We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and Serene”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballibrad

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Robert T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Serene”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

we had a marvellous break even tho weather was terrible. Location and surrounding area is superb if you want to get away from it all. Barn is beautiful and very cosy when fire is going. We would certainly recommend but beware of the track leading to it.
Bob & Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hover88
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn, idyllic views.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing stay at the barn over the Christmas period. As the barn had not been occupied for 2 weeks before we got there (and because a few fallen trees had knocked out the generator) it took a couple of days for the barn to be truly warm. But sitting beside the log fire was awesome. The track is lumpy and bumpy, but considering we had a heck of a lot of rain we never struggled to get our rear-wheeled drive estate up it. The fixtures and fittings are to a really high standard (the bed was so comfy!) and we managed easily to cook a full Christmas dinner with all the trimmings in the kitchen. And the view was to die for! Finally we would like to say a big thank you to Lindsey and Graham for doing absolutely everything to keep the power on (and to Duncan for coming out at 10pm on Christmas Eve). We weren't worried but they couldn't have been more concerned.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Isolation of the property, the views, the quietness.
Liked least: Track to the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bratislava
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness
Liked least: There was no freezer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scotland
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself.
Liked least: Nothing to complain about at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
norp123
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room for improvement.....”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The barn sit's in a lovely peaceful glen with greart views, however there are some problem's and some thing's do need renewed including the pan's in the kitchen and cushion covers. There is an over powering smell of wood preserver which appear's to be dripping off the roof beam's and this is evident on the soft furnishing's and storage cover's in the bedroom. The track to the barn is a nightmare unless you are lucky enough to own a 4x4, the day after arriving we took the car down to the village where we left it all week and walked up and down the track, I love my car too much.
This is an area we know very well and holiday there every year it's like coming home.
Would we go the Ballibrad again, I'm sure the owners can sort the small problem,s but the track is another matter and this might put us off, however, we had a great week the star's at night were amazing, watching the bird's of prey and the little wren's around the barn were a joy, we even enjoyed our short trecks up and down the track.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the atmosphere of the property and the view's.
Liked least: the track to the property, the smell of wood preserver.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to respond by advising that we take all reviews both in the guest visitor book and on the website very seriously and always listen to feedback. We have only been up and running since March 2013 and are constantly trying to improve. We have recently bought new wardrobes for the bedroom and bought new cushions for the living room. The kitchen has a full set of pans. Regarding the track it clearly states in the advert that it is a farm track which can be rough. We own an estate car and do not have any problems getting up and down the track as long as it is taken slowly and with care. Ballibrad does have a smell of wood as the beams needed to be treated before we could move in. These are cleaned on a regular basis. We have had many lovely reviews in the visitor guest book which I would be more than happy to share with any potential guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing