We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairnbaan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Argyll Inn(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochgair Hotel(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stonefield Castle(Stonefield)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
84
100
47
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
100
47
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrinan canalseafoodexcellent mealvaried menuscallopsresidents loungefish cakesmain coursesunny dayfirst floorwatching the boatspiping hotdinner menulovely locationstayed here for one nighttow pathshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Myself & my husband called in here last week after walking in the area. Despite the rain the location was lovely & the staff( although very busy) were really friendly & helpful. The food was excellent...the local mussels were some of the tastiest I've had. The conservatory area where we ate was comfy & relaxed. Will definitely visit again if in the area

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MerlynsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Only stopped here with another two families for a drink. The location is superb, the bar staff we met were welcoming and affable allowing us entry to the bar with our pet dog. The abiding memory will be of an overpowering smell of a musty dampness in the bar area. So much so that we'd have liked to stay but the smell put us off.

Hopefully it's a temporary issue and the management are addressing it as they have a great asset in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nickocubhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently visited Cairnbaan for lunch and it was well worth the visit. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The menu was superb and our food was delicious. Very good value for money and I will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Sazzyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Car park and outside of building showing signs of neglect which was worrying on arrival. Reception friendly and showed us to ground floor room. Wifi didn’t work very well here at all and return trips were made to residents lounge to get service. Room could have been cleaner ie flies in window, dust under bed and poor quality tea/coffee on offer. No glasses in bathroom for drinking water but nice towels. Shower control knob broken. Room needed refresh!
We had dinner in the evening and were very pleasantly surprised. Scallops and the Mull Cheddar twice baked soufflé were both excellent starters. The fish was fresh and the chips were good but the langoustine was just fantastic. Finished with icecream which was fine though the other pudding looked great – we were just too full for any more. Breakfast the following morning was beautifully cooked and presented though the limited offer of juice, cereal and timed prunes/oranges/grapefruit were woefully disappointing. One last thing about the dining room - it lacked completely in atmosphere! There was no background noise so every couple / family there whispered to each other or spoke normally to the entertainment of other tables - please do something about this?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing much to add to previous reviews. We stayed one night on our way to Oban. The hotel is in a nice location, right on the Crinan Canal. Our room was fine but, as previously noted the whole place is on need of a wee bit of TLC. What couldn't be bettered, however, was the food and the helpful, friendly staff. Great place for a wee break.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews