We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful week in a beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Crinan Canal Cottage on the banks of the canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crinan Canal Cottage on the banks of the canal
The Cottage on the Green at front Lounge with log file outlook to canal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Crinan Canal Cottage on the banks of the canal
The Cottage on the Green at front
Lounge with log file outlook to canal
Stairs to bedrooms and shower
Kitchen
Table in dinning kitchen
The rocking chair to relax in and stairs to bedrooms
Twin bedroom with outlook to forest at back
Double bedroom with walk in wardrobe bedroom
Shower room at the Cottage
Shower room
Cycling path in front of cottages
Swing bridge at Cairnbaan
Entrance to the Crinan Canal
Crinan Harbour with Puffer Boat
The Vic in Crinan harbour
Vital Spark - otherwise known as 'The Puffer'
Crinan
Crinan Ferry Beach
Nether Largie Standing Stones
Dunadd Foot Print - King of Scotland if your foot fits!
The Canal
Corryvrechan Whirlpool
Rainbow over canal and cottages
The Table bench perfect for relaxing and a glass of wine - which sorry  is not provided
Front of house - showing putting green - putter and soft golf balls provided - why not have a game!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave_in_W...
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is in Cairnbaan, a small village on the Crinan Canal about three miles from Lochgilphead. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything anyone could want, including a log fire if the evenings are cold. Although Cairnbaan is small with just a pub (which does excellent meals). there are so many things to do in the area. Every day was filled with trips out to historical sights and museums, interesting towns, and excellent pubs and restaurants. The walking was wonderful, both on the canal and on the Kintyre Way and not a midge was seen all week! Altogether a wonderful trip.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your very detailed review of the cottage and the surrounding areas which is greatly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back again at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Janic...
1 review
“Very enjoyable short stay by Crinan Canal”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We can recommend Pauline's cottage. It is in a great location next to Crinan Canal. It was well equipped and clean, with friendly neighbours (good to know when it's on a terrace). Pauline was very helpful in advance with the information she was able to provide. We felt welcomed and comfortable and would like to return some day.

The area itself is fascinating, in terms of wildlife and history/archaeology. We felt we had only managed to scratch the surface and look forward to a return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you very much for your review and it is great to hear that you want to come back to the cottage and I hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage in a fabulous location half way along the Crinan Canal”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is a lovely cosy cottage perfectly situated at the mid-way point of the famous Crinan Canal. It has a log burner, two good sized bedrooms and a well-equipped kitchen. There is plenty of car parking and a shed to store bikes.
The scenery along the canal is stunning and varied - where else can you experience mountains, hillsides covered in rainforests, a peat bog and sea lochs all running alongside a nine-mile stretch of canal? It is perfect for cycling and walking - there are so many beautiful walks in the immediate area, many with spectacular views over the mountains and the Sound of Jura. There are so many interesting places to visit - Kilmartin Glen with its ancient monuments and the famous Dunadd Fort where ancient kings were crowned and Knapdale Forest with its many lochs and craggy forested hillsides. It is a great area for wildlife - we visited the Scottish Beaver trail and saw sea otters on the peninsula overlooking the Sound of Jura near Kiel’s Chapel.
The owner, Pauline, was extremely helpful and attentive, making our holiday run smoothly. I would definitely recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
"Many thanks for such a glowing report on my cottage - it makes me want to book it myself - it is also really appreciated that you took the time to fill in the visitors book. I hope to see you again for your next visit soon. Remember I give discounts to returning visitors"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norriesco...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cosy Pet Friendly”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Four nights on the banks of the Crinan Canal - superb! This cosy two-bed cottage is ideal for a break in some of Scotland's most fantastic scenery. Nearby (200 yards) is the Cairnbahn Hotel/restaurant with superb food and again dog friendly. Also the Crinan Hotel (again dog friendly) is three miles away at the sea lock and serves some great food and a good selection of drinks. Outlook towards the Dorris Mor and the Corryvreckin must be one of the most stunning vistas Scotland has to offer
The cottage is one of eight in a terraced block and has its own enclosed front garden. The canal is a stone's throw away. There is a great little log burning stove and heaters in every room. Wi-fi operates well and all the usual equipment is available. Although there isn't a bath, the shower room is spacious and a good shower.
The owner is most welcoming and is on hand should you need help or advice. She has a second similar cottage a few doors away in the same block so ideal for families to book together.
A very enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for your most informative feedback on the cottage Norrie - it is indeed most welcome and I look forward to welcoming you and also your family back to both the cottage later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen O
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation also beautiful area.l”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Having just spent 5 days in this lovely cosy cottage , I would highly recommend it. Pauline the owner has thought of everything one needs while self catering ! Stunning area , beautiful scenery , even at this time of year !! Lovely walks along the Crinan Canal one of , my favourite places in Scotland , never disappoint s , Looking for a stress free holiday this is the place to be .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
"Thank you very much Ellen for taking the time to submit a review and also for such a good review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and meeting up with your family in the area and I also seeing you again in March Remember I give 10% discount for repeat customers."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimba534
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfy, cosy haven - the perfect escape”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My new wife and I came here on our honeymoon and had a blast.

Even before we had arrived, the owner Pauline went out of her way to email us with loads of info on all the surrounding restaurants, walks and things to do.

When we got there, the cottage was perfect. Nestled in the middle of a row of little houses next to the canal, the little garden was perfect for our dog to sniff about in and there was a fire set in the lovely wood-burner in the living room.

The kitchen was perfectly equipped with everything we needed, and we cooked a few meals during our stay - including delicious fish from the local shop at Lochgilphead.

It was a thrill to wake up in the morning and see the masts of yachts float by along the canal. We'd recommend walking along the Crinan canal to the Seafood Bar at the Crinan Hotel for lunch (where the food is sensational), have a glass of wine, then a walk along the beach.

We also did a full day trip to Mull, Iona and Staffa - wee islands off the coast. It was an early start and an hour drive to set off from Oban but it was one of the best days out we've had in ages. We had a choppy sail from Mull to Staffa, but it was worth it to see baby seals, dolphins and otters diving about in the surf.

After the thrilling (but wet and windy) day, it was heaven to get back to No.4, light the fire and tuck into some haggis, neeps and tatties in front of a film. Needless to say we slept soundly, and the comfy bed just added to our rest.

We could have stayed for three weeks, but only booked 6 nights, but will definitely be back! We came back relaxed, happy and eager to see more of the area on our next trip.

Thanks a million for a wonderful holiday! xxxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you very much Andrea and Clare for taking the time to write such a positive review - I am absolutely delighted that you choose to spend your Honeymoon at the cottage and had a wonderful time - as you said it is a stunning area with lots to see and do and it would be great to see you both back again in the future - I always give discounts to returning visitors. Thank you again for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
401bookin...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Although compact, the cottage has everything that you might need and is a great location near the canal, perfect for walks along the towpath, and a good centre to explore Argyll's sights and countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. This is really appreciated and I look forward to many repeat visits to this area and cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing