We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairnbaan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Difficult to find somewhere to eat in Lochgilphead so it was great to come across Cairbaan Hotel on the way home. Enjoyed an excellent lunch in lovely surroundings overlooking the canal. lots of activity with boats going through the locks. Staff friendly and service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    96
    43
    30
    25
See reviews for
50
143
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our room was very damp smelling but the hotel was otherwise most enjoyable. We had the most enthusiastic of welcomes and every attempt was made to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Very varied menu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piltdown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We chose this hotel primarily for the location near to the Beavers. Our room overlooked the Crinan canal and was very comfortable. The hotel is independent and has a very relaxed atmosphere where everything is possible. Our early rising before dawn to return for a late breakfast followed by a late dinner was taken in their stride. The food was excellent with an varied menu which always provided a good choice and a hearty afternoon tea was always available for those staying out late.
The area is full of interesting places to visit and walks to be enjoyed, a week was not long enough to do it full justice and we loo forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Locks were spacious and sunny, the rooms on the top floor did not have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We last stayed here just before Christmas so it was good to see the better weather. The hotel is comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere. The young waitress was very friendly and efficient. We ended up locked out at night as we hadn't read the notice about returning late as we didn't consider 10.30late. The instructions to phone the no given we're no good as we couldn't get a signal. Fortunately staff on there way home let us in. That will teach us to read notices in future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepsake_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose the Cairnbaan Hotel firstly for its location. The area is fantastic for tourism, cycling, eating and especially for the 5000year old relics. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted with such warmth that continued for our 2 night stay. The rooms were a good size, very clean and I think very good value including a delicious breakfast. The menu is diverse and inspired, the seafood being the star for us and all the staff are so friendly. The Cairnbaan Hotel is good value, honest and warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaiblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

There are two reasons why you might want to consider staying at this small hotel: first of all the location is terrific - right on the Crinan Canal. We stayed for two nights on a dinner bed and breakfast package, and enjoyed watching small boats negotiating the lock which is immediately outside the hotel. From the hotel, there are two easy walks along the tow-path: the first to Ardrishaig, is around eight miles return, and the second, and most beautiful, to Crinan, is around 9 miles return.
The second reason is the food.We ate lunch and dinner twice, and I have to say that the food was good on each occasion. The sea-food was fresh and well-prepared, and their caramelised onion and cider soup was outstanding. However, and I realise that this may sound like a strange complaint to make, the portion sizes were way too big! We were a party of four and not one of us managed to sample three courses at dinner, a pity since a couple of the desserts sounded lovely. If you have a normal to small appetite, you might try asking for a half portion. Service was pleasant, friendly and efficient at all times.
However, the hotel is let down somewhat by the standard of the decoration throughout - it could do with a complete refurb, especially in the bedrooms. Our bedroom was large and the sheets and the toilet clean, but both the carpet in the bedroom and the lino in the ensuite were well past their best. There is a small, but cosy residents' lounge, which is teetering on the edge of being shabby, rather than chic. However, we got a very good inclusive deal, which taking into account the food and service, represented good value.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the first floor facing the front, since hey have a great view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed one night on our bike tour of the western isles. Staff very attentive and accommodating. Room lovely. Food was OK. I particularly liked the old-fashioned feel of the place. I would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kormachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnbaan
12.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
136 reviews
19.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
112 reviews
13.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
436 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Property: Cairnbaan Hotel
Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairnbaan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing