We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairnbaan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Argyll Inn(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochgair Hotel(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stonefield Castle(Stonefield)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
84
100
47
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
100
47
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrinan canalseafoodexcellent mealvaried menuscallopsresidents loungefish cakesmain coursesunny dayfirst floorwatching the boatspiping hotdinner menulovely locationstayed here for one nighttow pathshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Cairnbaan is located in one of the most idyllic areas of the west coast with little competition in the area. Food in the restaurant is very good, particularly the sea food and served by friendly, smiling staff. The accommodation side of the hotel in our experience reflects a different standard however. Although some effort has been made to provide modern furnishings, bed linens and facilities, the beds themselves leave a lot to be desired and in one of the rooms we occupied on the first floor the springs were very evident, resulting in a very uncomfortable night. The guest sitting room was comfortable and warm. The carpets in the dining room in particular are very much in need of renewing. A pity that standards in such an iconic hotel have been allowed to slip, although as said earlier the food is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal on the first floor have good views but inspect mattress
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently stayed here taking advantage of their offer of £62 pp DBB fot two persons sharing.
There were 3 in our party and the third person was charged £95 DBB for a single room,no reduction forthcoming. Both rooms were quite small and badly lit,the double's bathroom shaverlight over the mirror did not work although reported at once was not repaired,leaving my wife no mirror for her use,also the extractor cover and ceiling light were caked in dust or festooned with cobwebs. The single didn't have a towel rail. Overall the Hotel was in a shabby state of repair and décor.

The food was good but spoilt by serving huge portions which resulted in most of the main courses being returned uneaten.

The one saving grace was the Girls who were very attentive and friendly at all times.

On the basis of our experience we would not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before booking or request a description when booking by phone/net
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spent a night in the hotel, receptionist was well mannered and very helpful, to the point of taking us to our room. The room was spacious and well maintained. We were told that we could turn heating on but the ambient temperature in the room was great both when we arrived and first thing the next morning.

Bathroom was the size of some hotel bedrooms I have been in. Evening meals in the restaurant were well prepared.

The only downside was that some staff were surly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_O_4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a spacious, clean, comfortable room on the first floor overlooking the canal and the management and staff could not have been more helpful. Particular thanks go to the young girl on reception who took time to provide excellent information and maps on local attractions to make our trip even better.

We took advantage of a fantastic dinner, bed and breakfast rate and could not fault the quality and choice of food available.

This is a great place to stop for a couple of nights, offering excellent value for money and an opportunity to explore Argyll in all its Autumn splendour. We will certainly go back..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Crinan Canal
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmac0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stopped for lunch and (a fairly long, enjoyable) coffee. Food was excellent in the lounge on big soft comfy settees, watching the canal activities across the road. ...could have sat there all day. Staff are superb and very kind. Will never drive past this spot again now I know about the Cairnbaan.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gbhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews