We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to eat”
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairnbaan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently visited Cairnbaan for lunch and it was well worth the visit. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The menu was superb and our food was delicious. Very good value for money and I will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Sazzyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Car park and outside of building showing signs of neglect which was worrying on arrival. Reception friendly and showed us to ground floor room. Wifi didn’t work very well here at all and return trips were made to residents lounge to get service. Room could have been cleaner ie flies in window, dust under bed and poor quality tea/coffee on offer. No glasses in bathroom for drinking water but nice towels. Shower control knob broken. Room needed refresh!
We had dinner in the evening and were very pleasantly surprised. Scallops and the Mull Cheddar twice baked soufflé were both excellent starters. The fish was fresh and the chips were good but the langoustine was just fantastic. Finished with icecream which was fine though the other pudding looked great – we were just too full for any more. Breakfast the following morning was beautifully cooked and presented though the limited offer of juice, cereal and timed prunes/oranges/grapefruit were woefully disappointing. One last thing about the dining room - it lacked completely in atmosphere! There was no background noise so every couple / family there whispered to each other or spoke normally to the entertainment of other tables - please do something about this?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing much to add to previous reviews. We stayed one night on our way to Oban. The hotel is in a nice location, right on the Crinan Canal. Our room was fine but, as previously noted the whole place is on need of a wee bit of TLC. What couldn't be bettered, however, was the food and the helpful, friendly staff. Great place for a wee break.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, food all looked and smelled fantastic - pity we had supper on boats. Comfortable setees etc in lounge area, lovely mix of clientele. Boaters, showjumpers tourists, locals. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EatBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Moored at lock 9 on the Crinan Canal for the night, we went to the nearest pub for a pint and a bite to eat. What a treat! Drinks, food and service outstanding, especially Lorna behind the bar, who never stopped all evening. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Difficult to find somewhere to eat in Lochgilphead so it was great to come across Cairbaan Hotel on the way home. Enjoyed an excellent lunch in lovely surroundings overlooking the canal. lots of activity with boats going through the locks. Staff friendly and service excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our room was very damp smelling but the hotel was otherwise most enjoyable. We had the most enthusiastic of welcomes and every attempt was made to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Very varied menu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kalsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnbaan
19.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,528 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
13.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lochgilphead
81 reviews
14.3 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price Range: £86 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairnbaan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing