We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Querky and Fascinating”
Review of Kilmartin Museum

Kilmartin Museum
Book In Advance
US$510.10*
and up
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Kilmartin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are more than 350 ancient monuments within a six-mile radius of the village of Kilmartin, Argyll: 150 of them are prehistoric. This extraordinary concentration and diversity of monuments distinguishes the Kilmartin Glen as an area of outstanding archaeological importance. It is one of Scotland’s richest prehistoric landscapes. Kilmartin House Museum is an award winning world-class centre for archaeology and landscape interpretation established to protect, investigage and interpret this internationally important archaeological landscape and the artefacts that have been found here. At this unique and vibrant centre you can also see ‘The Valley of Ghosts’ audio-visual – a time travelling experience with breath taking imagery and haunting music. There is an on site shop and an award winning cafe. To find out more, explore our web site, wander through our interactive map and see what's on our Events Programme.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Querky and Fascinating”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My second visit to this small museum located in an area steeped in history. Lots of objects displayed in an informative context telling the story of the area where cairns and standing stones can be found within a short walk.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It's always good when people return to the Museum and even better when they write a review for us so thankyou very much and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    70
    14
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Definitely worth a visit to this small interesting museum explaining the pre history of the region. You can book a 2 hr walking tour of the area from the museum or do your own tour by parking in the designated car parks in the area and walking to the monuments.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and good value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jellyfishslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your review of your experience visiting Kilmartin Museum and Café. Our guided walks are on Wednesday afternoons starting from the museum at 1.30 pm and led by experienced and enthusiastic volunteers. The walks are free but we are always happy to receive donations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Cafe, Good Museum”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The museum areas is relatively small but all the exhibits are well signed and interpreted. The museum concentrates on pre-history and I certainly learned a fair amount. The cafe provided an excellent and varied choice of freshly prepared food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDownesWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Kilmartin Museum and Café. Glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Informative and well laid out”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This museum was amazing and very informative throughout. Each section was laid out in a time-line series with detailed descriptions, locational pictures, and artifacts from each time period. It was one of the best museums that I've ever had a chance to experience. As a former archaeologist, it was wonderful to see history represented in a very user-friendly format. And the hands-on demonstrations were also a hit with my 7 year old and with the adults. Kudos to the curators! Very well done.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tractx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your enthusiastic review and kind comments - I'm glad it met the needs of two generations in one go and that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmartin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Love the museum. Love the cafe. Love the view from the cafe downstairs. Especially love the most interesting toilets ever. Quite a wonderful place. But there again I live nearby and enjoy this museum often.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
So, I think we can take it that you love Kilmartin and the museum! It's lovely to have such an enthusiastic response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilmartin Museum also viewed

Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute
 
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kilmartin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing