We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairnbaan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Argyll Inn(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochgair Hotel(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stonefield Castle(Stonefield)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
84
100
47
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
100
47
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrinan canalseafoodexcellent mealvaried menuscallopsresidents loungefish cakesmain coursesunny dayfirst floorwatching the boatspiping hotdinner menulovely locationstayed here for one nighttow pathshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here on business with work colleagues. Staff were friendly but was a bit disappointed the room was cold on arrival - not a very good first impression especially at this time of year. The television was quite small for the size of room and was sat on a window sill behind a chair which I had to move to be able to watch from bed! The bathroom could do with a bit of TLC and modernising as it was a bit dated. At least the bar was warm and the food was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dieterjonentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It pretty much does at it says on the tin. It's in a quite location about 3 miles from Lochgilphead. Room was certainly good and spacious though somewhat cold. Bathroom certainly wasn't modern, however was functional.

Probably not ideal for business travellers as mobile signal and wi-fi certainly limited throughout. Had to resort to the payphone to ring home.

Food in the evening was certainly good and tasty, however the service at breakfast was a little sour. Almost seemed like it was too much bother.

It's OK...just needs modernisation...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I grew fond of the Cairnbaan Hotel eighteen months ago when we stayed for a couple of nights while moving house. We found the room well maintained, clean and cosy, the meals were excellent and the staff helpful.

So, the other week, we decide to go for lunch. W now live an hour and a half’s drive from the Hotel, but hoped it would be worth the trip.

We were not disappointed. The highlight of my meal was the smoked haddock. It came on a bed of spinach mash surrounded by cheesy milk. The haddock itself was delicious, as was the mash, but the best part was the cheese, floating on the surrounding milk. It was well done, and would have been crispy had it not been in the milk. Impossible to describe the taste, but it was marvellous.

Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jingscrivens717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have spent there 3 days exploring outstanding countryside, enjoying food and appreciate of service. We had fantastic room with huge bathroom and view over the Crinan canal. Very relaxing holiday, recommend for weekend break, we really enjoyed beeing there in November- veeery quite time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agi_tacja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently spent just one night here with our daughter nod son in law. We didn't have an evening meal as we were attending a family party elsewhere. We were delighted with our stay. The breakfast was the best we have ever had in a hotel and having the lounge to relax in which felt more like someone's rather grand house than a hotel lounge was lovely. If we have a slight moan it was the lighting in the room was very dim and the shaving light didn't work. This was our first stay here and we definitely will be back

Room Tip: As we only used one room we couldn't advise on this
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keepsake_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews