our family and warm and cosy with the open fire lit. The decor is very tasteful. We particularly loved the roll top bath. The cottage has a small garden and there is a large shared green out the front overlooking the canal, which came in handy for our dog and toddler to run around in moments of latent energy! The surrounding area is idyllic - just stunning! There is a Forestry commission woodland a few minutes walk away and hundreds of beautiful places to walk! Our wildlife sightings included highland cattle (!) in the forest and Roe deer in the garden. What a friendly place too - the neighbours were keen to say hello and welcome us to the area with helpful suggestions for places to eat and sights to see. Having visited the area regularly as a child - I knew it was a great location. There are plenty of beautiful places to visit within the local area; Crinan itself is very pretty. The small fishing village of Tarbert is 30 minutes away; Lochgilphead 3 miles away and Campeltown, Oban and Inverary within easy drive. We loved it so much - we are already planning our next holiday there!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you so much for writing such an informative review - which is really appreciated. I looking forward to meeting you on your next visit especially when I offer discounts for returning visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acfdclxvi
Dunfermline
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy wee getaway.”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I booked this cottage due to its location and reasonable price. I wasn't disappointed as it is a lovely wee place, easy to keep and cosy (once I had mastered the wood burner - town folk, lol). It is a stones throw from the canal which was ideal for walks and trips on our bikes. A good base for Lochgilphead, Oban, Inveraray and Campeltown too.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the area - I look forward to welcoming you both back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year visit”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Lovely and cosy and very welcoming. Great log burner and everything that you need in the cottage. Despite the weather we still managed to get out for a walk every day with the dogs. Booked Tayvallich Inn for a meal - would recommend. It was lovely. The cottage is well .situated for exploring the surrounding area which has many historical sites. Would not hesitate in returning to the cottage. 10 out of 10 Pauline

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you Anne for taking the time to review the cottage and I really appreciate this. Always happy to accommodate people with dogs and especially when they leave the place immaculate. I look forward to welcoming you and the doggies back to the cottage and hope the weather improves for our four legged friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndamacl...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect, pet friendly, cottage on the banks of Crinan Canal”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed in this property over Christmas, the property was excellent; clean, tidy and warm and most importantly we could take our dog.
The owner of the property was always contactable and helped make our stay all the more better due to her help with things to do and see in the area.
The property is in a beautiful location and very quiet and ideal for long walks down the canal with our dog and easily accessible for shops/pubs/restaurants.
Overall it was an excellent place to stay and relax over the busy festive period.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. I really appreciate it and really happy to hear that Scoobie enjoyed his many walks along the canal and meeting other dogs. I look forward to welcoming you all back and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A Wee Break”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Cottage was very comfortable, cosy, clean & warm, Very well equipped.
Well informed about the area and things to do although the weather didn't lend itself to do these things. To be able to walk straight onto the Crinan Canal from the front door is definitely a bonus.
Hopefully we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2017
"Thank you both so much for your recent review to the new cottage and I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and I really look forward to welcoming you both again - hopefully not in the too distant future."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just loved this cosy cottage, as did my wee dog. The cottage is also very well equipped. Beautiful walks all around.A return visit is on the cards.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you choose the cottage and had a wonderful time - as you said it is a stunning area with lots to see and do and it would be great to see you both back again in the future - I always give discounts to returning visitors. Thank you again for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing